Chevron Left
Back to Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.9
stars
2,851 ratings
896 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

AI
Jun 13, 2021

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

RD
May 22, 2021

Thanks to the instructors for bringing forth such an amazing course. The way the course is strucured makes it very interesting and easy to learn. Loved and enjoyed the course and learnt a lot from it

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 890 Reviews for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

By Branko B

Jul 17, 2019

This course was really great and covered everything it aimed to. Noam and Shimon broke down concepts simply and made them easy to understand. I'm moving on right away to the second part of this course!

By Madhavi M

Feb 18, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

By Mohammed H

Jun 22, 2021

I now clearly understand the hardware I use to develop computer programs. Its no longer a mystery for me. Thanks to the instructors for an amazing content. Will definitely complete Part 2 as well.

By Chung-Hung W

Nov 22, 2020

Excellent course. Perfectly serve my purpose to demystify how computer works, and make good bridge among electronic engineering, chip design, computer science, and programming. Highly appreciate!

By Youssif R 2

Jul 16, 2020

this one of the most elegant courses a computer engineer can take in the early beginnings of his undergrad study, it will give him the overall view of digital design and computer architecture.

By André M

Jun 18, 2020

Lovely learning experience. Engaging and passionate lessons, well-explained concepts and fantastic pacing. The grading was also fantastic; this is the best way to conduct a course of this style.

By JUN Z

Jul 20, 2017

through this course I literally understand how to computer operates and how it is built from a simple chip Nand to a complex system with ROM/RAM/CPU. The course is great! Highly recommend this!

By tammychang

May 13, 2021

can assist beginners in understanding the fundamentals of computers, The teachers were very clear in teaching the content. (The homework was not really easy... might be because I am a beginner)

By Sindhoor T

Jul 23, 2019

This is one of the best courses I've ever taken. Simplistic, easy to follow, takes you from Beginner to Advanced at a steady pace. Learned a ton! Thanks a lot for making such a beautiful course

By Leon M W

May 29, 2019

Incredible Course. I've never experienced such an learning experience. This course did not just teach me how computers work, more importantly it taught me how to learn and deal with complexity.

By Jasmine

May 7, 2020

The class is straightforward and the right level of detail to make you feel like you really understand the topics. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to understand how computer hardware works!

By Baxter D

Sep 8, 2016

Fantastic. Quite difficult for me, but I learned the material along the way. Fantastic way to train yourself to think logically and parsimoniously. And the computer knowledge is invaluable.

By ANSHUL G

Nov 14, 2020

This is an excellent course. It gives a deep insight on how the various digital circuits are connected together to make computer hardware and how assembler is constructed to use the hardware.

By Sanath N U

Jul 28, 2020

Crazy stuff, Literally opened my eyes to some of the abstractions of the real world we take for granted. This course is intellectually rigorous and satisfying. This is one of the cool stuff!

By burhan a

Jun 25, 2020

fabulous , perfect education....

it is took abaout fully a month of my life , but really it was worth it.

thank you very much coursera and Shimon Schocken and Noam Nisan.

with all my respect .

By Tiancheng X

May 24, 2020

I had great fun with the projects! The materials illustrate how processors work clearly, without being overly complex. I think it is a nice introduction to computer architecture and systems.

By Jacob K

Aug 14, 2018

Excellently structured course. The projects really make you understand the material well. I can hardly believe you can learn the full architecture of a basic modern computer in one course!

By Austin P

Jun 17, 2017

This course covers the fundamentals of computer architecture in a fun and engaging way. I cannot recommend it enough to anyone who has ever had any interest in how computers actually work.

By Remy S

Jun 14, 2021

R​eally enjoyable - I particularly enjoyed the puzzle solving aspect of the course and now armed with an understanding of how the gates and bits build up to make a fully working computer.

By Supun D K

Sep 16, 2017

Gained a massive knowledge in fundamentals about Machine Language, Assembly Language and Hardware Descriptor Language. Thank you Prof. Nisan & Prof. Schocken for teaching all the sessions

By Rich E

Aug 2, 2017

Definitely one of the better online courses I've taken. Struggled a little bit by the end, so I probably won't go on to part two anytime soon, but I appreciated all the work they've done.

By Giacomo D

Apr 8, 2016

Very interesting subject. The course is very well organized and clearly explained. The projects are progressively challenging and all of them are engaging. I have learnt a lot of things.

By Jining Z

Nov 15, 2020

这门课程非常精彩。我是地理系的本科生,研究生阶段转换到软件工程方向。通过这门课程,我了解到了计算机这台钢琴内部是什么样子的。过程非常的有趣,有时候也很有挑战性。但总的来说这个过程是非常棒的。我建议每一位想系统了解计算机的学生都来尝试这门课程。如有机会,下学期我会选修这门课程的Part2

最后,再次感谢这门课程和Coursera,以及助教团队和各位志愿者的付出,谢谢你们!

By Jon H

Aug 27, 2017

Great course! The instructors explains the inner workings of a computer in an easy to understand manner. Did not think it was possible to make this material so accessible. Astonishing!

By Michael B

Nov 1, 2019

I loved this course it made me think and hade a lot of fun building my own computer. just a hint the slides are on the site that the course send you too. that will help with tables