Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,511 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Muhd A

Oct 28, 2018

Thank you for providing such a great platform.

By ELINGUI P U

Oct 30, 2018

Good course for Data Scientist manager, I fully recommend it

By Sarwono S

Nov 14, 2018

Very good lesson

By sateesh

Dec 16, 2015

Great Course, Loved it.

By Andre G G

Mar 06, 2017

Must do it! Really good!

By chandrasekharan

May 23, 2017

Excellent course!!.Really liked it

By Muhammed G

Nov 05, 2016

Hi everyone !

It is my honor to appreciate what I learnt from this course. I love it,the university,and the instructors. It is a step forward for my carrier.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent overview of the structure and dynamics of data science teams in various types of organizations.

By Craig O

Jun 19, 2017

Great overview of current approaches to management of data science/engineering professionals.

By Michael F

Jan 18, 2018

nice, easy to follow introduction and guidlines to the topic

By william K

Dec 27, 2016

G

By ABDALRAHIM A

Jan 06, 2018

Very Important with Managing Data Analysis course

By SOM D M

Feb 21, 2017

A quick and Great introduction on building effective Teams

By suresh

Dec 04, 2016

very informative with practical inputs.

By Ubirajara A T S

Nov 24, 2015

Very good and interesting course, I recommend!

By Gary L

Jan 09, 2016

Great overview of building a data science team

By Rodrigo N

Mar 19, 2017

A nice course, and very helpful!

By Jason J

Feb 14, 2018

Great overview of team roles / responsibilities, how the team can "fit" into the organization, and how to handle engagement with non data community

By David S

Feb 11, 2017

Very well documented and presented. I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By humbert.sch@gmail.com

May 01, 2017

Excellent!

By Damon R

Sep 26, 2016

Thanks

By Dimitrios L

Mar 19, 2018

really helpful since i found many occasions that i can use this course's material for my organization

By Scott L

Dec 04, 2017

Super helpful information that is not really found anywhere right now.

By sudhakar c

Sep 16, 2016

Lectures are very brief and concepts that were delivered will surely help Data Science Managers in

their profession.

By mark g

Jan 16, 2017

For those non technical coming to the subje