Chevron Left
Back to Blockchain: Foundations and Use Cases

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Blockchain: Foundations and Use Cases by ConsenSys Academy

4.7
stars
477 ratings
145 reviews

About the Course

This course is the definitive introduction to blockchain for both the developer and non-developer audience. Beyond the technology, this course will introduce you to some of the philosophy behind decentralization and why there is so much excitement around it. During the first three modules, you'll be introduced to blockchain and the technology behind it. In module four, we'll go beyond bitcoin and delve deeper into a next-generation blockchain called Ethereum to introduce you to what modern blockchains can do. The use cases featured in the final module are drawn from among the businesses in ConsenSys' startup portfolio. We believe we're uniquely positioned to present you with a valuable behind-the-scenes look at the people and companies working in this space to help give you a better understanding of the business side of blockchain. Together, we'll examine businesses use cases, hear from industry leaders, and give you the opportunity to develop and analyze a use case yourself. With this course, not only will you be the one who is able to explain blockchain to your colleagues, you'll be well on your way to making educated business decisions with your new, foundational understanding of the technology....

Top reviews

NY

Nov 14, 2018

Course is very good start to enter into blockchain ecosystem understanding all concepts and things that decentralization can bring into upcoming digital transformations in every sector.

KC

Nov 13, 2018

This is excellent foundation course for beginners. Especially the real time examples given in the course are awesome. I liked the decision tree logic when to implement Blockchain.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 146 Reviews for Blockchain: Foundations and Use Cases

By Sam R

Oct 18, 2018

Solid course! Gives a good high level overview of concepts & links to further reading materials if you want to deep dive into topic. As a software engineer casually following the crypto space for a couple years, I still learned a decent amount. I'm impressed with the breadth & depth covered.

Reason for 4 vs 5 stars — the videos were great but some of the articles they link to are (in my opinion) not the best resources out there. In a few places they sacrifice quality of content in order to promote Consensys content. I totally understand: it’s a free course built by a for-profit business but they would have gained more credibility in my eyes if they self-promoted less. Use authoritative references, not your company's blog posts.

By Christos G

Nov 10, 2019

Too expensive to buy a certificate given the fact that these guys mostly advertise their site/business. I can find all these pieces of information online. Lower the cost between 10usd and 30usd and you will have customers. And fix some of the videos...

By Nik A

Mar 04, 2020

too much Ethereum

By Abhay A

May 27, 2020

Touches upon the concepts in a very lucid manner.

If you don't wanna get into the technical/coding aspects of blockchain but still want to expand your knowledge about the area eg: what is blockchain? why is it called a blockchain in the first place, the components, the process, and how different it is from the framework of the internet as we know it today? this course does a pretty good job helping with that. The fifth week is perhaps the best week of the course as the case studies do a great job giving you a feel of everything you've studied in the first four weeks. The week ends with you making your own use case using everything you learned from the case studies and the prior weeks. last but not the least, the instructor was fantastic, his narration was clear and precise. If you have no idea about blockchain and want to learn how it functions, what are the components and how can you judge whether a blockchain is needed or not for a particular business without getting too much in the mathematical and coding aspects behind it, look no further!

By Sergey G

Oct 06, 2018

Very well explained and amazingly illustrated foundations of Blockchain Technology with necessary width and depth. Introduced practical ready to use design and evaluation methodology for business use cases: whether Blockchain can be used, for what, why, which architectural components and how. Provided grounded practice with logically structured templates for designing Blockchain business use cases.

I have truly enjoyed this course and found it practical, interesting and useful as one of the starting points towards becoming a Blockchain professional. Thank you both, Coursera and ConsenSys!

By Mohammad S A

May 28, 2020

This course offers one of the easiest methods to learn about the complex topic of blockchains. I believe it gives an excellent introduction to this area of technology. However, there is some level of advertisement for Ethereum and Consensys platforms, which is not necessarily bad. Still, if you pass a course offered by Google, you won't find such advertisements for Google. Anyway, I am thankful to the instructors who helped me understand this topic, which I found very difficult previously.

