Chevron Left
Back to Astro 101: Black Holes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astro 101: Black Holes by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
587 ratings
202 reviews

About the Course

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Top reviews

SK
Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 202 Reviews for Astro 101: Black Holes

By RASHMI S

Sep 3, 2020

I need basic knowledge about black holes so I joined this course, very helpful for beginners. Thank you so much Coursera.

By Tejas p

Nov 24, 2020

excellent course for any passionate in astronomy and instructors are good and make learning fun and easier to understand

By Marces J V L

Nov 27, 2020

Un gran curso. Quedo muy satisfecho por este curso esta muy completo, gracias por toda esa informacion, se valora exito

By Elsa M M

Sep 14, 2020

It was an amazing learning experience and the instructors taught in a way that every concept was easy to understand.

By SHREYA G

May 27, 2020

I love this course.The course material is very engaging.The instructors are so good.The simulations are really cool

By Fernanda M a

Sep 8, 2019

The course was great, and teachers explained very clearly all concepts and processes involved. I 100% recommend it

By Shraddha P

Sep 7, 2020

Overall a wonderful course that was able to summarize complicated concepts into an understandable and fun format!

By Irving S

Nov 28, 2020

Excellent course I really enjoyed it. Thanks to all the lectures for their skillful presentation of the subject.

By Sarvesh _

May 28, 2019

Excellent course, gives a lot of knowledge and understanding about space, could have included a little more math

By Joshua J

May 19, 2020

Amazing course! Teachers were great, videos were fun, and the content was amazing. Would definitely recommend.

By Laura M B V

Jul 19, 2020

it was an incredible course , i learn a lot, the explanaitions were very clear and sustancious, i love it :)

By Aroosha W

Apr 11, 2019

I am so grateful to learn this course from the Alberta university.

and Thankyou professors. :) Keep it up

By John P

Oct 14, 2020

Brilliantly organized and presented. The course stretched my imagination to almost bursting. I loved it.

By ASIF N

Jun 4, 2020

It was great..really great

Most lectures are pretty clear.

Visual representation of the concepts was great.

By Mohammad A

Oct 23, 2019

If I have some money then I would have bought this certificate. It is so interesting subject, I liked it.

By Bharadwaja T V

Sep 15, 2020

This was an excellent course thank you for my instructors they taught me something I couldn't learn ☺️☺️

By SAI N D B S N D B

Jun 2, 2020

AMAZING COURSE.

HIGHLY INSPIRATIONAL AND THOUGHT PROVOKING.

THANKS A LOT.

REALLY USEFUL TO LIVE MY PASSION

By John R

Nov 29, 2018

Excellent course providing a great high level overview of the current science of black hole physics.

By Marek W

Jan 6, 2019

Very simple course, but in not mathematical words explain, how to born, live and died Black Holes.

By Dishari R

Jul 29, 2020

Very helpful . Thanks for this wonderful course. Helped me a lot to gather about the black holes.

By Aniket K S

May 25, 2020

The Course is very informative and interesting. It's a very joyful way of teaching from you guys.

By Hatish G

Apr 9, 2019

Very good content and helpful in understanding the concepts of black hole without any confusion.

By SWASTIK P

Jul 27, 2020

An awesome course. it was a lot of fun, was very informative. Loved this course, enjoyed a lot.

By Francis C

Jun 16, 2020

Really enjoyed the course , excellent presentations and very well explained by all presenters !

By Shyamkant A

Aug 28, 2020

It was a awesome course and wonderful learning experience. The quiz was also well designed.