Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
5,601 ratings
1,422 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U
Dec 31, 2019

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,436 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Dinu A

Aug 16, 2020

This is the best course for beginners who like to explore decentralized networks and cryptocurrencies. I highly recommend to anyone with the intention to start learning about crypto.

By RAJIT N

Jun 2, 2020

Instructor is excellent , I become her big fan. Her teaching skill and lecture delivery was is superb even a non technical person can also easily understand the basics of blockchain.

By Scott P

Jul 8, 2018

Really enjoyed, the materials supplied were great and the videos enhanced my understanding of the material even after reading multiple books, articles on blockchain/bitcoin/ethereum.

By Nagendra N

Feb 27, 2019

The course material is really good for the beginners to start with. It starts with BitCoin blockchain to Etherum. Good Content. Practical Project helped to understand it in detail.

By Dennis K

Jul 28, 2019

I've taken course from major universities costing $$$ which were not as well done as this course from University of Buffalo. everything you need to succeed and understand is here.

By Elias K

Aug 25, 2019

A very good point to start. The final assignment is really very helpful. The fully configured environment that it is provided gives the ability to explore the protocol in action.

By Nadine S

Jul 31, 2018

Overall, the course was worth the time and I'd recommend it to anyone who is curious about or wants to learn more about blockchain. See full review here. https://goo.gl/RKQ59D

By Pranav A

Feb 2, 2020

its very nice and easily understandable basis for blockchain and cryptocurrency .all algorithm and processes are illustrated in very lucid and easy manners .best for beginners

By Pushyami R

Aug 6, 2019

Firstly I will be thankful to coursera for this opportunity and Bina ma'am was really good at explaining things with ease,which made me more enthusiastic Blockchain developer.

By Abhinav S

Apr 14, 2020

This was a great course, and Prof. Bina was an amazing instructor!

The project was a bit unclear initially, however, it was quite fun.

Here's to the world of decentralization!

By Đỗ V D

Jan 21, 2021

A quality course for those who want to learn the basics of blockchain. You also need a little bit of computer science. The practice is difficult but good to give you insight

By Mugdha P B

Jun 16, 2020

Good course for beginners in Blockchain. It covers majority of the concepts without having to code in a specific language. Optional resources provided are also very helpful.

By Jonny T

Mar 24, 2019

Simple, yet precise overview. There are a couple of more advanced topics that I will be looking into else where, such as how ECC works and a bit more information on ommers.

By German N

Aug 4, 2021

This is a great overview about Blockchain, Ethereum and Bitcoin. After doing it I was able to jump into the Blockchain world and continuing going deeper of that technology.

By Doan V T

May 27, 2021

I​ like this course and lecture. The teaching way of her is very well. This course also put one of my steps into the new world. I just wanna say thanks to Coursera and UB.

By Yogesh S

Nov 9, 2018

Course is very well compiled and provides right depth of knowledge to the participants. Content of course will give good confidence to attendees on Blockchain concepts.

By Guillermo I E

Jun 23, 2020

I found the course to be interesting on a very academic and technical level. I would definitely recommend it to someone who wants to become a smart contract developer.

By Anshu D

Dec 18, 2018

B

l

o

c

k

c

h

a

i

n

B

a

s

i

c

s

i

s

r

e

a

l

l

y

g

o

o

d

c

o

u

r

s

e

t

o

s

t

a

r

t

w

i

t

h

&

m

a

k

e

y

o

u

r

s

e

l

f

a

w

a

r

e

w

i

t

h. Additional study resources provided are awesome. Every article, video etc. are must read or watch.

By Devendran M

Nov 12, 2018

Course content is structured in such a way that it's clear, concise and easy to grasp the concepts. The additional reads and end of course exercises are really useful.

By Steve M

Aug 12, 2018

Great content to introduce you to the world of Blockchain, bitcoin and ethereum. Covers all the basics deeply and in easy way to understand all the important concepts.

By Faiq H

Dec 30, 2020

In such a short amount of time, I learned a lot from this. This is actually a platform that provides education along with skills in their project. Thanks to Coursera

By JESSICA O R

Apr 21, 2020

I've learned new abilities softly and smartly with Coursera, I want to thank you to allow me and so many people around the world to get this kind of knowledge simply.

By Fernando L C

Feb 9, 2021

Great introduction to the Blockchain! Very right to the point / Pragmatic videos! After taking this course you will have a good overview of how the blockchain works.

By Pankaj S

Jul 18, 2019

wonderful course with lots and lots of healthy and beneficial study material and the teacher is really good, one of the best course to head start in this technology

By Onesimo P

Jan 21, 2020

I really enjoyed what I learned and that is what made it a good experience. The final project was pretty easy and will explore some later to see if I can master it.