By Redwan M

Oct 28, 2019

This course provide and excellent overview of the Blockchain technology and then dive into the specificity of Ethereum. The content is very well design and very practical. There is a little of theory that is incredibly well simplified.

At the end of this course you ll be able to use a decision tree to determine if your idea would make sens with a blockchain. You will also learn about real life Ethereum application in Law, Real Estate, privacy or supply chain.

By Aaron B

Jan 21, 2019

Very solid breakdown of a constantly advancing field. Gives you a good idea of when a blockchain is necessary and when it is not. Might be difficult for people with no technical background, but they give you plenty of supplemental readings to help you understand the concepts. As someone who has been following the crypto/blockchain space for a while, I felt this gave me a much more thorough understanding of the underlying blockchain concepts.

By Ronald V B

Sep 20, 2019

I loved the course. The way they taught, with the end of every single lecture i felt that i should know more about this. This course is so inquisitive that after its completion it has made me want to work on blockchains. This course is abundant with knowledge and helps one understand the basics of what a blockchain is. Ethereum has been their main focus.

By Kokou S S

Dec 12, 2019

A wonderful course and an extraordinary captivating introduction to the world of blockchain. I give 5 stars to this course because I've found everything I wanted to know about blockchains, their function, their usefulness and about how and when to use them... and also may be how to involve myself in this movement :-)

By YAU S M

Mar 27, 2020

Contemporary information presented in a very precise way and able to deliver clear understanding information for a classmate to get a very brief but not just for interest information with very easy to understand materials on such a very complicated knowledge. Thank you very much.

By Xiaofeng Z

Jan 05, 2020

I did learn the fundamental and the most essential concepts in Blockchain technology. With the knowledge gained in this course, I am very confident to dive into more technical details. I would recommend this course of working professionals to get started with Blockchain.

By Tracey T

Jun 29, 2020

The Consensys Blockchain fundamentals course was very informative and interesting. It broke out the details of blockchain in ways that was very enlightening for me. I now have a clearer understanding about blockchain and how it is best used.

By Raiyan F

Feb 18, 2019

The course is pretty good for anyone who is interested in Blockchain, whether as a technology, as a career path or as a Crypto investor. The course only touches the basics and should be enough to make you aware of the technology in general.

By Khushboo J

Nov 10, 2019

I feel course was very helpful and it taught me about blockchain in detail and depth. It really open my mind about how things can be changed in future using blockchain and how blockchain makes everything believable and transparent.

By Ankit G

May 06, 2020

Course has summarized the basic concepts regarding the blockchain technology. Case Study discussed was quite helpful to understand application and provided a good overview of blockchain technology. I totally recommend this course

By Akshay T J

May 02, 2020

This course made me understand use cases of blockchain . The exercise provided in this course makes it sure that you understand use cases properly. Reading material is really good & I enjoyed learning with coursera.

By Manan V

Feb 28, 2019

This course really helped me understand the basics of blockchain technology. Now I can think of different use cases for blockchain technology and most importantly, now I know when blockchain is NOT the solution.

By Jay C

Sep 15, 2018

Consensys is one of the most forward-looking companies out there, and the information contained in this course will prove to be highly accurate for the blockchain enviroment until the year 2019, at least!

By Zakir U S

Oct 17, 2018

Best examples and use cases are available in the course to understanding the technology.

very helpful for basic understanding and learning the Blockchain Technology..

By Katherine K

Dec 13, 2018

Enjoyable self-learning interface about blockchain basics and introduction to ConsenSys. Great for those wanting to begin learning about Blockchain application.

By Praveen N

Oct 07, 2018

Great course that goes through the basics of Blockchain technology.

It includes discussions about what to consider before implementing a blockchain solution.

By tamara k

Aug 01, 2019

I would recommend this course to anyone who needs a new business development understanding of the applicability of blockchain in various industry scenarios

By Jesse L L J

Jan 19, 2019

This is an outstanding course for neophyte blockchain entrepreneurs and those who desire to create a career in this emerging high-technology field.

By Justin H

Oct 11, 2019

Great high quality course. I highly recommend this course to anyone seeking to build a solid foundation in blockchain applications and use cases.