Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
3,974 ratings
1,007 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT

Nov 19, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

U

Jan 01, 2020

One of the Best course for Absolutely Beginners :-) Discussed Core Fundamental Factors of Blockchain of Bitcoin and Ethereum. Amazing Resources & Really Helpful Content. Thanks Bina Ramamurthy Ma'am.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,010 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Umair K

Aug 05, 2019

Exceptional course on the basics. Bina is an excellent professor and has a very unique way of teaching. Loved it, on to the next course.

By Woon J H

May 22, 2020

A quick course that provides a great overview of Blockchain! The optional readings provide excellent material for deeper understanding.

By Aparajita O

Aug 18, 2019

Like the course. Explained in a very clear way. However, I feel the difficulty level of quiz and assignments should be a little higher.

By Arun A K

Oct 23, 2018

Have been very informative so far and looking forward to other courses in the specialization. Very much practical oriented assignments.

By kesav k

Jul 26, 2020

My sincere thanks to the instructor , she explained the technology behind ethereum and bitcoin in detail and with some catchy examples

By Ivan V

Apr 05, 2020

This course gave me basic knowledges about blockchain. I've known a lot of new information and I believe that it'll help me in future.

By Shiva G

Apr 06, 2019

Great course but would have been even more great, If the assignment was some sort of research and write type of tasks rather than MCQs

By Rajpal G

Nov 24, 2019

it is just amazing the level of simplicity this course carries and at the same time explain the really complex topics in a great way.

By Muhammad T

Oct 26, 2019

it give me great understanding about block chain technology, Teacher have great knowledge she transfer it student very beautiful way.

By Sushant P

Jun 18, 2019

Exceptionally good course for beginners. Haven't come across such an informative and well structured course for intro to blockchains.

By Korede D

Apr 16, 2019

The course was really educative, i am glad i completed it and i look forward to completing the rest of the courses in this series....

By Jorge P

Sep 05, 2018

Very good overview into blockchain structure basics . It does provide you with a good thorough understanding of how blockchains work.

By Blessing N M

Jun 25, 2020

You don't have to know coding. The information is for everyone. Jump in & explore another world of digital technology & currencies

By Claudio C

Sep 30, 2019

Very nice course. there is some imprecision and something appointed into the discussion forum but the content is pretty interesting.

By mischelle m

Aug 06, 2018

Very educational and informative. Sometime complexed but the end justified the means. I learned alot about VM and cloud computing.

By Harsh J

Jun 13, 2020

This course gives the knowledge about blockchain ,how it functions and how it works .What are the requirements to run the Ethereum.

By Abilash

Sep 29, 2019

I Cannot able to complete my project,for my facilities could not able done my project,of course i learnt a lot thank you Coursera.

By ANAND R

Jan 29, 2019

Very Good. Programming Assignment is very easy. Please follow the comments and pinned post details. Everybody will get through it.

By Anima

May 25, 2020

This is an amazing course for the one who is really interested in exploring Blockchain.Really nice to get started with blockchain

By María J G O

Jan 17, 2019

It´s a great start if you want to understand the basics of Blockchain technology; it´s a MUST if you are insterested in the topic

By Shreya S

May 11, 2020

This has been an amazing adventure. I always get bored easily but this course never left my mind! Kuddos for the great job done!

By Mohit M

May 01, 2020

It was really a wonderful course providing the reading material which i think was the must and looking forward to another course

By Trupti D N

Feb 09, 2019

The hands on part is too good. I definitely got a feel how blockchain looks. This is one of the good course I have taken up here

By Aditya P

Jul 01, 2020

Nice course and easily understandable. You will gain knowledge of basics of blockchain. How blockchain works? and many more....

By Pankaj K

Jun 22, 2020

Very straight forward course and provides good content in videos as well as good resources are provided along with all lessons.