Chevron Left
Back to Big Data - Capstone Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data - Capstone Project by University of California San Diego

4.4
stars
365 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to the Capstone Project for Big Data! In this culminating project, you will build a big data ecosystem using tools and methods form the earlier courses in this specialization. You will analyze a data set simulating big data generated from a large number of users who are playing our imaginary game "Catch the Pink Flamingo". During the five week Capstone Project, you will walk through the typical big data science steps for acquiring, exploring, preparing, analyzing, and reporting. In the first two weeks, we will introduce you to the data set and guide you through some exploratory analysis using tools such as Splunk and Open Office. Then we will move into more challenging big data problems requiring the more advanced tools you have learned including KNIME, Spark's MLLib and Gephi. Finally, during the fifth and final week, we will show you how to bring it all together to create engaging and compelling reports and slide presentations. As a result of our collaboration with Splunk, a software company focus on analyzing machine-generated big data, learners with the top projects will be eligible to present to Splunk and meet Splunk recruiters and engineering leadership....

Top reviews

NC
Jul 7, 2020

Really interesting insights into the general overview of the big data specialization with brain-teasing hands-on exercises and a look to hoe reporting various big data analytics should be undertaken

PP
Nov 13, 2018

This is very helpful project where i have applied all learning through ouot journey of this course.Though it was time consuming but worth to invest time, which benefits to upskill my knowledge

Filter by:

76 - 90 of 90 Reviews for Big Data - Capstone Project

By Sascha Z

Aug 7, 2017

Watch out for week 4. This is the hardest one out of the whole specialization

By Mark d B

Jul 18, 2017

Very good practice with the things leart in the other 5 courses.

By Santiago A G

Sep 7, 2018

Good and very practical challenge

By Moatez H

Oct 7, 2020

Good Job, thanks for all

By To P H

Feb 23, 2019

Not Bad

By Mohan R S

Jul 3, 2020

It seemed the assessments were a little difficult, although I did enjoy it pu. I saw lots of learners copying each others content. We need to try stop it.

By William S

Jul 9, 2020

Poor instructions that need to be revised and updated. Nice to exercise the skills and tools you learned in the prior courses.

By Miguel T

Dec 31, 2018

The course is really good, but some exercises are difficult to be done without technical support.

By Pradhyumn A

Sep 15, 2020

should have been more indulging else fabulous

By Stephen B

Aug 9, 2020

Very limited opportunities for support; there's no teacher to help instruct, and you are on your own for installing the software. The Graph Theory course dives into challenging content without a solid base to finish up the graph theory part of the capstone.

By Carsten K

Oct 27, 2020

Good project, but needs a big overhaul as many instructions just don't work right out of the box due to recent software updates and it was more difficult to make all the exercise tools work than doing the actual exercises.

By Liangbin C

Aug 10, 2020

Well the first five courses went pretty smooth. However, when I got to the capstone project, it became a desperate case. I could finish week1 but week2-6 were locked. And it won't be open for a whole month. Apparently I was not the only person who has this issue. People complained about this issue over three months ago but no solution was offered. Of course there is no phone number, and the mysterious live chat option was nowhere to be found. I end up cancel the subscription.

By William R

Nov 26, 2016

The capstone, just like the courses of the specialization are a strong illustration of the problems of higher ed.

By Mario L

Jun 26, 2020

The tools user in this course have too many bugs and a lot of time is lost on it.

By Ahmed N

May 24, 2020

one of the worst courses I have ever had on coursera