Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,511 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Paul M

May 16, 2017

Good course; enjoyed the content; learned quite a bit, although the management elements for pretty basic management tasks.

By Nilay B

Dec 18, 2016

Material presented was succinct and easily understandable.

By Juliana A

Jul 12, 2017

Very informative but a bit repetitive ate some points.

By Brian N

Apr 11, 2018

Good for introduction in Data Science

By Christopher L

Apr 25, 2018

Good introduction.

By Onur G

Apr 02, 2018

It covers all the essentials

By Supriya M

Mar 12, 2018

Excellent Introduction.

By JOSEPH A

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent content - delivery could be improved somewhat but happy overall. Lots of practical advice relevant to the job and team dynamics. Read the supplementary material/links

By Ruchit G

Mar 19, 2018

Good overview and learning on how to build data science teams

By Hrishikesh

Dec 25, 2016

Excellent Certification course on Team and deliverable management related to Data Science.

By Ramkumar

Jun 27, 2017

Great one

By Siddharth M

Mar 11, 2017

This course was much better than the previous one in the series.

By SIVA A M

Oct 14, 2015

Topics are explained pretty good

By Miomir Z

Jun 30, 2017

Data science part was very valuable to me while some basics of people management are just basic. Overall solid course that i would recommend. More advance/modern/popular tools such as coaching and shared leadership were missing to make it 5 stars.

Best,

Miomir

By Diego S

Oct 04, 2016

This course gave me good insight about building a data science team that can be easily related to my work environment.

By Scott K

Oct 11, 2015

Good overview of the different roles and skills needed for the roles of a data science team.

By bruce b

Jul 29, 2016

good insights and ways to avoid problems in building and importantly advertising your team

By Sourav P

Feb 27, 2018

Good course

By Ankush B

Nov 04, 2015

Covers theory of basics for building the team very well.

By HYUN K

Mar 14, 2016

This class had hard quiz.

Sometimes it seemed very basic, but some are hard unless you read and learn really well. Great class/knowledge. Practical real-life examples help.

By John H

Sep 29, 2015

Good coverage in a very fast intro to the subject. Definitely take away some things I am able to put into use in my work. I get the feeling this is quite a new course (compared with the very well established Data Science Specialization) and does not have the student interaction base yet. I hope this aspect develops - perhaps even with the TAs. For this level course student interaction could be even more valuable than the more hands on data science subjects. Hope this specialization takes off as well as the DSS did!

By Pascal N

Nov 19, 2015

Ver good with clear and on point material. I would suggest to include real life stories of success and failure some managers had in building a data science team, and discuss about the mistakes or the strengths of their recruitment process.

By Poul H N

Jan 27, 2018

Nice view from the top input regarding the issues facing performing data science on a daily basis.

By Luis C

Feb 16, 2016

A good overview on how to build and manage data science teams.

By Alfredo P J

Jan 13, 2018

Great summary of mangement a Data Science Team!-. Includes roles on multiple entrepreneur configurations depending on size.