Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,869 ratings
1,228 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,224 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Alexander P Z M

Aug 3, 2019

I was a little acquainted with the subject, the explanation were a little too summarized even for high level course. Anyway very good.

By Boulmé

Sep 22, 2018

Interesting enough to get curiosity to go for Course 2.

A stepwise approach to get the concepts behind the generic name "blockchain"

By Thomas P

Oct 3, 2018

Great. Informative. The lab was really good, although I'd prefer a more advanced CLI environment for learning the network concepts.

By Aryamon M

Apr 25, 2020

The final program part was not that well optimized. But apart from only that part everything else was pretty interesting to learn

By Arpit K

Mar 8, 2020

The resource material was really good. At times the videos were hard to understand for a beginner but it was still a great course

By Kaushik M

Oct 16, 2018

A good intro into the field of blockchain. The quizzes could ve been more challenging than just copy pasting some info from link,

By Inderjeet S

May 25, 2020

This course provides wide coverage to both Bitcoin and Ethereum and explains the structure and operations in a systematic manner

By Sunny

May 27, 2020

Great course, enjoyed a lot. Learnt more about it from the optional reading but was able to grasp the basics form the lectures.

By Agrawal

Apr 20, 2020

This course is perfect for beginners. I have explored many courses before taking this course and i am quite satisfied with it.

By Rauda M M A A A B

May 4, 2020

interesting course but i wish that the course was more interactive and practical instead of just listening to the instructor.

By Rohini B

Apr 20, 2020

The course is good but the project assignment was frustrating. The software used is of an old version. Need more explanation.

By Sachin K

Jun 2, 2019

This course is all theoretical. If there were some implementation side by side, this course would have been more interesting.

By Michael W

Jul 14, 2018

Good basic introduction. Although the end project is a little easy. Should be more interactive with the ethereum client cli.

By Mourya R

Jun 6, 2020

This course is for people who want to learn block chain from level 0, Might be a good start to learn about block chains.

By PRASHANT P

May 14, 2020

The course covers the basic topics well, but should include more industry specific examples for a industry driven output

By Johannes B

Jul 30, 2019

Great information and good instructions. can be a bit clearer with the module project instructions on what to get where.

By Francisco S

Dec 24, 2020

a bit complicated to set up the last assignment, instructors could and should do a better job of uploading instrucitons

By Akeel A

Aug 8, 2020

Not very comprehensive as some of the links to different resources don't work but the few that do, I plan to revisit.

By Chitpara V

Mar 23, 2020

A great course to learn and understand Blockchain concepts but the main assignment can be more friendly for everyone.

By Thomas C

Dec 26, 2020

Very informative. Provides comprehensive information on almost all fundamental aspects of how blockchains function.

By Aniket D

Oct 20, 2019

This one a good introductory course to Blockchain. The programming assignments could be a little more challenging.

By Wesley E C

Sep 3, 2019

User experience is great, easy and concise learning. Assignments can use a bit (optional) elaboration on coding.

By Ben G s

Sep 19, 2020

i've watched already from a drive thats why i wanted to learn it and i loved how is detailed loved this course

By Dr. M S

May 17, 2020

It was good learning about Blockchain. How technology works and how we can check the transaction in blockchain.

By gaurab m

Jun 13, 2020

The course was great. The resources are just awesome. Kindly read all the articles and journals in the course.