Chevron Left
Back to Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.9
stars
2,750 ratings
864 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 17, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

CT
Aug 22, 2020

This was so much fun, so satisfying and I learned a lot. I'm a software engineer. We do so much work in high-level languages that it's great to be reminded how computing machinery gets the job done.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 854 Reviews for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

By Juan S

Mar 3, 2016

Excellent best online course ever, very didactic an fun. It motivates you to continue learning and complete the course

By Marek N

Mar 18, 2020

Great course. One can build a working computer from nothing (well, almost) and without soldering. Highly recommended.

By Erik T

May 13, 2018

This course was great fun. And I learnd so much. I recommend the course if you are interested in how a computer work.

By Ashish R M

Aug 15, 2017

Amazing Course!!! Sums up one semester worth of engineering which actually helps you understand how a computer works.

By Cian M

Feb 13, 2017

I would highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to challenge themselves to learn how computers _really_ work.

By Alex M

Feb 21, 2019

A fun and interesting course that guides students through the workings of computers at the most fundamental levels.

By Hermawan M

Oct 11, 2018

Very good course! I learned a lot. The assessments require some thought and are not just multiple choice questions.

By Daniele I

Sep 4, 2020

I couldn't find any better course this that to start learning what is inside a computer. Challenging but so great!

By Shay L

Mar 21, 2020

a great course.

makes you really understand the inside of the computer, and the how software controls the hardware.

By Yusaku S

Sep 8, 2017

The instructors have done a fantastic job of coming up with the course material that is easy to follow. No fluff!

By Son D

Jun 24, 2016

One of the best course on introduction to computer. Easy to follow. Well documented problem sets and instructions.

By Alex W

Nov 7, 2020

it is a fantastic course as it shows me the whole thing under the ground and walk me through all of the details.

By Daniel S

Jul 25, 2019

Excellent Course ! one of the best here in Coursera. you can learn HDL, Assembly and CPU architecture in 6 weeks

By Artun K

May 25, 2017

Excellent course with great projects and guidance. I learned everything I was hoping to and more in this course.

By Ken G

Feb 23, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, about hardware and computers. It will really help me with future programming.

By Ian

Oct 3, 2017

A wonderful course. If you ever wondered "how does a computer work?" this course can help answer that question.

By Marco M

Jun 29, 2020

Loved this course. The instructors are very knowledgeable and the material was fun, challenging, and engaging.

By Néstor G

Feb 22, 2020

Excelente, los docentes diseñaron una computadora de 16 bits solamente para enseñar como funciona. Amazing!!!

By Timothy D

Aug 17, 2017

Loved this course, would do it again and recommend to others. I learned quite a lot about how computers work.

By Anton M

Mar 22, 2019

Straightforward, yet engaging and informative. Would be so cool to have it as curriculum in every highschool

By Wen-Jie T

Mar 31, 2016

This is a course makes people learn what was actually happening in the computer. It inspires me profoundly.

By Guna R

Dec 25, 2020

The course was good. The heart of the course is projects which make the course next level of understanding

By Sebastian S

Sep 3, 2020

This was one of the most fascinating courses I've been taking during my entire carreer. Thank you so much!

By Anuj N

Aug 2, 2020

The best course available.

I am so thankful to the instructor's who made this wonderful course.

Thank you.

By Abin M

Aug 25, 2019

Excellent course which will help you to stitch various undergraduate courses in computer science together.