Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,569 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Muhd A

Oct 28, 2018

Thank you for providing such a great platform.

By ELINGUI P U

Oct 30, 2018

Good course for Data Scientist manager, I fully recommend it

By RAJANIPOTTURI

Sep 30, 2018

Very good course. Narrated team building process in easy steps.

By William R

Aug 20, 2018

Excellent Instructor

By Tan L

Nov 28, 2018

Learn a lot! Thanks so much!

By Omid F

May 10, 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent course.

Best Regards

Omid Faseli

By Priyanka F P

Apr 14, 2019

Excellent technical information!

By Ashish L

Apr 20, 2019

Very nice overview of how to build a Data Science Team.

By Penny A B

Jun 17, 2019

Informative and worth your time especially if you lack HR knowledge.

By Paul T R

Jun 19, 2019

Very useful - real world insight

By Paulo B M d S

Jul 05, 2019

Excelent combination between management and data science.

By Le T P T

Jul 08, 2019

very good scoure

By Christos R

Jun 02, 2019

Very nice course, highly recommended

By Abhishek V K

Jul 22, 2019

This is an excellent course for those who want to conceptualize a Data Science role or team for their organizations. The course not only explains the roles played by a data scientist, data engineer and data science manager, but also cover the intricacies working with the data science team. Their interaction with othe

By Nitin S M

Jul 29, 2019

thanks

By SagarSrinivas

Oct 02, 2017

Good Course!

By Ivan D

Oct 25, 2019

It was really helpful, useful and give me a lot of pleasure to listen.

By Gregory L

Nov 27, 2019

Great overview course on the subject

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent overview of the structure and dynamics of data science teams in various types of organizations.

By Andres J

Nov 07, 2019

Effective. Quick and to the point.

By Ramy M

Oct 04, 2015

Thanks for your efforts, I can't put my hand on something specifically and say good job! but you did a great job! thanks for sharing your knowledge for everyone on earth without any complication!

You have taught me a lot and I own you a lot!

By Sarwono S

Nov 14, 2018

Very good lesson

By ANNE G S

Mar 18, 2019

I found the subject matter well-presented. The content is actionable and the instructor engaging.

By Jose A R N

Sep 30, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

By Wladimir R

Aug 26, 2018

VERY GOOD COURSE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.