Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
3,146 ratings
435 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN
Dec 14, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

SM
Jan 14, 2021

Very well organized. Might consider adding couple of additional speakers with with more executive and management level experience with organizations that successfully implemented Data Science.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 429 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Zeev G

Mar 13, 2017

very good course for beginners, in my case I built the same team and processes by heart and it matched the suggestions in this course

By Y R S

Apr 22, 2018

It was a good refresher for me on management strategies and learn specifically Data Science team related people management topics.

By Piet-Hein G

Jan 9, 2019

Really insightful, touching on a wide variety of subjects that are relevant to building a data science team. Thank you very much.

By Alvaro S R

Jul 20, 2018

Very useful course given a very good overview of the tasks, profiles and skills you need to build and manage a data science team.

By Kshitij G

Feb 28, 2016

Precise and relevant, and gets one into the groove ethically and practically , on the nuances of on-line learning and ettiquette.

By Evangelos T

Aug 27, 2017

Great insight into how to build a data science team beyond common management issues that typically apply to team management.

By Daniel M M

Aug 24, 2017

Very useful. Practical orientation and general team management practices well translated to data science projects and teams.

By Juan F C V

Jul 19, 2020

Very fulfilling human centered course, giving valueable insights on how to achieve success on managing a data science team.

By Sylvia M

Jun 4, 2017

Excellent course with the right amount of detail. Examples were directly applicable and additional resources are a bonus.

By Michael B

Sep 4, 2017

Clear and concise guidelines on what to consider when building and managing a high performing data science organization.

By Laurie J P

Jan 25, 2017

Excellent lecturer and the topic focuses on issues specific to data science teams rather than general business practice.

By Omar Z

Apr 9, 2019

Great overview and insight into the effective ways of building and managing a data science team within an organization.

By Ramon B

Nov 13, 2020

Awesome courses

An insightful overview of how to build an effective Data Science team. Really enjoyed it and not boring

By Federico Z

Apr 26, 2018

Excelente la organización de las clases. Ejemplos claros que sirven para fortalecer la parte más conceptual del curso.

By Victor D R L

Jan 17, 2020

Very good Training, there is great material and aspects that are very important to manage a team. Highly recommended.

By Brooks K

Aug 3, 2017

Good overview of the essential parts of a data science team, how to recruit them, and how to manage them effectively.

By Paul H

Jan 4, 2017

Great overview, lots of useful tips, and an interesting angle to approach data science that i was not well versed in.

By sudhakar c

Sep 15, 2016

Lectures are very brief and concepts that were delivered will surely help Data Science Managers in

their profession.

By Michael A L

Mar 16, 2018

Team builders of all stripes can benefit from the insights imparted in this course, not just data science groups.

By Mukesh R

Jul 3, 2017

This course proved very useful to me as I am in the process of setting up a data science team for my customer.

By Francesco I

Jun 4, 2017

Excellent!!! I learned a lot, the videos are explanatory and very clear. I would warmly recommend this course

By Mahesh A

Aug 12, 2017

An excellent course. The different roles in a data science team and the challenges faced are well explained.

By Christos G

Aug 25, 2017

Well thought and communicated, concise and punctual. Great experience, excellent value for time invested.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2016

Excellent overview of the structure and dynamics of data science teams in various types of organizations.

By Aedrian A

Jan 13, 2021

This is a good introduction to the structure and function of group members in a data science endeavor.