Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,511 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Ravi K S

Apr 04, 2018

1 start less because of the ever-confusing quiz questions. Hit and trials make you go mad, and insance when you figure out the correct answer that you couldn't have imagined.

By VERONICA C

Sep 16, 2017

Great ad

By Matthias L

Aug 11, 2017

It was a great overview of the different roles and also the interfaces between people and different teams. Nice to see that culture and communication were seriously discussed, showing awareness for organisational theory!

By Usman A

Jan 17, 2018

There are too many variations in how teams get built, recruited and ramped up.

By Ruchit G

Mar 19, 2018

Good overview and learning on how to build data science teams

By SIVA A M

Oct 14, 2015

Topics are explained pretty good

By Matheus R

Feb 06, 2016

Good overview on the roles and how to align expectations.

By Anand P

Jan 21, 2017

Very useful for learners who do not have a background in Data Science or, Software engineering

By Richard B

Jul 19, 2017

really good practical content

By Hrishikesh

Dec 25, 2016

Excellent Certification course on Team and deliverable management related to Data Science.

By Scott K

Oct 11, 2015

Good overview of the different roles and skills needed for the roles of a data science team.

By Siddharth M

Mar 11, 2017

This course was much better than the previous one in the series.

By Ankush B

Nov 04, 2015

Covers theory of basics for building the team very well.

By HYUN K

Mar 14, 2016

This class had hard quiz.

Sometimes it seemed very basic, but some are hard unless you read and learn really well. Great class/knowledge. Practical real-life examples help.

By Vaughan W

Jan 31, 2017

Good overview of the roles and skills needed, but loses a little momentum when it gets into the team management side of things, which is covered in many other business courses.

By Stephanie G

May 21, 2018

A brush up on management 101 with a data twist

By Diego S

Oct 04, 2016

This course gave me good insight about building a data science team that can be easily related to my work environment.

By Sourav P

Feb 27, 2018

Good course

By Guy B

Feb 12, 2016

Gives a good idea of the roles required to build a competent team, dispelling the myth of the all encompassing data science guru

By Ramkumar

Jun 27, 2017

Great one

By Pascal N

Nov 19, 2015

Ver good with clear and on point material. I would suggest to include real life stories of success and failure some managers had in building a data science team, and discuss about the mistakes or the strengths of their recruitment process.

By John H

Sep 29, 2015

Good coverage in a very fast intro to the subject. Definitely take away some things I am able to put into use in my work. I get the feeling this is quite a new course (compared with the very well established Data Science Specialization) and does not have the student interaction base yet. I hope this aspect develops - perhaps even with the TAs. For this level course student interaction could be even more valuable than the more hands on data science subjects. Hope this specialization takes off as well as the DSS did!

By bruce b

Jul 29, 2016

good insights and ways to avoid problems in building and importantly advertising your team

By Poul H N

Jan 27, 2018

Nice view from the top input regarding the issues facing performing data science on a daily basis.

By Clifton d L

Nov 21, 2017

I found this course useful, especially the hints regarding a code of conduct for Data teams and the interactions with other teams. Also a good refresher on general team-leadership/management.