Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,541 ratings
339 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 332 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Mirza A b

Jul 23, 2017

Excellent experience

By Kiru M N

Aug 19, 2017

Very Informative

By Elia B

Apr 10, 2016

Very informative

By Isaiah M

Jun 19, 2016

Very challenging and practical

By Claudia Z

May 06, 2017

Great course, I have learned a lot!

By LeAndria C

Sep 28, 2015

G

By Gary L

Jan 09, 2016

Great overview of building a data science team

By suresh

Dec 04, 2016

very informative with practical inputs.

By Ubirajara A T S

Nov 24, 2015

Very good and interesting course, I recommend!

By Rodrigo N

Mar 19, 2017

A nice course, and very helpful!

By Deleted A

Aug 08, 2016

Good course

By Piyapong B

Dec 05, 2016

Very informative course on building a data science team!

By Paul F

Jan 05, 2018

Excellent overview of the data science team

By Pablo A L

Feb 08, 2016

Superb!

By claudio

Aug 12, 2016

Very clearly presented!

By William G

Jan 09, 2018

This course gave me a good understanding and helpful tips on how to deal with a professional team to keep them motivated and increase productivity

By Olayiwola T

Nov 08, 2016

The mode of teaching was interesting and I hope you can do better in the area of providing answers to questions we missed after the course. Thanks for the opportunity given to me.

By Chris J C

Jan 17, 2018

Pretty engaging class.

By Sateesh K R

Mar 10, 2016

Excellent Course for everyone keen to learn data science.

By Ivan D

Oct 08, 2016

Good and useful material

By ranjan k

Sep 26, 2017

Very good course for any manager how to handle and manage team. It not only apply data science team but in general team management as well.

By nansan02@gmail.com

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

By Dimitrios L

Mar 19, 2018

really helpful since i found many occasions that i can use this course's material for my organization

By Scott L

Dec 04, 2017

Super helpful information that is not really found anywhere right now.

By sudhakar c

Sep 16, 2016

Lectures are very brief and concepts that were delivered will surely help Data Science Managers in

their profession.