Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
994 ratings
440 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MH
Nov 19, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 439 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Gabriel R

Oct 10, 2020

Such a great course and the fact that its free, you can't beat that! Thank you, University of Alberta and staff members, for giving us this gem!

By Luke S

Jan 7, 2020

MY Mom got me this course because i live in rural Canada and really enjoy insects, and i now know more then i ever hope to know Thanks Bugs 101!

By Genevieve L

Sep 11, 2019

It was a very interesting course. I learned far more about insects than I thought I would. I am finding them more fascinating than scary now.

By Michelle P

Jun 13, 2020

This course was so fascinating. I have a new appreciation for insects and just how important they are to the health of our planet - and to us!

By Lionel M

Jul 24, 2021

Great course. Covers loads of ground and is accessible for beginners. I wish someone would come up with a similar course for vascular plants.

By H. F

Jan 6, 2021

Fascinating topic, Well-designed materials, beautifully presented by excellent presenters. I really enjoyed this course and learned so much!

By Subarna M

Jul 19, 2021

This course is very useful for me, I liked it very much. Learned different types of insect and there nature and behavior. Thank you so much.

By AAKASH U

Jun 6, 2020

Interesting and Informative. Always wanted to become an Entomologist and learn more about insects and this course has helped me learn a lot.

By Jonathan D S M

Aug 31, 2020

Fue muy interesante conocer un poco más sobre la increíble forma de ser de los insectos y en general los artrópodos. Me encantó el curso

By Gary J

Jul 24, 2020

This a very interesting course, aimed at young people, and covers all the basics. Having taken this course will help me teach my kids,

By aalvarezz@unal.edu.co

Jun 28, 2020

Es un curso muy muy completo. Recomendado 100% Aprendí mucho más de lo que pensé.Tiene muchas lecturas complementarias para aprovechar.

By Desmond O

Aug 22, 2020

Lovely well balance course. Tutors enthusiasm was infectious. This has inspired me to to do further reading and training in this area.

By Ankush M R

Jun 13, 2020

This course will help to graduates, postgraduates students as well researcher to understand the concept on various fact of entomology.

By L B R

Apr 9, 2020

Very good! It was very easy to understand and taught me a lot. Thank you to the University of Alberta for making this amazing course!

By Julia L

Oct 31, 2020

I found this course incredibly informative. The instructors were all very passionate about the subject and I learned so many things!

By Siobhan C

Apr 12, 2021

This course covered many interesting topics. Even if you are not sure how you feel about bugs, you will find value in this course.

By Camila C

Mar 2, 2021

It's a very complete course with an university level, but any people can take because is so dinamic, I really love the experience.

By Connor W

Jul 25, 2020

Phenomenal course for anyone interested in Entomology. Kept me busy and interested during quarantine and sad that I have finished.

By Cathy c

Feb 25, 2020

Fabulous introductory course. Engaging instructors, beautiful images and a broad range of topics to give an overview of entymology

By Sherry P

Sep 24, 2019

Excellent units!! Lots of great information and all the instructors were enthusiastic and easy to listen to. Very well done folks!

By Arkaitz S R

May 10, 2020

The real magic of nature and the knowledge about what humanity should take care of. Amazing. No words. Thank you for this course.

By Lois B

Oct 14, 2019

Thank you for opening the door to a whole new fascinating, beautiful, and awe-inspiring world! I didn't want the course to end.

By Ramon F d S

Jul 31, 2020

It's a such good course. I learned a lot of insects, their interaction with humans, ecosystems e all that involves this world.

By HAROLD K

Nov 13, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. I keep honey bees but learned a lot about insects in general. Thank you to the instructors.