Chevron Left
Back to Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
1,010 ratings
448 reviews

About the Course

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Top reviews

AB
Jul 7, 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MH
Nov 19, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 445 Reviews for Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

By Stefan S

May 9, 2020

Excellent course. Well documented and articulated. Excellent work putting this course together. I have enjoyed all the videos and text material and learned a lot of new things about the insect world.

By Marianne H

Nov 20, 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

By vaibhav j

Jul 17, 2020

Best instructor and teaching assistants. they start from very based and and slowly increase the difficulty of topics. i used to love buys ,after doing this course now i love bugs more the before.

By sarah c

Jul 20, 2020

Superb course , loved it great speakers made all information interesting and easily understood. Great work University of Alberta . These courses are for everybody with any interest what so ever.

By Ann W

Jul 5, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning about these fascinating creatures. I now have thirst for more and will continue learning about insects (not sure where yet). Thank you University of Alberta.

By Pu J

Jul 3, 2020

At first I was just very curious about the little bugs, but with this course I discovered many aspects of the insects and other arthropods and they are really fascinating. Thank you very much!

By Sebastian L R

Feb 13, 2021

This has been such an amazing course! It is really great for anyone interested in learning more about insects and how they are connected to the world! Would recommend this 10/10 to everyone!

By Elliot R E

Dec 15, 2020

This was an amazing course, it was very educational. One of the few entomology courses that knows what it is doing! The videos were great, and the quizzes made sense. I highly recommend it!

By Yee S O

Jun 16, 2021

Very fun introductory course to insect with detail notes, interesting interviews with people working insects (both research and entrepreneurship) and challenging (but not difficult) quiz.

By Eoin B

Sep 20, 2020

excelllent course, with some fantastic and interesting facts about bugs and their importance within society. well worth the time and effort to complete the course if this is your interest.

By Laura A A

Jul 30, 2021

It was an amazingly well done online course. Thank you to everyone involved! I hope I can visit the Bug gallery at the Royal Alberta Museum, as well as the University of Alberta, someday.

By Ellen P

Nov 8, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and felt that it was really well executed. I would consider taking other courses. The lecturers were knowledgeable and articulate. Excellent--Thank you

By Gonzalo C P

Feb 9, 2021

Awesome!! I love it. I love the different aspect and point of views in each lesson. I can't wait for Bugs 102, (and a arachnids special please!) thanks to all the team, amazing journey

By Haroon A

Jul 7, 2020

It is an interesting course and learned a lot about the insects and their interaction. I recommend for other students to take this class and it is really helpful to know about insects.

By Francesco f

Jun 8, 2020

Awesome team had done an excelLent work; much info and a lot of knoledge about many aspect of insect's ecology and biology.

I REALLY LOVE THIS CURSE AND CANADA.

Thanks you all so much.

F.

By Valentina I G

Jul 3, 2020

Fantastic! Very insightful and engaging course. I highly recommend it would be a useful course for anyone in any given field or with little to no knowledge of arthropods and insects.

By Castor

Jan 28, 2021

I plan on becoming an entomologist in the future, this course is both incredibly interesting and informative. Would highly recommend to anyone with an interest in the natural world.

By Louise B

Sep 17, 2019

Fantastic course full of interesting and useful information that is presented in a structured and clear way. A big thank you to the course presenters and plethora of guest experts.

By Vlad T

Jun 5, 2020

Lovely course, like other natural science courses from the University of Alberta that I took (mainly, their series on dinosaurs). I took Insects 101 just for fun and it was fun!

By Christian M

Feb 13, 2021

Extremely informative and interesting. The lecturers are highly knowledgeable and deliver very captivating talks. The input from the experts is remarkable. Highly recommend.

By Andrea G

May 7, 2020

Absolutely wonderful course! The quality of resources and instruction were excellent. Difficult and technical topics were relayed in a very accessible way. Loved it! Thank you.

By Akira M

Mar 4, 2021

Very insightful and informative course. The mix of lecturers and guest speakers kept things fresh and interesting. Kudos to everyone involved in creating this great content.

By Natalia G

Feb 23, 2020

Estuvo buenísimo porque nunca se me había ocurrido aprender sobre insectos. Re interesante hacer un curso en el que realmente el 90% del contenido es nuevo para uno. Gracias!

By Luis A M V

Mar 20, 2020

Thank you very much to all who made this incredible course possible. As a insect loving biologist, enjoy it. Totally recommended. THANKS A LOT!. Greetings from Honduras.