Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
3,988 ratings
1,010 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 19, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS

Jul 28, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 1,016 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Muthukrishnan T

Jul 03, 2020

course was very good and interesting. i have enjoyed learning the course and i am excited to complete the project and assignments too. Thanks a lot for such a wonderful course.

By Simon M

Mar 05, 2019

Very good and enjoyable with lots of additional material allowing me to delve and investigate further. Still a little confused in some areas - but that's Blockchain I guess!

By Om S

Jul 06, 2020

etherum.ova file need to be update . overall these course was amazing . I am very thank full to coursera and respected Mam Bina Ramamurthy for guiding me for these course.

By Anirban M

Jul 26, 2019

The course videos are good. But some of the links given in the questions of the quiz are not working. The instructions for the final project could be better in my opinion.

By Serge G

Jun 12, 2018

Good introduction to the subject. I would have appreciated more courseware content and less references to URLs. I'd suggest to make the slides available for downloads.

By Guzmán L

Jul 15, 2020

Very good introduction to blockchain. I am not giving it five stars because some links were broken to do the online test and had to find a workaround alone.

By Eric H

Aug 04, 2018

Presenter was good, but I prefer a presenters with a clearer voice(no accent) for this learning environment only, in a personal setting it would not matter.

By Mark W A S

Nov 07, 2018

Great introduction to the blockchain space with enough technical detail and pointers to further information to make a rich and useful learning experience

By Jeena M G

Feb 18, 2019

It is really useful. I felt some terms were familiar to me and so it was easy to pick up, but for others I don't know if they would face any issues.

By Ruchir A

May 22, 2020

A good start to blockchain. Lectures should have been more descriptive and interactive. Resources are useful and assignments are very interesting.

By KOLIPARTHI L

Jul 13, 2020

The course tells you the very basics of blockchain like how to use the blockchain, basic terms in the blockchain, how the blockchain works etc.,

By Maxime B R

May 11, 2020

Great class but I think the final project should be on a network, because it not user friendly to download a virtual machine and run all of this

By Soham B

Jul 04, 2020

A perfect introduction to the Blockchain topic. The optional reading material consists of even more in-depth materials and is a must-read.

By Olivier d C

Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course ! The only slight negative point I found is the English subtitling which, sometime, is not correct and creates confusions

By Venugopala P S

May 12, 2020

Good beginning to block chain. Good exercise was also given. Some more illustrations may e given for the concepts during the explanation.

By Gustavo M S

Sep 23, 2018

Very good way to start learning the world of Blockchains, with clear explanations on the basics of cryptocurrency (Bitcoin and Ethereum).

By Aditya V G

Mar 30, 2020

There was more to learn with the reading supplemental than the actual video lecture but nonetheless the course was great to begin with.

By Ann C

Jan 31, 2020

Good basic course but falls down in instructions for completing final project...(though info. is available through discussion forums)..

By Bhuvanesh J

May 17, 2020

The final project assignment took more time because of server problem and it does not generated account balance for too many times....

By Alexander P Z M

Aug 03, 2019

I was a little acquainted with the subject, the explanation were a little too summarized even for high level course. Anyway very good.

By Boulmé

Sep 22, 2018

Interesting enough to get curiosity to go for Course 2.

A stepwise approach to get the concepts behind the generic name "blockchain"

By Thomas P

Oct 03, 2018

Great. Informative. The lab was really good, although I'd prefer a more advanced CLI environment for learning the network concepts.

By Aryamon M

Apr 25, 2020

The final program part was not that well optimized. But apart from only that part everything else was pretty interesting to learn

By Arpit K

Mar 08, 2020

The resource material was really good. At times the videos were hard to understand for a beginner but it was still a great course

By Kaushik M

Oct 16, 2018

A good intro into the field of blockchain. The quizzes could ve been more challenging than just copy pasting some info from link,