Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
10,753 ratings
4,188 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

GT
Oct 26, 2020

This is the excellent course to understand the job seeking process and enhance English skill which is especially related with the job hunting. I recommend to take this course for non-English speakers.

KA
May 3, 2021

I enjoyed this Course English for Career Development and learnt a lot .The instructor were so helpful and proactive that it was easy for me to learn and I was able to reach clear all the assignment ..

Filter by:

4126 - 4150 of 4,187 Reviews for English for Career Development

By Barbara S

Mar 26, 2020

some questions in the middle of the videos refer to information still not yet mentioned. they should appear later in the video.

the speakers take too long to deliver, or perhaps and advanced level should be incorporated in this course.

some of the assignments are too easy and some of the questions could be more detailed, as well as the number of questions in each assignment.

By Harsha M

Sep 28, 2020

The course is good, however there shouldn't be any charge for the course certificate. There is no point in doing courses for Indian students because you guys are charging for course certificate which not everyone can afford.

By Yogesh Y

Apr 25, 2020

The topics covered are good enough to improve the areas which we are not aware of or where we lack strong points so this course will teach that very clearly.

By Abhishek S S

Apr 2, 2021

This course is not updated most of the content is a decade ago content but it's doable to work with the given resources and information.

Overall 3.5 🌟

By Sameera S H

Nov 25, 2020

It's good to complete career development course and I 'm looking forward to other courses which develop career & future

By Claudio V

May 17, 2020

Content well described and pace easy to follow. I was expecting to have more insight about learning English

By زهراء ع ع م

Sep 13, 2020

Successful training but l don't get the certificate uncles l completed the course

By Enna C

Feb 27, 2021

Good lessons, very interesting, but I didn't find where is my sertificate??

By Huma z

Mar 31, 2021

you should tellthe applier about the certificate which is not free of cost

By RASHMIN K

Sep 29, 2020

The course is amazing, however I am unable to get my certificate.

By Bakhtawar B

Aug 16, 2021

I have learned a lot through this course. Highly recommended!

By Claudia d A

Jun 24, 2020

Good course, however the video/audio sound was very poor.

By Md F I

Oct 17, 2020

Thank you. It would be the better if it is free of cost.

By didymus m

Sep 5, 2020

It was an awesome experience carrying out this course

By Rafaela A

May 8, 2020

Only take it if you are a beginner level in English.

By Alicia V

Oct 16, 2020

Great course. I am so happy to have completed it.

By Felipe B

Sep 3, 2021

sssssssssssssssssdafdssdgfdsghhgfhjnfhg esgfd

By sonal475

May 8, 2020

The certificate should be provided free.

By Qian L

Feb 4, 2018

The content is too easy sometimes

By Ibiwoye H

Jun 22, 2020

This course has been helping..

By Myo H W

Oct 30, 2020

this course is interesting.

By Chan M T Z

Aug 1, 2020

good course for job seeker

By Patricia M

Apr 6, 2020

just an ok course.

By Germain K

Nov 29, 2018

Very Good Lesson

By Solanki D

May 23, 2020

Job searching