Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
4,869 ratings
1,228 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,224 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By JUAN M F

Mar 23, 2019

Me ha parecido un gran curso de inicio, la verdad que he disfrutado a pesar de que es una materia que desconozco en gran medida. Gracias por esta oportunidad.

By Satyam J

May 2, 2019

The course is very well structured,the content and links are also very helpful in deepening the concepts thereby increasing the understanding of the subject.

By Filippo L

Jan 3, 2019

Excellent! Done all well without external help. Very well designed both in terms of knowledge material as well as virtual machine to run actual transactions.

By Javier F G

Feb 21, 2021

Great course which brings a deep overview of all blockchain technology, specifically with Bitcoin, Ethereum, Smart contracts, Forks or Consensus mechanisms.

By Lemon S

Dec 31, 2020

If you're a beginner, this is the best course for understanding how blockchain works and how it is applied else than cryptocurrencies like most people think

By Subham S P

May 31, 2020

It provided a good introduction to the basics of the blockchain world. I really liked the final assignment of the course which made us do a real transaction

By Anantha S

Oct 29, 2018

It is a very well organized and taught course. The instructor has taken the time to put it all together and explain the basics and the content stitched well

By Andre L d A

Aug 7, 2018

A simple, but excellent training about Blockchain, especially about Bitcoin and Ethereum characteristics. I'm curious for the rest of this specialization.

By Ikdem B M

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent course with a lot of needed resources. Helped me to further my knowledge in Blockchain and master all the basics of this tremendous technology.

By JAYANT 1

Jun 19, 2020

The supplementary material is awesome. Try to spend time in going through each of them for in-depth knowledge. The instructor is also good and engaging.

By Massimiliano B

Jan 17, 2019

Good introduction to the Blockchain Basics. Doesn't require any particular prerequisites or knowledge. Suggested to anyone interested to this technology

By kavinda N

Nov 22, 2018

Great lectures,Good for beginners.Explain the things very clearly and understandable way.I would like to thank all the people for this wonderful course.

By Acyuta C

Nov 9, 2018

Excellent course. More technical than I expected; very complete and very well explained concepts and implementation of Bitcoin and Ethereum blockchains.

By Amitabh O

Oct 15, 2018

The course helps put together the pieces of the blockchain puzzle and build a solid foundation for understanding the working of blockchain applications.

By Karthikeyan V

Sep 24, 2018

Very Good beginner Course. The additional sections with links provided the required knowledge and reading is very important than just the video Lectures

By Aditya K

Jun 7, 2020

It is very great experience of having a knowledge about block chain a course certificate. A platform where we can learn so much from abroad professors.

By Narendra G

Mar 22, 2020

Great pace! Great explanation! Liked the 5-7 minute video lectures and then the great reading material provided that enhanced my understanding. Thanks!

By Rao N A

Jul 9, 2019

This course very Good for new learners having intermediate level of coding. It cleared my concepts and helped me visualize the logic behind Blockchain.

By Jagadeesh A

Jul 20, 2020

The Course was understandable, and the instructor was excellent. Understood all the points taught by the instructor. Motivating to study cryptography.

By Tejasvi S

Jun 23, 2020

I have learned a lot from your amazing course,at first i was so confuse and unclear ,but now i have basic fundamental knowledge .

Thank you so much!!!!

By kapil c

Sep 24, 2018

It was great course and I learned lot about blockchain and how it works internally and it was totally different from the way I was thinking blockchain

By Harsh S

Aug 30, 2020

Had great Quizzes , but please dear coursera respond to feedbacks, issues from students isn't handled within minimum time please do take care of it

By PRAFUL P P

Jul 18, 2020

Very well explained by the Prof Bina Ramamurthy. It is recommend for everyone to have a basic knowledge of Blockchain through this valuable course.

By Bharath K S

Jun 3, 2020

Coolest Course,The references were just Awesome!!!

If you have to rate the references my score would be 11/10.

Great work by University of Buffalo!!!

By Jayashree A V

May 7, 2020

This course is very helpful for beginner and to understand the basic concepts of Blockchain. The project was interactive and easily understandable.