Chevron Left
Back to Big Data - Capstone Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data - Capstone Project by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
339 ratings
83 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Capstone Project for Big Data! In this culminating project, you will build a big data ecosystem using tools and methods form the earlier courses in this specialization. You will analyze a data set simulating big data generated from a large number of users who are playing our imaginary game "Catch the Pink Flamingo". During the five week Capstone Project, you will walk through the typical big data science steps for acquiring, exploring, preparing, analyzing, and reporting. In the first two weeks, we will introduce you to the data set and guide you through some exploratory analysis using tools such as Splunk and Open Office. Then we will move into more challenging big data problems requiring the more advanced tools you have learned including KNIME, Spark's MLLib and Gephi. Finally, during the fifth and final week, we will show you how to bring it all together to create engaging and compelling reports and slide presentations. As a result of our collaboration with Splunk, a software company focus on analyzing machine-generated big data, learners with the top projects will be eligible to present to Splunk and meet Splunk recruiters and engineering leadership....

Top reviews

NC

Jul 08, 2020

Really interesting insights into the general overview of the big data specialization with brain-teasing hands-on exercises and a look to hoe reporting various big data analytics should be undertaken

PP

Nov 14, 2018

This is very helpful project where i have applied all learning through ouot journey of this course.Though it was time consuming but worth to invest time, which benefits to upskill my knowledge

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 83 Reviews for Big Data - Capstone Project

By Swapnil D

Jul 30, 2019

Excellent project

By Venkata B P T

Jun 05, 2018

Big Thank you....

By Diego M

May 24, 2017

Amazing capstone!

By Emilio M

Nov 28, 2019

very good course

By Shah M M

Jun 28, 2020

Its so good.

By Pijush K G

Aug 29, 2018

Good course.

By Luis M M R

Jul 02, 2019

very good

By Anup K M

Apr 22, 2018

very good

By davide g

Jan 22, 2018

Thank you

By Suraj P B

Jun 28, 2020

good one

By Mohamed H

Sep 02, 2018

PERFECT

By John C

Nov 29, 2016

The course was great for the most part. The material was more challenging than previous courses in the specialization and really helped me pull everything together and understand everything a bit better. I will say that I felt there was a huge gap between what was taught in the Neo4j course and the Neo4j assignment in the Capstone. I'd learned a lot from the assignment, but it took me loads of time and their were parts I still don't really understand. There are also a some broken hyperlinks to previous course material. I'd also like to see better support for a paid service. There is no interaction from a Coursera employee or course instructor in the forums at all. It would be nice to have someone to clarify some instruction or material that may not be clear at times.

By Alexandre V

Sep 17, 2018

Great course that uses a project to apply what you learned in the others courses. I enjoyed it a lot.

The only point is the technical issues in the installation, compatibility of the cloudera version and softwares to be updated. It is necessary to give more support to the technical issues detected, else as a learner, you spend a lot of your time solving them.

Anyway, I definitely recommend this course if you want to keep learning a lot, It's worth the effort!

By P. H

Oct 02, 2018

Interesting final project to complete this course, didn't get 5 stars because:

Clarity could be improved in the instructions and solutions of the assignment

However this is counter-balanced by the amount of plagiarism (if you provide more detailed solutions, some people unfortunately will just copy/paste them).

So I am still wondering how the final results in week 4 were obtained....

By Samuel S

Nov 04, 2017

Some of the instructions for the tools are not clear enough. It's better to have some more suggested further readings - like statistics with KNIME, operating Spark, etc. For the cases, it is very straight forward and with beautiful data; likely far away from real application.

By Vincent R

Oct 02, 2018

The Big Data - Capstone Project is a great course that is very challenging and requires a significant amount of work hours for a big data first-timer. The great experience could be enhanced by fixing some bugs in software and typos in guidance document.

By Simon B C

Apr 12, 2020

Overall a good capstone project. However, the guidance is inconsistent some times. Also the setup for PySpark is not working for a lot of students, for at least 3 years, and they did not uptdate it.

By Gabriel T

Mar 22, 2018

Very engaging course. Well designed and delivered. I also liked the breadth and depth of the course. Liked it and continue use the material as reference

By Samuel C

Dec 30, 2017

The project is really helpful to sum up the whole process of the 5 previous courses, but there is a bit problem with the week 4 assignment.

By Ricardo L C T

Oct 18, 2017

the chat part (graphs) was hard to finish. the bar is very high for this capstone. anyway very good course.

By ISLAM K

Mar 22, 2019

its very good course , here its aggregating all knowledge and information learned in previous courses

By Sascha Z

Aug 07, 2017

Watch out for week 4. This is the hardest one out of the whole specialization

By Mark d B

Jul 19, 2017

Very good practice with the things leart in the other 5 courses.

By Santiago A G

Sep 07, 2018

Good and very practical challenge

By To P H

Feb 23, 2019

Not Bad