Chevron Left
Back to Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) by Hebrew University of Jerusalem

4.9
stars
2,814 ratings
880 reviews

About the Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Top reviews

RD
May 22, 2021

Thanks to the instructors for bringing forth such an amazing course. The way the course is strucured makes it very interesting and easy to learn. Loved and enjoyed the course and learnt a lot from it

MM
Feb 17, 2017

An excellent course provided by phenomenal professors! Everything is broken down into simple, easily understandable portions, and leaves you with a clear idea how to proceed to solve a given problem.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 873 Reviews for Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)

By Lexter S

May 2, 2021

Amazing course! I learned a lot. A bit of a downside: It is much harder than you might think if you are not in a STEM background. Getting my head wrapped around the binary inputs and outputs is driving me crazy. But to finish it is very rewarding!

By Ben D

Aug 15, 2020

A thoroughly enriching and illuminating tour of the fundamentals of computation. After completing this course I am now able to better understand how computers function which provides a tangible benefit when writing software.

By Kit B

Nov 21, 2019

I've really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun and I'm looking forward to part 2.

It can be a little tough to simply write HDL though and without the Nand Game (nandgame.com) I would have found this much more difficult.

By Manogna

Apr 6, 2017

The course was very informative and interesting , I had a tough time doing the assignments but it was worth learning.Definitely a interesting insight into the building blocks of a computer.

By Aniswar S K

May 19, 2019

Great course to know about the fundamentals about the hardware of the computer is built. Though most of it is abstracted out, you still get a better picture than just doing programming

By Sanjeev S

Aug 17, 2016

one of the best courses one can take to understand how computers are build from ground up

The course is organized in such a way such that its very easy to understand and relate

By Edwin H

Nov 20, 2016

Fun course to take. Makes you realize how much we depend on abstraction in our world. A few notes on documentation (your own code) and version-control would complete it...

By Jonathan G

May 27, 2021

Very informative book, although does not seem to go into great depth. The projects were not super difficult either. A great way to start learning how computers work.

By Sergio J G O

Apr 19, 2021

Muy interesante, me gustó mucho. Sin embargo, siento que en las tareas más difíciles debería haber otro tipo de apoyo. Pero en general, excelente curso.

By PLN R

Feb 15, 2019

It is an amazing course for people at any level!! The instructors go right from basics, until the high level stuff. Definitely recommend the course!

By R.L C

Feb 13, 2017

participation by the professors in the discussion forums , would in my opinion get this 5 star rating, overall a very innovative & fun course

By Wyler Z

Sep 24, 2017

Good, but not very challenging. If you wanted to learn you could but if you were just doing it for the grade you could skate by.

By Luís F A M

Nov 29, 2020

I wish the memory part was a little bit deeper and that we developped the registers from the nand chip as well

By Edniz L d S

Oct 11, 2020

Falta os textos dos vídeos em português do Brasil.

The texts of the videos in Brazilian Portuguese are missing.

By Ehud K

Feb 2, 2017

very interesting, constructed well and in escalating difficulty level.

cons: hard to debug using the emulators

By Fabrice B M

May 31, 2017

I loved how you guys explain things and make them look very simple...that is awesome! Keep up the great work

By Lee G

Sep 8, 2017

Good course, very challenging. I find the resources to be a little bit outdated in their presentation.

By Axel B

Jul 27, 2020

Un très bon cours, même pour quelqu'un de familier avec la logique et l'électronique numérique

By Prudhvi V R M

May 7, 2021

A Great course, which gives you the best way of introduction to building a computer.

By Hebert B

May 18, 2020

It will be free to send homework! in some parts of the course i can't send anywork

By Tony Z

Jul 30, 2018

The course is well-organized. Could be too elementary for advanced participants.

By Pablo J R Y

Aug 29, 2020

Es un buen curso para iniciar el entendimiento de como funciona un computador.

By Stefan O

Jun 4, 2020

Nice course, covers pretty much all the basics of computer architectures

By Ganapathi s

Oct 23, 2016

nice lecture to know someting about the elctronics ...thanks...

By Dhruv K

Aug 13, 2016

Really good one. Would be 5 stars if there was better support.