Chevron Left
Back to Brand New Brand

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Brand New Brand by California Institute of the Arts

4.9
stars
965 ratings
255 reviews

About the Course

This course is the culmination of the Graphic Design Specialization and gives you an opportunity to tie together your knowledge and skills into a single project: a brand development guide for a company you will invent. This course takes you through the entire design process, from ideation to creation to presentation. Through the guide, you will be creating and giving a visual identity to an imaginary start-up company, and applying that visual identity to a number of forms. You will also develop a logotype and accompanying graphic palette to visually represent your company, as well as apply that design to a number of different applications to see it at work. Note: Only learners who have earned a certificate in the four previous courses in the Specialization are eligible to take the Capstone....

Top reviews

JL
Feb 23, 2017

It was great in terms of working on closer to a long-term project and even learning what a branding guide is. Plus it added to my portfolio and I got a lot more working experience with my programs.

RG
Jun 6, 2020

I thought it was great, I could definitely make use of this and apply it to the real world. Thank you for your instruction. I have a long way to go but I'm excited. Thank you for your teaching.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 252 Reviews for Brand New Brand

By Adekunle L

Apr 30, 2020

The course is rigorous and rewarding. You will learn a lot of skills. The course surely hones your graphic design skills. It is highly recommended for designers.

By Cristina M

Aug 27, 2020

Loved it! The Capstone was perfect to finish the graphic design specialization. It was well structured, interesting and I definitely learned a lot. 5 out of 5!

By Mark H

Sep 8, 2020

A challenging, yet rewarding capstone project that shouldn't actually take 6-7 weeks. I'm very thankful I took advantage of the optional peer-review drafts.

By Nicolas V

Sep 26, 2016

This part of the course is really intense, but it teaches you A LOT about who to practice what you've learned in the integrated courses. Highly reccomended

By Juachi O

Jan 31, 2018

It was great getting a step by step guide to applying everything I'd learnt in the Graphic Design Specialization. Rich in content and easy to follow

By Yujia W

Sep 28, 2016

This project provide us an opportunity to do a real work, by using the typeface, color palette, logo mark, layout, which is interesting and helpful!

By Stefanie v d B

Nov 13, 2020

A great course in which I have learned so much about graphic design, working with programs, thank you coursera and call arts specially Michael W.

By muriel r

Feb 26, 2017

Excellent course, the material and lectures are easy to follow. The assignments are well explained. The overall experience was very enlightening.

By Yana B

May 4, 2021

The best course in the whole specialization, very complete and detailed! Thank you, thanks to this course I have drawn up a guide to my project.

By Hanif R

Jan 3, 2021

I love the final hands-on project! It's more like a journey than a course! I hope that this will be the Kickstarter to my graphic design career!

By Mariana Z

Nov 29, 2018

Great course to apply your knowledge in graphic design into a brand guide. The course walks you through the process to make this piece of work.

By Vrusti J

Sep 4, 2020

Very nice experience I have. Explore new things with the help of this course. Highly recommended for who wants to learn basic graphic designs.

By Iris Q

Sep 29, 2016

Great class! It provided concrete practice for presenting one's designs and thinking about all the elements of graphic design in one project.

By Tevah P

Jul 3, 2018

This class was awesome. The scaffolded project worked really well with excellent examples and guidance. Lots of fun building useful skills.

By Anand R S

May 19, 2020

Great Learning Experience! Definitely learned many new things through the course. Great Culmination to the entire Graphics Design Course.

By Sarah G

Feb 24, 2017

I really enjoyed this class - it was a great way for us to put into practice all the interesting things we learned in the specializat

By Jessica S

Jun 6, 2021

​I learned alot. This has helped me tremendously. Thank you to all the instructors for explaining each course to easily understand.

By Anna S

Oct 18, 2019

It's just a great course! Thank you for such good explanations, materials, tasks. It was a lot of fun, practice and new knowledge.

By Safa A K

Sep 7, 2019

This is a brilliant that lets you explore your design abilities while experimenting with all the ideas from the previous courses.

By Patricia B

Aug 30, 2021

Perfect to start, for beginners. Should include at least one review from a professor and not only inside our students community;

By Mahmudul W S

Oct 1, 2020

This course was really good. I learnt a lot from it. I would like to thank California Institute of the Art for this opportunity.

By MA Y

Mar 26, 2021

Excellent experience in this course! I enjoyed the assignment and reviewing classmates artwork. It gave a lot of amazing ideas.

By Mamadú S

Oct 27, 2020

Great course I learn a lot about the basics of graphic design I recommend to every body that want to begin in the right way

By Christopher G

Jul 28, 2020

Really good practical and theoretical experience in helping you learn what it is like to create a brand for a real company!

By Shrayan D

Oct 19, 2020

Absolutely amazing course content and peers to help out. Had a great time learning and implementing throughout the course.