Chevron Left
Back to English for Career Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Career Development by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
9,558 ratings
3,743 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Career Development, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in advancing their careers in the global marketplace. In this course, you will learn about the job search, application, and interview process in the United States, while comparing and contrasting the same process in your home country. This course will also give you the opportunity to explore your global career path, while building your vocabulary and improving your language skills to achieve your professional goals. The first unit in this course will introduce the U.S. job application process and provide strategies for identifying the jobs that match your interests and skills. Unit 2 will take you through the steps necessary to produce a professional-looking resume. In unit 3, you will work to develop a clear and concise cover letter. The final unit of the course focuses on networking and interview skills. Anyone may take this course for free. If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

DI
Aug 24, 2019

It is the very useful course for learning, this course provides videos for better understanding. A part from that there are exams like quiz, games, video recording, review of classmates work and all..

EB
Jul 3, 2020

Thank you for letting us to use this opportunity at this pandemic situation.\n\nI find this course has a lot example which is unstandable and illustration and so efficient for newcomer and job seeker.

Filter by:

3401 - 3425 of 3,702 Reviews for English for Career Development

By RAYIPALLI P

Apr 6, 2020

I am really happy to be a part of this course.It really helped me a lot in preparing for the interviews and realizing my areas of interests and my skills.

By Yesri G

May 26, 2020

Very helpful course! The instructors delivered the course very clear, the assessments and quizzes are fun and deepening my understanding to the contents.

By Carmen M Z Z

Dec 12, 2020

Me encantaria un curso donde pueda reforzar mi pronunciacion y poder hablar, realmente aprendi mucho sobre como mejorar en mi carrera como profesional,

By Pablo M C R

May 30, 2020

It was a very interesting experience, this course taught me and opened my mind about how to look for a job both in my country and in the United States.

By Jair M M

Mar 26, 2021

It is a good course. Probably to easy for someone with and advanced level of English, still it is useful to get to know the hiring process in depth.

By Oscar T

Aug 26, 2019

Ce cours était plus tôt bon dans l'ensemble. Les exemples et les cas d'explications nous ont permis d'apprendre de façon plus ales différents modules

By Mostafa M

Oct 25, 2019

very beneficial which is rich in very good information for any fresh or entry level graduates and need to improve their language and business skills

By Karla B

Feb 24, 2021

I really enjoy the course and helped myself to dicover skills that I did not know that I have; I learned to do a Resume and Cover letter,

Thank you.

By Pedaprolu R

Feb 1, 2018

It is very good course and because of it i can understand and what to do in getting job and how to prepare resume and how to attempt the interview

By Cristina F G

Apr 5, 2021

It was amazing. Thank you for sharing knowledge with people who wants to learn and improve themself and them career. The methodology is great.

By javier c

Sep 1, 2020

Great course! I recommend it for people who has low-medium level of english and want to improve it and/or want to learn about job search fase.

By vijaya r

Aug 1, 2020

A GREAT AND ENJOYABLE COURSE BUT THEY COULD'VE INCLUDED MORE OF REAL-LIFE DRAMAS LIKE IN THE LAST 3 VIDEOS :) TO MAKE IT MORE ENTERTAINING...

By ravi c

Jun 9, 2020

IN THIS COURSE I LEARN MORE DEEP ABOUT MAKING RESUME , COVER LATER.A;SO I FOUND NEW TRICK TO CRACK JOB INTERVIEW.NETWORKING PART WAS GREAT .

By oankar p

Oct 24, 2020

It was really nice course . I learned new skills which i can add in my resume and the guidance for career development was absolutely good.

By mohammed k t

Oct 21, 2020

it is great experience and have many information that's developed and raise my vision and language

thanks for teacher and for coursera team

By Priyanka N

May 19, 2020

The content was easy to understand and learn. I feel so lucky to study with Excellent Professors. Thanks for giving us your valuable time.

By Elisa B

Sep 29, 2020

I liked that they explain the topics in a simple and completely understandable way, including examples, making it more dynamic.

Thank you!

By Deepika R

Sep 25, 2020

I really had good time learning this course. I gained more knowledge regarding how to search job and everything related to job interview.

By Kishore B K

May 5, 2020

this course is very useful for the beginners and by the end of the course the individual becomes professional in attending the interview.

By darshan s

May 6, 2020

Really, It is an amazing course for career development and I also learned many of the things to build my career in a professional way.

By Euisuk j

Mar 22, 2019

Good good good, if you are looking for a work, would recommend this course for effective job searching in job market wherever you are.

By Javier V

Feb 3, 2018

It's a good course to train speaking english and learn to write a cover letter, a resume, and to prepare an interview. Good teachers.

By Sandesh B

Jan 28, 2021

Quite impressive and very fruitful for the job seeker who have difficulties to write a resume or have problem to face an Interview.

By ARAVINDA R G

Feb 14, 2020

The course is good. But in video assignment it is somewhat difficult, if the assignment is in the form of writing it is more good.

By Ankit D

Apr 24, 2020

It was great experience to attend this course. Course instructor had thought everything very nicely and clearly. Thank you :) .