Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,569 ratings
341 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 334 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By chandrasekharan

May 23, 2017

Excellent course!!.Really liked it

By Muhammed G

Nov 05, 2016

Hi everyone !

It is my honor to appreciate what I learnt from this course. I love it,the university,and the instructors. It is a step forward for my carrier.

By Craig O

Jun 19, 2017

Great overview of current approaches to management of data science/engineering professionals.

By william K

Dec 27, 2016

G

By ABDALRAHIM A

Jan 06, 2018

Very Important with Managing Data Analysis course

By suresh

Dec 04, 2016

very informative with practical inputs.

By Ubirajara A T S

Nov 24, 2015

Very good and interesting course, I recommend!

By Gary L

Jan 09, 2016

Great overview of building a data science team

By David S

Feb 11, 2017

Very well documented and presented. I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By humbert.sch@gmail.com

May 01, 2017

Excellent!

By Damon R

Sep 26, 2016

Thanks

By Dimitrios L

Mar 19, 2018

really helpful since i found many occasions that i can use this course's material for my organization

By sudhakar c

Sep 16, 2016

Lectures are very brief and concepts that were delivered will surely help Data Science Managers in

their profession.

By mark g

Jan 16, 2017

For those non technical coming to the subje

By Antonia I

May 17, 2018

great course

By Debashis D

Jan 08, 2018

Good coverage regarding finer nuances of managing a Data Science team

By Robert W

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course for gaining a top-level understanding of how to build a Data Science team.

By mikkel B M

Sep 19, 2016

Great course!

By Pooja S

Jul 07, 2017

Great course material!

By Siddharth T

Apr 03, 2016

A very helpful course in understanding how the team composition should be and the typical Job descriptions of different members of the team.

By Samuel V

Feb 12, 2017

Jeff Leek is great, explains things in a very clear and understandable way. Loved the course.

By Teresa B

Mar 24, 2016

High level but with enough details and context to make sense of the manager/exec/director's role in data science or the enterprise employing data science.

By chenneng007

Oct 22, 2017

SO GOOD

By Kshitij G

Feb 28, 2016

Precise and relevant, and gets one into the groove ethically and practically , on the nuances of on-line learning and ettiquette.

By Chris S

May 07, 2016

Great course