Chevron Left
Back to Astro 101: Black Holes

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Astro 101: Black Holes by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
884 ratings

About the Course

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Top reviews

SK

Jul 30, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.

i thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB

Jul 26, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 306 Reviews for Astro 101: Black Holes

By Jolanta A

Apr 19, 2021

I loved every week of the course! It is both fun and thought provoking, and it provides an opportunity to gain much knowledge about black holes.

By lolita m

Apr 25, 2022

Hello from Monterrey, México.

This is one of the best courses I have taken!!!

Congratulations to such an amazing team.

MARIA DOLORES GARCIA ROCHA

By Mauritius X

Mar 3, 2021

Instructors are competent, easy going, precise and even funny. If you are interested in learning something "math free" this is a good resource

By Jorfel A O M

Sep 24, 2019

Bastante completo en todos los sentidos y los docentes son profundamente pedagogicos, lo que necesito para poder seguir triunfando en mi àrea.

By ARUNJYOTIS

Aug 18, 2021

it was an amazing journey with the teachers and the way they explained the concepts with simulations, sound and real pictures was excellent

By SOUTRIK G

Sep 14, 2019

Excellent course. Each and every section is well designed and having enormous insight. Awesome knowledge contents and experience. THANK YOU!

By JoAnne E R

Mar 1, 2020

On several of the quizes I took I made 100, answering all question correctly. Why did I only score a 90% when I should have scored a 100%?

By Oleksandr R

Jan 7, 2020

Great Course! Excellent explanation and very informative. Beautiful presentation and interactive materials. Thanks for this perfect Course!

By goga s

Jan 27, 2019

Thank you for this course. Had a great time and learned lots of new and interesting stuff. cheers ^_^ (too much food references, though :D)

By Deleted A

Aug 7, 2020

I learned many new things in this course and it actually helped me to wide my view about black holes and it helped me in many ways.

By Syed M A R

Mar 15, 2019

I gained a lot of insights about the behavior of the black-holes in a very organized manner. I am thankful to all the instructors.

By chanakya r P V

May 18, 2020

i have enjoyed studying about blackholes, stars and other concepts. this was really helpful to my knowledge and was fun to learn.

By Nichiren G (

Nov 18, 2021

Haha.. Just completed this course and this was so much fun and I'm very thankful to the instructors for bringing up this course.

By Siddhant J

Jun 29, 2020

I want way more courses like this from the same lecturers and want even more in depth knowledge. Loved the whole course overall.

By Vinson M

Aug 13, 2022

The instructors were exceptional. The course material was presented in a way that kept the course interesting and understable.

By Krishna A

Mar 19, 2019

I never felt bored while studying this course. 4 Professors are teaching in their amazing styles. Great course for beginners.

By SANYASI R S

Nov 10, 2020

Highly informative with well designed course material. Thanks to all the team members for their excellent video presentations

By Srujith B

Oct 6, 2020

Best interactive fun teaching and an amazing learning experience, best course on basic black hole knowledge on internet today

By Saurav A

Jul 9, 2020

One of the best course I’ve found across everywhere for Astrophysics. Go for it. No second thoughts. Thank you Coursera team.

By Sai G P

Jun 27, 2020

was very informative and fun,

especially watching Ross and Curtis having fun in the background while teaching . loved it alot.

By Aavani A

Jan 12, 2020

The classes are too good and explained well. Illustrations are simple and understanding. Informative in less amount of time.

By nikhil k

Jul 15, 2020

haha pure interest!! i love to explore, and when you explore something because you wanted to explore, you love everything!!

By Pavan C P

May 29, 2020

Really fascinating, helped me to gain lots of Insight on BH's, hawking radiation. Tremendous work on animations. Thank you!

By Varun S

Oct 30, 2020

Great Great Course...I really thank all the Teachers for their excellent guidance through our journey of the Black holes.

By RASHMI S

Sep 3, 2020

I need basic knowledge about black holes so I joined this course, very helpful for beginners. Thank you so much Coursera.