Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,017 ratings
1,020 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 19, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U

Jan 01, 2020

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 1,023 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Raghavendra G H

May 05, 2019

The course is well designed to give you an overview of Blockchain and the basic concepts. What is Smart Contract and other various terminologies and how they play a role in the blockchain. Thanks

By Dasy L

Jul 31, 2020

This course gave me a lot of knowledge about BlockChain. Before this course, I didn't have any knowledge about BlockChain. I learned BitCoin and Ehereum. I knew, how they work, how to apply?

By Nitin N

Nov 07, 2019

The course was at a right pace for me and it introduced concepts at the right level of detail. Also provided lot of reading and watching material that was useful for such a evolving subject.

By Yolanda

Jul 26, 2018

Excelente, me ha servido para afianzar conceptos que ya tenía pero que no había visto materializados. El proyecto aunque asusta un poco es bastante sencillo y entiendes muchas cosas. Gracias

By ARAMBAKAM S

Jul 28, 2020

the blockchain concept is gonna be a revolutionary one in every field.

this course is very helpful and easily understandable for every one irrespective of the background from which they came

By Vivekananda G

Jul 24, 2020

excellent course regarding blockchain and amazing practicals work included. thank you very much. I wish you create a complete practical course, and make us more eager to do that. Thank you.

By Bikash R

Jan 21, 2019

Thank you Bina mam for making this this course. My knowledge is so much expand to take this course.

If you live 100+ years don't be confused many peoples blessing with you.

Thank you so much.

By Abilio R D

Nov 27, 2019

Lovely course, with good materials and also good references for reading, I also love the last and final assignment. Nothing better than to have some hands-on to apply have we have learned.

By Gianvito P

Dec 02, 2018

The course provides a high-level overview of blockchains, mainly Bitcoin and Ethereum. A good introductory course, necessary to follow the other courses of the specialization effectively.

By hafiz z u a

Aug 15, 2019

I would like to say that it is the best course that explains 100% of major parts of a blockchain and its architecture. Dr. Bina's experience on blockchain take this course to next level.

By Leonardo D M

Aug 10, 2019

Excelent oportunity for undergraduates to understand all the technologies behind the blockchain concept. Also fit for IT Managers that might need to get a trend update with large detail.

By Yasith R S

Jul 15, 2020

A Really great course to understand the basic concepts of the the block chain. clearly explained.

This would be a good choice for the students who likes to learn about cryptocurrencies.

By RAJIT N

Jun 02, 2020

Instructor is excellent , I become her big fan. Her teaching skill and lecture delivery was is superb even a non technical person can also easily understand the basics of blockchain.

By Scott P

Jul 08, 2018

Really enjoyed, the materials supplied were great and the videos enhanced my understanding of the material even after reading multiple books, articles on blockchain/bitcoin/ethereum.

By Nagendra N

Feb 27, 2019

The course material is really good for the beginners to start with. It starts with BitCoin blockchain to Etherum. Good Content. Practical Project helped to understand it in detail.

By Dennis K

Jul 28, 2019

I've taken course from major universities costing $$$ which were not as well done as this course from University of Buffalo. everything you need to succeed and understand is here.

By Elias K

Aug 25, 2019

A very good point to start. The final assignment is really very helpful. The fully configured environment that it is provided gives the ability to explore the protocol in action.

By Nadine S

Jul 31, 2018

Overall, the course was worth the time and I'd recommend it to anyone who is curious about or wants to learn more about blockchain. See full review here. https://goo.gl/RKQ59D

By Pranav A

Feb 02, 2020

its very nice and easily understandable basis for blockchain and cryptocurrency .all algorithm and processes are illustrated in very lucid and easy manners .best for beginners

By Pushyami R

Aug 06, 2019

Firstly I will be thankful to coursera for this opportunity and Bina ma'am was really good at explaining things with ease,which made me more enthusiastic Blockchain developer.

By Abhinav S

Apr 14, 2020

This was a great course, and Prof. Bina was an amazing instructor!

The project was a bit unclear initially, however, it was quite fun.

Here's to the world of decentralization!

By Mugdha P B

Jun 16, 2020

Good course for beginners in Blockchain. It covers majority of the concepts without having to code in a specific language. Optional resources provided are also very helpful.

By Jonny T

Mar 25, 2019

Simple, yet precise overview. There are a couple of more advanced topics that I will be looking into else where, such as how ECC works and a bit more information on ommers.

By Yogesh K S

Nov 09, 2018

Course is very well compiled and provides right depth of knowledge to the participants. Content of course will give good confidence to attendees on Blockchain concepts.

By Guillermo I E

Jun 23, 2020

I found the course to be interesting on a very academic and technical level. I would definitely recommend it to someone who wants to become a smart contract developer.