Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,513 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By austin v v

Apr 23, 2018

Simple and powerful, really well done.

By Ahmed T

Apr 25, 2017

Excellent

By Stephanie A

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent Instruction

By Nilanjan D

Apr 01, 2017

Good introduction to managing a team from the perspective of Data Science.

By bojana m

Jun 08, 2016

Well organized body of knowledge on how to build efficient data science team, from 0 to 60. Addresses a number of challenges including how to build an inter-disciplinary team, what to expect from practitioners from different disciplines, how to recognize right candidates, how to assign the right mix of practitioners to right business problems, how to cross-polinate the knowledge, how to keep feedback loops at professional level as it's fraught with potential for conflicting opinions, when to stop analysis, how to empower the team to initiate next iterations with business, common pitfalls and more. Worth every $ and all the time you'll spend on it.

By Jose A R N

Sep 30, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

By Piyapong B

Dec 05, 2016

Very informative course on building a data science team!

By Deleted A

Aug 08, 2016

Good course

By Gary L

Jan 09, 2016

Great overview of building a data science team

By William J W

Jun 20, 2018

What a great overview of a data science team and what it takes to build one. As a graduate with a MBA, concentration in DSBA, it took this course to really understand the makeup of a data science team and how to build one. I plan on meshing my understanding of how a business works with my newfound understanding of DS teams!

By Pablo A L

Feb 08, 2016

Superb!

By Paul F

Jan 05, 2018

Excellent overview of the data science team

By Antonia I

May 17, 2018

great course

By Brooks K

Aug 03, 2017

Good overview of the essential parts of a data science team, how to recruit them, and how to manage them effectively.

By Lisa K

Apr 15, 2016

Excellent Course and Series!

By mark g

Jan 16, 2017

For those non technical coming to the subje

By suresh

Dec 04, 2016

very informative with practical inputs.

By Rodrigo N

Mar 19, 2017

A nice course, and very helpful!

By Ubirajara A T S

Nov 24, 2015

Very good and interesting course, I recommend!

By Anand S

May 01, 2017

This class was a great introduction to the topic of building a data science team.

The material was practically oriented, cited a lot of relevant external sources (e.g., news articles about data science), and was easy to understand.

The production quality was excellent - easy to listen to, ready to follow the slides, and the questions immediately followed each short segment.

I would have preferred it if the Professor had gone through different examples of data scientist and data engineering resumes to show me what performers in each quintile look like and what signals distinguish members of each quintile from the higher or lower quintile. Apart from the signals, and interview questions used to elicit these signals, how would the ability levels be different.

By LeAndria C

Sep 28, 2015

G

By Sylvia M

Jun 05, 2017

Excellent course with the right amount of detail. Examples were directly applicable and additional resources are a bonus.

By Silvia T

May 01, 2018

Excellent course. Great presentations.

By Stephen L

Oct 04, 2015

I thought this course was great.

By Antonio P L

Sep 26, 2015

Great Course