Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,556 ratings
4,123 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

GT
Oct 26, 2020

This is the excellent course to understand the job seeking process and enhance English skill which is especially related with the job hunting. I recommend to take this course for non-English speakers.

KA
May 3, 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 4,143 Reviews for English for Career Development

By Sai A

Nov 5, 2020

i feel very confident with resume, cover letter, small talks and interviews. The instructors explained everything clearly and effectively. The time spent attending this course is the time well spent. I highly recommend everyone who is very to new to resume, cover letter and interviews to take this course.

By Bassel A H

Oct 21, 2020

Great instructors and course with multiple interesting quizzes and interactive games that are vital for: understanding proper English, professional writing, how to make your own CV or Resume, how to write cover letters, and how to interact with the working community to apply and get the most suitable job.

By SUDIPTA D

Jun 29, 2020

It is totally incredible . People who are afraid of speaking English , even to whom English is not so understanding easily . The way it helps anyone who is may be weak before English is gonna be Native English speaker . I'd like to thank Wharton , University of Pennysylvania . Special Thanks to Coursera .

By Nilanjana B

Feb 19, 2021

I had a wonderful experience taking this course. I got to learn various new things and am now capable of entering the job market with necessary preparation. The approach of the teachers was really warm and the course overall left a positive effect on me and made me believe in myself. Thank you, Coursera.

By Zachariah S

Jul 8, 2020

This is a great course, i have learned a lot. It provided the opportunity to know the difference between resume and cover letter. I am very confident that my next job application will be a success because i have the necessary skills and knowledge on how to conduct and prepare myself for a job interview.

By Joice M

Sep 6, 2020

It is an extraordinary course. You have a lot of informations about the job search process in USA and the ways you must act and to in order to stand out. You also learn about skills and ways to discovery yours. You learn the content and practice at the same time, it is very dinamic. I loved the course!

By Harsh T

May 20, 2020

Course structure, content, Speaker, Resources are awesome. I learned many things which will indirectly impact on us. Thank you very much for such a beautiful and very helpful Course. I would like to tell that if You can add more quiz and reading stuff for practicing and reading than it will be perfect.

By James W M D C

Apr 15, 2020

I have a learned lot in this Career Development from making a resume, cover letter, elevator speech and to answering an interview questions this helps me a lot because I am just a college student and that one day I will be able to apply this understandings I learned in this course. Thank you coursera.

By Marcelo B d S

May 24, 2021

Some times you think that you known how to to the things, but when you have a subject prepared specificaly for you to make the right in the situation that you can´t fail, in this case to be hired in a good company, is the better thing that can happened with you. Thank you very much to make it for us.

By Yvette G

Jan 30, 2021

I have really learned so much from this course. I was told that this course is free from my institution in St. Vincent and the Grenadines through the Ministry of Education. I have already completed Blended Learning through them. Can I be emailed my certificate of completion, please?

Yvette Gittens

By Faruq h

May 29, 2020

Thank you for learning to create a site. I have learned a lot from this course. I have been able to acquire many skills. I have learned a professional Cv, former letter, manners, English speaking, vocabulary, and huge part of english. I have learned very well that I have to attend the job interview.

By Chris H

Apr 30, 2020

I thought the class was very beneficial to students from foreign countries. I'm sure it put a lot of them, who were nervous, at ease. Also the fact that they could take this course without charge is so beneficial. I commend the Professors for a job well done.

Sincerely,

Christopher J. Heiland

By luis A Q

Dec 13, 2020

El curso excelente, a mi me ayudó en seguir avanzando con la lengua inglesa y a la vez estar preparado para aconsejar o guiar a quien me lo pida en un proceso de busqueda de trabajo, sus etapas intermedias hasta el momento de llegar a una entrevista de trabajo.

Muchas gracias fue muy bueno el curso

By Ana M B

Aug 31, 2020

I have to be grateful to the University of Pennsilvania, Coursera, because I achieve my first on line course. And my special thanks to the teachers, thank you very much. I realize my mistakes, and now I feel more confident and prepare to face my job search and future interviews. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

By Bassam A

Mar 2, 2021

Great experience!!

The instructors are fully knowledgeable about the studying material. They also enhanced the course with great knowledge resources such as the links, the samples, and the exercises. I wish they can provide coursera with more helpful courses and experiences for the nearest future.

By Shweta R P

Dec 9, 2018

I have enjoyed this course to the fullest. One must do this course if one is not sure about facing an interview and how to deal with it. I would like to thank both the instructors of this course who made us understand so well about the job market, networking and facing an interview. Thanks a lot.

By Lam T

Feb 4, 2021

I really appreciate the instructors of this English for Career Development course for giving me a chance to join a usefull course. I have learned how to write a proper job application and other related skills. I highly recommend the course for people who want to apply for a job. Thank you again!

By Deleted A

May 16, 2020

I want to thank you Coursera for the course and that it was free of charge. Then I want to thank you University of Philadelphia and the teachers, Ms. Turner and Mr. McManus, well prepared, professional and clear in their explanation. The course was well structured and organized. Thank you again.

By Mahmoud H

May 10, 2020

I'm very exited because I finish this course well. I hope that everyone has the same experience. and I hope that all my classmate have completed this course successfully.

This is very important course for me because it help me discovering my skills. Thank you everybody.Good luck and good courage

By Luis V C

Jun 11, 2021

El curso es excelente, aprendes Inglés, también te instruyen sobre como hacer un CV así como los tipos de CV que hay, el siguiente paso es hacer tu carta de presentación, cómo prepararte para una entrevista de trabajo, cómo tener un buen "elevator speech" y más cosas.

Lo recomiendo al 100!!!!!!

By Tânia D d O

Feb 18, 2019

It was uncredible to finish my course, I learned a lot. I couldn't imagine wide knowledge doing this course I'd enjoy so much. I can hardly wait to start the next one. No words to describe such a great quality, Congratulations from me and also from all my friends and mates that are doing too!

By Akhmatova S

Aug 21, 2020

Eminently helpful! I've finally found a source which helped me to create my resume, CL and elevator speech! My English level is higher than Intermediate, so I had no problems with completing the course - all materials are presented very well, all video and audio have high quality! Thank you!

By Nang h

Jun 13, 2020

For my learning,it was fully interested with english videos with quiz and example.Easy to understand for improving english writing skills ( cover letter & resume) & got idea with speaking interview tips(do & do'nt).Thank you very much and i wanted to learn more from Coursera Website course.

By Smriti S

Sep 15, 2021

Thank you so much for providing us such a nice course to acquire the understanding the job market of United State especially for a immigrate or new comer. I hope after doing this course , my confident has reformed to reduce gap between job market and my KSA (knowledge, skill, and ability)

By Aliya A

Oct 10, 2019

Step by step with practice assignments I see the progress in my written English when compared previous work with the final one. And it wasn't difficult, it was easy to do. As a result I got 1 interview after completing the course. So all recommendations here work in real life! Thanks a lot!