Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
3,167 ratings
436 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN
Dec 14, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

SM
Jan 14, 2021

Very well organized. Might consider adding couple of additional speakers with with more executive and management level experience with organizations that successfully implemented Data Science.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 429 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Gautam R

May 1, 2020

Needed some real life case studies (from the market) - Like day-to-day issues and how it was resolved.

By Elton K

Dec 14, 2018

Interesting for a Non-Data Science Executive despite some minor spelling errors in video transcripts.

By Dimitrios L

Mar 19, 2018

really helpful since i found many occasions that i can use this course's material for my organization

By Olga A

Jan 18, 2017

Very good course! Thanks to it, i got an interest in developing my skills in Data Analysis further.

By Carolina D

Dec 28, 2020

All the topics are right on point... they reflect exactly what is happening in corporations today.

By ANNE G S

Mar 18, 2019

I found the subject matter well-presented. The content is actionable and the instructor engaging.

By Robert W

Nov 18, 2017

This is a great course for gaining a top-level understanding of how to build a Data Science team.

By Miguel Á

Dec 4, 2020

Proporciona una visión general muy útil como punto de partida para construir tu propio equipo.

By Liz H

Oct 15, 2017

good coverage of skills needed, what a manager of this type of team would need to look out for.

By Samuel V

Feb 11, 2017

Jeff Leek is great, explains things in a very clear and understandable way. Loved the course.

By Luis A

Mar 14, 2019

The Professors are world class and the courses provide a great overview of an emerging field.

By Craig O

Jun 18, 2017

Great overview of current approaches to management of data science/engineering professionals.

By Anupama B M

Oct 13, 2016

This course delivered all the materials the way I expected it to and was easy to understand.

By Nino G

Oct 27, 2020

Honestly, I liked this course very much. Ver well lead by instructor and intretsing topics.

By Diego B

Jan 26, 2019

It's a really good overview with severals useful tips and tricks on how to build our team!

By Olivier T

Apr 15, 2020

Really well created for executives who are not necessarily looking for data training.

By José L M A

Mar 3, 2019

Very good material. Concise and simple. It has been thoroughly worked out. Good job!

By Joseph S

Jul 16, 2017

Great Course. very helpful in my current assignment in leading a Data Science Team.

By Alma D V R

Nov 6, 2020

Permite entender las habilidades que debe de integrar el equipo de data science y

By Prasad S

Jul 11, 2020

Short and concise, yet covers all important areas of Building a Data Science Team

By Shabana S

Jun 18, 2018

super engaging, there's no extra fluff that's not applicable. a good use of time

By Danylo A

Jan 5, 2021

There is not so much other content on this topic, so that's why 5 start review.

By Elias I

May 22, 2020

present best practices in team building while specific to data science personel

By David I S

Mar 29, 2017

Very good overview , very interesting and with a very good management approach.

By Ning Z L

Mar 28, 2016

Easy to understanding the structure knowledge of building a data science team.