Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
5,843 ratings
1,476 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

AU
Dec 24, 2020

A comprehensive and clear course that summarizes the basic concepts to understand blockchain technology. Also, the resources and contents included are very valuables. I totally recommend this course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,492 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Sushant P

Jun 17, 2019

Exceptionally good course for beginners. Haven't come across such an informative and well structured course for intro to blockchains.

By Korede D

Apr 16, 2019

The course was really educative, i am glad i completed it and i look forward to completing the rest of the courses in this series....

By Jorge P

Sep 4, 2018

Very good overview into blockchain structure basics . It does provide you with a good thorough understanding of how blockchains work.

By Blessing N M

Jun 25, 2020

You don't have to know coding. The information is for everyone. Jump in & explore another world of digital technology & currencies

By Claudio C

Sep 30, 2019

Very nice course. there is some imprecision and something appointed into the discussion forum but the content is pretty interesting.

By mischelle m

Aug 6, 2018

Very educational and informative. Sometime complexed but the end justified the means. I learned alot about VM and cloud computing.

By Vaibhav J

Sep 5, 2021

Videos are short and crisp as required. The reading resources are very selectively chosen. The quality of the material is superior.

By Harsh J

Jun 13, 2020

This course gives the knowledge about blockchain ,how it functions and how it works .What are the requirements to run the Ethereum.

By Abilash

Sep 29, 2019

I Cannot able to complete my project,for my facilities could not able done my project,of course i learnt a lot thank you Coursera.

By ANAND R

Jan 29, 2019

Very Good. Programming Assignment is very easy. Please follow the comments and pinned post details. Everybody will get through it.

By Anima

May 25, 2020

This is an amazing course for the one who is really interested in exploring Blockchain.Really nice to get started with blockchain

By María J G O

Jan 17, 2019

It´s a great start if you want to understand the basics of Blockchain technology; it´s a MUST if you are insterested in the topic

By Shreya S

May 11, 2020

This has been an amazing adventure. I always get bored easily but this course never left my mind! Kuddos for the great job done!

By Mohit M

May 1, 2020

It was really a wonderful course providing the reading material which i think was the must and looking forward to another course

By Trupti D N

Feb 9, 2019

The hands on part is too good. I definitely got a feel how blockchain looks. This is one of the good course I have taken up here

By Aditya P

Jul 1, 2020

Nice course and easily understandable. You will gain knowledge of basics of blockchain. How blockchain works? and many more....

By Pankaj K

Jun 22, 2020

Very straight forward course and provides good content in videos as well as good resources are provided along with all lessons.

By Ms. B D

Sep 14, 2020

Very Nicely design. But yet I am not get certificate of this course. Instead of giving final project it's showing marks 0/100.

By Vaseekaran V

May 23, 2020

A great course, to learn about the fundamentals of blockchain. Really loved it, and I would try to finish the specialization.

By Vikas S

Oct 11, 2018

A wonderful course on Blockchain. Slowly steadily building the basics of Blockchain with very informative reading and videos.

By Kshitiz R M

Jul 6, 2018

High level overview of blockchain as well as simplification of some complex programming concepts all packed in single course.

By Anggita A F Z

Feb 4, 2021

This course give me an easy explanation to get insight how blockchain works and stuff. So thank you for creating this course

By MADHAV V

May 25, 2020

TRIED FOR LONG TIME AS I WAS NOT HAVING SYSTEM WITH 4GB RAM. TODAY I BORROWED SYSTEM FROM MY FRIEND AND SUBMITTED ASSIGNMENT

By Andrei I S

Aug 19, 2018

Very good course. I'm really happy I've joined. A good in depth of blockchain basics. Valuable content. Thank you very much.

By Nampetch C

Jan 28, 2021

This course is good for anyone who want to gain knowledge foundation for blockchain and key element behind it. Recommended.