Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
5,858 ratings
1,480 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS
Jul 27, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filter by:

1451 - 1475 of 1,495 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Robert S

Oct 31, 2021

If your going to have someone just read an English script, why select someone who you can't understand? It's extremely frustrating. Videos are incomprehensible and it goes from 0-100 extremally quick. Download the suggested reading material first and study it before going to the videos. I ended up just re-typing the video scripts and reading them myself instead of trying to comprehend the reader. This course explains everything you need to know about the blockchain, but you have to do a lot of work to put it in order and actually understand what their trying to explain. It's obvious that that there was no case studies on how effective this course was put together or arranged before making it public. I gave it two stars instead of one, only because the material is there, its just a mess for the user to decipher it all. If the course instructor could speak clear and concise English, I would of bumped this up to 4 stars.

By Khalid A A

Jun 20, 2020

This is a good attempt of an online course. There were lots of broken links on the reading information. In addition, I saw many questions that are not answered by the course moderators. Furthermore, the last part of the course which was the final assignment was methodical in the first part but after that, the information was not provided on what to do next, so I had to relay on my background information to finish the assignment, which is not the correct methodology in my opinion for a fair evaluation. Minor improvement is required in my opinion. Thank you for the information and good luck.

By matteo b

May 3, 2021

Lessons take 10 minutes only and students have to ready everything by them self. Video lessons are not enough to give a good understand of the topic (they shouldI

99% of the time is spent reading documentation and paper (no written by Professor). Time to read documentation is under estimated. Usually a course helps to speed-up the learning process. That's not the case of this course.

The list of documentation is enough, in this case Professor support (lessons) is useless.

By Akshat A

Mar 6, 2021

The. study material is good, but that's about it. Several links in in the course and quizzes are dead. The final assignment is a nightmare to set up and run (I'm using a 2.6GHz i7,16GB macOS), but is a piece of cake to actually get graded. I think if as an alternate to setting up the whole VM etc we could also get the code repo to actually run and tinker with on our own, I'd give it another 2 stars.

By Mohammad S A

Apr 27, 2020

Although I respect the lecturer and the effort they have made to make this a useful course but compared to many other courses on Coursera, I don't think this is a good course. The teaching material is not well-organized. The teaching method is not smooth and fluent. The accent of speeches is a bit Indian and the speaking intonations are awful. It's like she is reading from a PowerPoint presentation.

By shahar k

Jul 25, 2019

all this "Module Objective" and "summary" on each session is very old fashioned, specially as many of the goals are "Be able to discuss...". while next to the goal follows just elaboration of some specs...

I think the course is ok if you want a glimpse about the field and get familiar with the technical vocabulary, but for really learning I would advice looking elsewhere.

By Noah D

Jul 25, 2021

While video lessons were helpful, assignments/quizzes were pretty bland and final assignment did not function properly so was unable to submit. A bit misleading on assignment/quiz time - 4 multiple choice questions shouldn't be listed as 30 minutes of work. Overall, it's an ok starter course but needs some work.

By Vinit K P

Aug 24, 2021

Some of the terminologies used in the video are directly used without prior explanation which makes it really difficult to understand. I had to frequently visit the web to understand the technical terminologies that were used directly. Anyways, the resources attached with the course are awesome.

By Harsh S

May 3, 2020

The video lectures in this course are too short and laconic. Most of the things are provided as reading material of other blogs and articles already available. There is barely any point of doing this course. Just read online articles and you'll know everything in this course!!

By Pablo O O B

Aug 25, 2020

I'm sorry, but I need to be honest. The course does not meet my expectations. The subject is complex and the course does not provide a clear and easy intro to the subject. I was able to finish it because I had some previous knowledge on the subject.

By Alexandru B

Oct 9, 2020

More than half of the reading links are dead, the assignment is throwing an error that many people are getting and nobody seems to be answering the forum. It's a dead course imo, I regret starting it, I should've searched for a newer one

By Yousif A

Mar 18, 2021

The quizzes are somewhat weak, and some questions have weird wording. Overall, it's an okay intro I guess. I didn't like the corpro-training style videos and staging backgrounds.

By Ananthu M P

Jul 17, 2020

overall experience was not that good. should improve the teaching methods. The contents are precise but the method of teaching is boring

By Khandaker M R

May 18, 2020

This is a very high-level overview of Blockchain. If you are interest in learning codes related to blockchain, you can skip this course.

By Piyush

Jun 8, 2020

only get to know about the theory, this course does not contain any content to get a knowledge of how to implement the block chain

By Prakhar G

May 14, 2020

Good for learning about the Blockchain basics, but were being constantly evaluated on things never thought.

By Leo H

Jan 9, 2021

Outdated material,

couldnt get the vm to work on my ubuntu 18.04.

No programming exercises anywhere.

By Sacsham A

Oct 9, 2019

if more explanation of the reading material would be given, must have been more helpful

By Sara M B P

Sep 29, 2020

Its not very interactive. I learnt almost nothing to be honest

By Deleted A

May 2, 2020

Sorry, I would expect more from university backed course

By Sidharth S

Apr 19, 2020

The course felt like it needed more simpler explanations

By DEVESH S

Apr 30, 2020

need to improve how the faculty is teaching

By sumit.mba19234@iimkashipur.ac.in

May 27, 2020

The final assignment was quite frustrating

By Kadam R

Aug 3, 2020

hello i can't complete 1 assignment

By Adrian B

Oct 22, 2019

The final activity could not be completed. The instructions were rubbish, the tool we were supposed to download and install didn t work and many many people had similar issues. I wrote to the discussion board about it and no one bothered to reply till the course ended and I ended up without being able to do the activity and submit the results, hence no certificate.

Really rubbish and a waste of money. Most the material was freely available on the internet anyway - as provided by links within the course.

If you are really interested in Blockchain, just browse the internet and find the free material available. You won t be able to get the certificate anyway here.