Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain Basics by University at Buffalo

4.6
stars
5,432 ratings
1,366 reviews

About the Course

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

TT
Nov 18, 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS
Jul 27, 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,370 Reviews for Blockchain Basics

By Thomas N

Apr 7, 2020

Course content was good for introduction to Blockchain main concenpts. Video material with moving graphics in the background was not supporting my learning, please use fix backgrounds instead.

By Mahesh K

Mar 16, 2019

Very nicely arranged course and very informative. Learned a lot in no time. Only hurdle is The Ethereum Virtual machine takes hell lot of time in the Miner step. rest all fine. thanks a lot.

By kiruthigapandiyarajan

Oct 5, 2018

Information in the course was very good, but in the project part I have not felt like I am doing one POC kind of project, it is not at all interactive. It can be more practical if possible

By Arpan E

Jul 9, 2020

Enjoyed it thoroughly. I'm not a Computer Science student but found the videos and materials very easy to understand. Thank you, Coursera, for providing such a course with this simplicity.

By Lanwin C

Jul 7, 2020

It is really good course and the explanations are good, but a little more explanation in trickier topics will make it a lot better. Overall I have the basics of blockchain perfectly.

By Bikash K

Oct 3, 2020

Great course. Earlier I searched for lot of free contents on Youtube but couldn't find any effective courses. But here, it cleared all the basics of the concept. Really worth it.

By Marcos D D

Feb 27, 2021

Absolutely amazing optional resources. They give great insight to understand the topic, even on 2021. Broken links and lack of support were the only reasons not to give 5 stars.

By Muthukrishnan T

Jul 3, 2020

course was very good and interesting. i have enjoyed learning the course and i am excited to complete the project and assignments too. Thanks a lot for such a wonderful course.

By Simon M

Mar 5, 2019

Very good and enjoyable with lots of additional material allowing me to delve and investigate further. Still a little confused in some areas - but that's Blockchain I guess!

By Om S

Jul 6, 2020

etherum.ova file need to be update . overall these course was amazing . I am very thank full to coursera and respected Mam Bina Ramamurthy for guiding me for these course.

By Aditya V

Feb 10, 2021

It was good but i feel the video lectures can be more long and explanatory.I thought the video learning aspect would be much bigger than it was before taking this course.

By Anirban M

Jul 26, 2019

The course videos are good. But some of the links given in the questions of the quiz are not working. The instructions for the final project could be better in my opinion.

By Serge G

Jun 12, 2018

Good introduction to the subject. I would have appreciated more courseware content and less references to URLs. I'd suggest to make the slides available for downloads.

By Hariprasath T

Sep 22, 2020

It is a very nice course but some of the links are outdated which made it impossible to answer some questions in the graded section and learning section.(optional)

By Guzmán L

Jul 15, 2020

Very good introduction to blockchain. I am not giving it five stars because some links were broken to do the online test and had to find a workaround alone.

By Eric H

Aug 4, 2018

Presenter was good, but I prefer a presenters with a clearer voice(no accent) for this learning environment only, in a personal setting it would not matter.

By Junhewk K

Jun 28, 2021

The course is great in terms of lectures and test, but some links in the materials are broken since the course haven't reorganized after launched, I guess.

By Zhang L

Mar 5, 2021

As an introduction course to the blockchain, i think it's good enough. But, personally, Professor's accent made it difficult for me to follow the lessons.

By Mark W A S

Nov 7, 2018

Great introduction to the blockchain space with enough technical detail and pointers to further information to make a rich and useful learning experience

By Juan S G

Sep 30, 2020

Really good introduction to Blockchain technology, the course share very useful information to understand the potential and what is really behind it.

By Jeena M G

Feb 18, 2019

It is really useful. I felt some terms were familiar to me and so it was easy to pick up, but for others I don't know if they would face any issues.

By RUCHIR A

May 22, 2020

A good start to blockchain. Lectures should have been more descriptive and interactive. Resources are useful and assignments are very interesting.

By Akash K

Oct 2, 2020

This is just basic of the blockchain technology. The assignment and extra readings given in this really helped me a lot to understand the basics.

By KOLIPARTHI L

Jul 13, 2020

The course tells you the very basics of blockchain like how to use the blockchain, basic terms in the blockchain, how the blockchain works etc.,

By Maxime B R

May 10, 2020

Great class but I think the final project should be on a network, because it not user friendly to download a virtual machine and run all of this