Chevron Left
Back to Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.9
stars
2,851 ratings
896 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

AI
Jun 13, 2021

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

RD
May 22, 2021

Thanks to the instructors for bringing forth such an amazing course. The way the course is strucured makes it very interesting and easy to learn. Loved and enjoyed the course and learnt a lot from it

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 890 Reviews for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

By Chase F

Jun 9, 2021

T​his course was awesome! It was fun and also challenging taking the concepts and then using them to build a functioning computer. Can't wait for part two!

By Luke K

Aug 13, 2019

I found the course to be really approachable, no matter your background. For me it filled in a few gaps and the weekly assignments concreted the knowledge.

By Ayush A

Aug 24, 2019

An excellent course for each CS student and everyone working with computers. The learning material is just brilliant, thanks to the most amazing teachers!

By Ezra S

Mar 7, 2016

This is the best MOOC I have ever taken & it competes with brick & mortar courses. It is a truly *amazing* MOOC and I cannot wait until Part II comes out.

By Jr. K

Jul 4, 2018

Really good course. You will learn how to actually build your own computer. The projects can take some time,yes .But its quite rewarding. Do check it out

By Rahul R

Sep 19, 2017

Great hands on course for beginners! Videos are very concise and thorough and the discussion forums are extremely helpful for getting through projects!

By Pravesh P

Jul 1, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever taken. The way they teach you to virtually create a computer is magical. Make you feel like you can create anything.

By Lothar N

Jan 13, 2021

The course is extremely well organized, fun, engaging, and does an excellent job at teaching the basics of computer architecture. Highly recommended!

By James H

Dec 1, 2020

Amazing course for understanding how computers work. The projects are challenging, but achievable, and lead to a deep understanding of the material.

By Livio G

Aug 3, 2020

The course is excellent. great videos, enjoyable projects. Some little and negligible issues with the tools, but nothing really bad.

Highly suggested

By Tommaso P

Jan 17, 2020

Excellent course. Instructors are very clear and all material is absolutely a delight to read. The projects are fun and complement well the theory.

By Gabriel F F

Aug 27, 2017

Really interesting course with amazing content. Had a lot of fun during the 6 weeks of this first part and I'm looking forward doing the next part!

By Lincoln A

Jul 2, 2017

This is the best course that I have ever taken. Every step of the way you are pushed further and further. Soon, you have been pushed to a computer.

By Nikita S

Mar 8, 2018

That was a very good course which helped a lot to understand how does exactly computer insides are working. Great starting point for any beginner.

By SATYA K R

May 11, 2020

A Very useful and inciting course based on one of the great inventions by man. Got my curiosity related to computers satisified with this course.

By David L

Feb 14, 2017

Amazing course, I really enjoyed it, I recommend to all who wish to understand better about the computational architecture from its foundation.

By Yao-Ting L

Apr 23, 2016

I think this is one of the BEST class on coursera.

Instructors use a very efficient and easy way to teach the essence of computer architecture.

By Dave A

Dec 7, 2020

This was a great course! To go from building basic logic gates to writing an assembler for a computer that I built, in less than 6 weeks, wow!

By Ian W

Apr 21, 2019

Wow what an amazing course, very good lectures, very good curriculum. One of the best courses I've taken even including my 5 years at college.

By Jonathan L K

May 2, 2021

This course provided an incredible insight into how computers work, from microarchitecture to architecture to assembly programming. Amazing.

By w w

Jul 8, 2020

it is an execllent course, full of joy.

and I recommed the author to develop a more deep courses cover a modern cpu design and a unix like os

By David G C

May 13, 2020

Me hizo cambiar la manera de ver la enseñanza.

Muchas Gracias gracias a los profesores Shimon y Noam, así como su equipo de colaboradores.

By Liu X

Nov 1, 2019

This is the best basic computer lessons I have ever entered. When I finished building a hack computer, I felt proud and exited. Thank you!

By Itai S

May 20, 2018

As a seasoned programmer I took the course with my 16 years old son and we both got a deep low-level knowledge and an amazing experience.

By Antoine N

Oct 8, 2016

It was a great experience building a computer hardware from first principles. I am wondering if I can build this architecture on an FPGA@