Chevron Left
Back to The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Truth About Cats and Dogs by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
1,456 ratings
423 reviews

About the Course

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Top reviews

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

LD

Apr 06, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot from this course. I definitely recommend this course for anyone who is interested in dogs and cats. :)

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 418 Reviews for The Truth About Cats and Dogs

By Natalia V

Oct 10, 2017

I found it helpful, entertaining and easy to understand.

I would have loved to have found more information about cats (interaction, adaptation, health problems...) since information about dogs is much more widely spread.

By Marilyn I

Jun 10, 2020

Good information but a bit repetitive, would have liked more information on changing unwanted behaviour such as barking, pulling on the lead, scrounging at the table especially for the older rescue dog

By tessg

Apr 29, 2020

The questions that were just selecting breeds was the only negative part. They did not discuss those breeds in the videos. Otherwise, I enjoyed the class. I would give 4.5 stars if I could.

By Rebecca A

Jun 11, 2020

I learnt a lot about cats and dogs. Some of it is repetitive but that means you are more likely to finish the course with knowing the information well. Very enjoyable and recommend.

By Varsha S

May 31, 2020

The course is very interesting and informative. It tells about all the different aspects about behavior of cats and dogs including the history and myths behind it.

By Laura L

Sep 26, 2019

Much of the information in this course is specific to either dogs or to cats. Since my interest is only in dogs, I would have liked to be able to skip the other.

By Luli

Dec 14, 2019

This course is good. now I know about the cats and dogs better. I know how I can take care of my Pets and what is the best things I can do for them.

By Igor K

Apr 13, 2020

Nice course, which would be useful for people of all ages - especially younger ones who need to learn responsibilities of owning a pet.

By Dmytro O

Jan 06, 2020

Some links to additional materials are broken. Anyway, this is good course. Hope it will help me to keep my pet happy.

By Arifa K A Q

Apr 14, 2020

Good course. Leaned a lot about cat and dog behavior and how to deal with them in the way that makes they feel easy.

By Rene A P R

Sep 01, 2019

good design of the course. Former professionals and technicians involved good!!

sound of videos can be improve

By Ruba K

Jan 29, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I hope to see more of MOOC with some specialisations for cats.

By Seyeon L

Apr 13, 2020

It was informative more than I expected. I'm happy there's a course that I can learn about cats.

By Christian C

Oct 01, 2017

Very good basic overview of the best ways to socialize and best raise your cat or dog!

By Mary L B

Apr 17, 2018

This was a fun course, and my little dog and 2 cats hope that I learned something.

By Diana B

May 08, 2020

This was kind of fun to learn more about cats and dogs and the gestures they do!

By Vyachaslav G

Sep 03, 2017

Nice. But I still think that there is a lot of extra info in this course

By Deasúnaigh Ó h

Dec 13, 2018

Very interesting course and well informed and enthusiastic tutors.

By Diana C

Aug 13, 2020

very informative and would consider retake it in near future!

By Megan Y

Apr 30, 2017

This course was good. It was great to refresh knowledge.

By Wk W

Jun 29, 2020

Very informative course with good videos and delivery!

By Maria L

Apr 25, 2017

Very good course, especially for the (new) pet owner!

By Veronica S

Jun 25, 2020

Basic information, but still useful.

By Prajakta

Jun 20, 2020

like the course,.

very informative.