Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
3,093 ratings
429 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN
Dec 14, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

SM
Jan 14, 2021

Very well organized. Might consider adding couple of additional speakers with with more executive and management level experience with organizations that successfully implemented Data Science.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 422 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Charissa B

Nov 3, 2020

Really helpful for a manager of a data science team. Not overly technical for those without a data science background. Would certainly recommend to those in management positions who need to get up to speed on data science and managing teams involved with this discipline.

By VIDHYAMBIKA S

Jul 25, 2020

A Very useful course and is recommended for leaders, entrepreneurs who plan to organise and manage a data science team in their company also recommended to all students who plan to become a data science manager or want to just know what makes a datascience team

By Miomir Z

Jun 30, 2017

Data science part was very valuable to me while some basics of people management are just basic. Overall solid course that i would recommend. More advance/modern/popular tools such as coaching and shared leadership were missing to make it 5 stars.

Best,

Miomir

By Pascal N

Nov 18, 2015

Ver good with clear and on point material. I would suggest to include real life stories of success and failure some managers had in building a data science team, and discuss about the mistakes or the strengths of their recruitment process.

By Olga W

Aug 4, 2020

Mostly relevant information and useful pointers for a quick introduction. Since I am already managing a data science team for over 2 years, I was looking for more in-depth insights and advice on solving a variety of problems.

By Matthias L

Aug 11, 2017

It was a great overview of the different roles and also the interfaces between people and different teams. Nice to see that culture and communication were seriously discussed, showing awareness for organisational theory!

By Carlos A H

Jun 15, 2019

Excellent insight and guidance on essential practices in building a data science team. Area of improvement is emphasizing python more than R as python has become the preferred programming language in data science.

By Julien N

Feb 20, 2018

Nice explications of a data science team, its players and how they interact within their team and the other departments of their organisation.

The Capstone project is the perfect application of this class

By prasanna v

Jan 23, 2017

Good overview of forming Data science team. The challenges are typical of any SDLC project. However I was looking to glean some specific challenges between DSc team and product or marketing teams.

By Maxim S

Dec 4, 2020

Quizes contain mistakes, some of them did not accept answers which are definitely right (as it was told ithe lectures). Some mistake were not improved since 2015, according to threads from forum.

By Ryan V

May 22, 2016

Good but should come after the Managing Data Analysis for understanding better what the people you hire are actually going to do. Preventing the "Dilbertification" of the data science manager.

By Clifton d L

Nov 21, 2017

I found this course useful, especially the hints regarding a code of conduct for Data teams and the interactions with other teams. Also a good refresher on general team-leadership/management.

By JOSEPH A

Apr 16, 2018

Excellent content - delivery could be improved somewhat but happy overall. Lots of practical advice relevant to the job and team dynamics. Read the supplementary material/links

By Vaughan W

Jan 31, 2017

Good overview of the roles and skills needed, but loses a little momentum when it gets into the team management side of things, which is covered in many other business courses.

By Ravi K S

Apr 4, 2018

1 start less because of the ever-confusing quiz questions. Hit and trials make you go mad, and insance when you figure out the correct answer that you couldn't have imagined.

By HYUN K

Mar 14, 2016

This class had hard quiz.

Sometimes it seemed very basic, but some are hard unless you read and learn really well. Great class/knowledge. Practical real-life examples help.

By Jeffrey M S

Aug 15, 2017

This course had a lot of practical, helpful guidelines for managing technology professionals in general, in addition to specific pointers for managing a data science team.

By Gopal I

Sep 3, 2018

Team building is common. Could have cited examples of skill sets needed and how to keep track of changing industry and academia needs for building a team

By Sergey V

Feb 13, 2018

Most of what has been said can be applied for building Software Engineering Team. Nothing special if you have experience in managing Software Engineers.

By Dan O

Apr 24, 2016

Useful information indeed, but still running into some disconnects between the course material and the tests, which is definitely very frustrating.

By Shriniwas S U

May 19, 2020

Basic course of DS and I think its not that much effective for those who are already did some basic courses on data science.

Good for very beginner

By MANJEET K

Jun 18, 2020

It was fun and help me understand and enlighten me on how the team works and what is the problem we have to tackle within and outside the team.

By Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Gives a good idea of the roles required to build a competent team, dispelling the myth of the all encompassing data science guru

By Alfredo P J

Jan 13, 2018

Great summary of mangement a Data Science Team!-. Includes roles on multiple entrepreneur configurations depending on size.

By Ben G

Apr 6, 2017

Some of the multiple choice questions are _really_ more opinion than fact - making it almost impossible to get them "right"