Chevron Left
Back to Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.9
stars
2,671 ratings
837 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 17, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

CT
Aug 22, 2020

This was so much fun, so satisfying and I learned a lot. I'm a software engineer. We do so much work in high-level languages that it's great to be reminded how computing machinery gets the job done.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 827 Reviews for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

By Trang L H

Aug 23, 2020

A very challenging but rewarding course. Give you a hand-on experience about low level machine language and how they're all connected

By Simon J

May 24, 2020

The course is excellent. Well structured, well paced. It taught someone who has been in the industry for many years some new tricks.

By Wilson R d A

Nov 4, 2016

Amazing course, with the perfect ratio between depth and abstraction. For me the computer is no longer a magic box that does tricks.

By Henrique S C

Sep 3, 2016

Fantastic course. I recommend it to anyone who not only want to know how a computer works, but want to build one out of transistors.

By Joao C

Feb 7, 2021

Really loved doing this course, I finally understood basic concepts of how computers work and having to replicate was so important.

By Richard J

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent course. Highly recommended to anyone into Computers and wishing to gain a deeper understanding of how it 'does its thang'

By knig

Jan 26, 2019

Awesome well explained course with super cool assignments! <3 it and will take the second part of the course as soon as I have time

By Юрий

May 18, 2017

This course is magnificent! Got tons of fun and knowledge! It hard and challenging. I'll recommend this course to all, who learn CS

By Jani P

Feb 26, 2020

This is one of the best courses that I have ever taken. The course will challenge you but you will at the same time learn so much!

By Mark

Jul 16, 2017

A very well put together course with excellent course materials. Thank you Noam, Shimon, and the team -- I learnt loads from this.

By Serjey G I

Oct 18, 2016

Fantastic course! Everything you've ever wanted to know about the computer is taught here! Cannot wait to start the second part!!!

By Flermflorm

Jun 15, 2020

Seeing what's going on under the hood makes life so much easier! This was an absolute godsend, thank you for putting it together.

By Michael A M

Mar 21, 2020

I can't describe how great this course was. For anyone wanting to learn how your computer actually works. This course is perfect.

By Nenad S

Jun 9, 2019

I loved this course, thanks to the instructors who paid great attention to details and made sure that every question is answered!

By Jarryd F

May 9, 2018

I have learnt so much more about the about how computers understand our written code and how much work goes on behind the scenes.

By Amandeep S

Aug 3, 2018

It is the best course i can think to know about computer from basics and how it works. I am thankful to the team of this course.

By Meng Y

Oct 8, 2016

I have never wondered building a computer by simple logical elements until I found this course!

This course is simple and funny.

By Shailendra B

Apr 13, 2020

This is a really good course even for professionals who have drifted away from internals in due course. A great way to refresh.

By Anirudh

Oct 14, 2018

Amazing course. The instructors are clear and have concise explanations. Must - do course for all aspiring software engineers!

By Piotr G

Apr 12, 2018

Great course, highly recommend it to get to know how computers work on a low level. It helped me become a better programmer.

By Henrique d F

Feb 28, 2021

Excellent course. Challenging, yet focused on transmitting intuitive concepts. Very much looking forward to taking part 2.

By Gedas L

Aug 20, 2020

This has been a fantastic journey to the inside of the computer! Can't wait to get my hands dirty with the part 2. Thanks!

By sri p p

Nov 11, 2019

I really loved this course, it helped me to get a better understanding of what's happening under the hood of the computer.

By 冯炜

Apr 27, 2017

可以的,简单有趣,但是如果需要细致的了解计算机,还是学习csapp或者之类的课程比较好

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

上了NJU的计算机系统课之后。我回来把这门课改成了五分。。感谢老师

By Thibault J

Apr 16, 2017

Ce cours est très intéressant, et c'est fabuleux de construire un ordinateur complet à partir d'un seul composant unique !