Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Cancer Metastasis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Cancer Metastasis by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
1,914 ratings
432 reviews

About the Course

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying from cancer every year. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide, and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. Everyone has been, or will be touched by cancer in some way during their lifetime. Thanks to years of dedication and commitment to research we’ve made enormous advances in the prevention and treatment of cancer, But there is still a lot of work to be done. In this course, physicians and scientists at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine explain how cancer spreads or metastasizes. We’ll describe the major theories of metastasis and then describe the biology behind the steps in metastasis. The course also describes the major organs targeted by metastasis and describes how metastases harm the patient....

Top reviews

MS
Jul 1, 2020

A big thanks to John Hopkins University for this course the faculty of this university is one of the best faculty i have ever seen all things are much clear and confidential.\n\nOnce again Thanks.

RB
Feb 8, 2017

Good course, but why researchers whant to hold/control cancer in a human and not rebuild the destroyed mechanisms of autoregul;ation by genetic engeneering for example? That would be true cure.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 431 Reviews for Understanding Cancer Metastasis

By ceaser w s

Aug 24, 2018

great

By Natthakorn K

Sep 12, 2021

Well

By Liza U

Mar 1, 2021

nice

By Ms.G.Mijithra

Jun 11, 2020

Good

By ripe

Nov 30, 2017

Tr

By Funmilayo E

Jul 24, 2021

t

By Gerda S

May 23, 2018

V

By Paul H

Aug 25, 2017

I

By Deleted A

Aug 6, 2017

I would have enjoyed more in-depth descriptions of some of the particular processes and mechanisms described (ie, degradation of the ECM using MMPs), but I also realize that this course wasn't intended to contain that level of detail. There were a few quiz questions (about two to three in the whole course) with correct answers which I found questionable, but I am otherwise satisfied.

By Divya K

Sep 18, 2020

Loved the course! However, I did not feel it was for beginner's level, and needed some elaboration for some terms, especially for those who do not have a strong foundational knowledge of the human body in biological terms. Nevertheless, it was easy to follow along with and gave me a deeper understanding of cancer and how it metastasizes.

By Shweta

Jul 1, 2019

Hello

I found this course very informative, learned a lot of things. Surely this is gonna help me buid up knowledge in cancer biology. Prof K Pienta is an amzing teacher taught lectures very calmly and his colleagues did an amazing job. Thank you, would like to have to add experiments in the next courses.

By TRECY J

Sep 17, 2020

The course is designed for those who are new to the topic. It provided me to better understand the whole functioning of metastasis, which have been quite confusing to me before. I got all my doubts clear from this session and explained the reason for the hallmarks of cancer in a very simpler way.

By Manuel A O M

Feb 15, 2020

Besides I am slightly familiar within this field, I have gained a broader and deeper insight into the biology of metastasis. The course is well structured, complete and easy to follow the lessons. However, the questionnaire could have been a bit more challenging to test the acquired knowledge.

By robbie m

Aug 8, 2020

Close to the last part was hard. but, i knew i couldn't give up . Learning about cancer is triggering so many things. My sister died from a brain tumor and my mom had lung cancer. this class just reinforces the information that I'm learning and I am so happy I'm taking these classes.

By Ishaq A N

Sep 10, 2021

The course tutors have done justice to the subject area (Understanding cancer metastasis). The lectures are comprehend-able, instructive and scientific thought-provoking. I believe that i am not qualified and i have gathered the courage to pursue a career in cancer research.

By Suganthamala

May 6, 2020

its was really interesting. enjoyed learning through out the course. A lot thanks to the university and the resource persons. If it is credit based would be more useful. and one more suggestion the percentage gain can be reflected in the certificate.

By Sneha C

May 17, 2021

It helped me understand the pathology behind cancer metastasis and the various steps involved in the same. This course surely was helpful in understanding cancer and related mortality in a better way. It gave deep insights about cancer research.

By Mark

Mar 1, 2017

Thorough course on Metastasis that anyone can follow regardless of whether they have a background in medicine/science or not ; loses a star for locking access to the quizzes to non-paying coursetakers.

By Ali M M A F

Apr 18, 2020

very simple informative course about Cancer and its mets. how cancer migrate to organs and how it cause damage and some of definitions & theories that can simplify the whole process

By Karishma K

Feb 27, 2018

Short, concise, to the point, and yet slow enough that it was easy to understand, grasp and remember the knowledge that was being taught. Overall very enjoyable :)

By Md M I

May 6, 2020

excellent information. new updates and running works over cancer research have made it more valuable.thanks coursera and John Hopkins for their effort.

By Niloofar A

Jan 5, 2021

Thanks to Coursera for providing equal chances for people from all around the world. This was one of the most informative courses that I have passed.

By Mansi V P

Aug 13, 2020

Im glad that i have joined this course very well qualified experienced professor and with example explained it in very much simpler manner thank you

By Tom Q

Apr 9, 2020

Thank you for a great course. The beginning was a bit simplistic, but as the lessons progressed the content became better and more informative.

By Nindiya K

Aug 11, 2020

It is a great course for someone who needs a basic understanding of cancer metastasis. Got to learn a lot of new things from this course.