Chevron Left
Back to Building a Data Science Team

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Building a Data Science Team by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,511 ratings
336 reviews

About the Course

Data science is a team sport. As a data science executive it is your job to recruit, organize, and manage the team to success. In this one-week course, we will cover how you can find the right people to fill out your data science team, how to organize them to give them the best chance to feel empowered and successful, and how to manage your team as it grows. This is a focused course designed to rapidly get you up to speed on the process of building and managing a data science team. Our goal was to make this as convenient as possible for you without sacrificing any essential content. We've left the technical information aside so that you can focus on managing your team and moving it forward. After completing this course you will know. 1. The different roles in the data science team including data scientist and data engineer 2. How the data science team relates to other teams in an organization 3. What are the expected qualifications of different data science team members 4. Relevant questions for interviewing data scientists 5. How to manage the onboarding process for the team 6. How to guide data science teams to success 7. How to encourage and empower data science teams Commitment: 1 week of study, 4-6 hours Course cover image by JaredZammit. Creative Commons BY-SA. https://flic.kr/p/5vuWZz...
Highlights
Applicable teachings
(79 Reviews)
Brief, helpful lectures
(11 Reviews)

Top reviews

NN

Dec 15, 2017

This course was an exceptional experience where it introduces me to building a data science team, its challenges, nuances and also what kind of approach to take while building and sustaining the team.

JS

Mar 12, 2017

Extremely practical and essentially human, this was really interesting to better understand the different roles and how to help data science teams to work together, highly recommended

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 329 Reviews for Building a Data Science Team

By Claudia Z

May 06, 2017

Great course, I have learned a lot!

By Josue P

Jul 27, 2017

very useful information with excelent and enjoyable exposition

By bojana m

Jun 08, 2016

Well organized body of knowledge on how to build efficient data science team, from 0 to 60. Addresses a number of challenges including how to build an inter-disciplinary team, what to expect from practitioners from different disciplines, how to recognize right candidates, how to assign the right mix of practitioners to right business problems, how to cross-polinate the knowledge, how to keep feedback loops at professional level as it's fraught with potential for conflicting opinions, when to stop analysis, how to empower the team to initiate next iterations with business, common pitfalls and more. Worth every $ and all the time you'll spend on it.

By Ghada

Feb 14, 2016

Very enjoyable and useful.

By David I S

Mar 29, 2017

Very good overview , very interesting and with a very good management approach.

By Ananda M

Oct 06, 2015

Very good practical review of the composition of a data science team.

By Carlos J

Sep 20, 2017

Esta serie de cursos, es recomendable para iniciar en la carrera de Ciencia de Datos, conceptos claros, expuestos por catedráticos de primer nivel

By Deleted A

Aug 08, 2016

Good course

By Piyapong B

Dec 05, 2016

Very informative course on building a data science team!

By Sateesh K R

Mar 10, 2016

Excellent Course for everyone keen to learn data science.

By Ivan D

Oct 08, 2016

Good and useful material

By claudio

Aug 12, 2016

Very clearly presented!

By Michael A L

Mar 16, 2018

Team builders of all stripes can benefit from the insights imparted in this course, not just data science groups.

By William G

Jan 09, 2018

This course gave me a good understanding and helpful tips on how to deal with a professional team to keep them motivated and increase productivity

By Paul F

Jan 05, 2018

Excellent overview of the data science team

By Pablo A L

Feb 08, 2016

Superb!

By Lisa K

Apr 15, 2016

Excellent Course and Series!

By Brooks K

Aug 03, 2017

Good overview of the essential parts of a data science team, how to recruit them, and how to manage them effectively.

By Setia B

Nov 30, 2017

Great course to understand several different roles in data science team.

By William R

Aug 20, 2018

Excellent Instructor

By Alvaro S R

Jul 20, 2018

Very useful course given a very good overview of the tasks, profiles and skills you need to build and manage a data science team.

By NAVNEET S

Aug 07, 2018

Good to understand the basics

By Peter W

Oct 14, 2018

Excellent course. All leadership in organizations that are data-driven or taking steps towards being data driven should enroll to this course. The quizzes could be better though.

By Jose A R N

Sep 30, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career.

Please, take a look at my LinkedIn profile: https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

Regards

By Nupur B

Sep 30, 2015

Very Informative & Elaborate