Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
6,704 ratings
2,059 reviews

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

ZP

Oct 07, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

RH

Sep 17, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,045 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Edna M d S

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, Congratulations!

By Elena L

May 03, 2019

Очень понравился данный курс.

By Sujata

Jul 12, 2019

Enjoyed learning through the course. Very informative in our day today lifestyle.

By Ajay P S K

May 04, 2020

It was mentioned that course is free and will get free certificate after completion but now asking for ₹3000. This is not a good practice.

By Miriam

Aug 28, 2015

Excellent course. The material presented was not difficult to comprehend. I highly recommend this to parents who are in a quandry every night when the question, "what's for dinner?" presents itself. More than the content, I was most impressed by the manner in which the course was taught. Instead of a "talking head" format, the instructor used a variety of techniques to present the material, including teaching the majority of the class from her kitchen, using an interactive "blackboard" to illustrate concepts while she spoke and lots of cooking demonstrations. Kudos to Stanford for producing such high quality content. I have started a lot of Coursera courses and this is the first one that I've been able to complete because the content kept me engaged.

By Melissa S

Mar 31, 2016

A wonderful and life altering course, taught with families in mind! This course taught me so many wonderful concepts, opened up new ideas and helped me to understand that a rainbow of food without labels is what I should be feeding my family. I discovered a bit of the science behind food metabolism and how to make real, unprocessed food appeal to little taste buds!

Maya Adams takes you on spectacular food journey through insightful illustrations, informative lectures and cooking demonstrations. I have taken away a plethora of knowledge and the realization that if children help to prepare the foods they eat, they will be more accepting of those healthy and wholesome meals.

Thank you for this wonderfully designed course!

By Aleksey B

Aug 10, 2017

I wanted to know more about nutrition for help myself and people in my surroundings have a healthier diet, and I was very pleased with the information offered by the course and it's general presentation. I have gained better understanding of risks in consuming processed foods, role of fiber, safety scale of different fats, and effect of blood sugar spikes on the sensation of hunger. I was surprised that no GMO is part of the organic marketing package, since it seems that many kinds of GMO are proving to be more innocent than the media would like to portray it. Again -- really amazing course! Great thanks to Maya, course staff and Coursera guys for providing us with this great opportunity to get healthier.

By Karly R

Jun 27, 2016

I really loved this course! The instructor was very good, her lectures were informative and easy to follow with stellar graphics. Her videos were fun to watch, and her cooking lessons were very simple; she showed dishes that I would actually cook for my family! Best of all I believe she did a great job stating all the facts and encouraging people to make smart food choices without being judgmental about it, which is no easy task!

I am lucky that I am already doing a lot of the things the instructor suggests for my toddler but the best takeaway I got was to take my child to a farmers market. We went this weekend and it was so much fun! I plan to take her there as often as I can.

By Francis A

Jul 21, 2020

Ive been a chef for 7 years but never I've learned such basic knowledge that deeply impacted my approach to food and health as a whole( although I dont have job as of now because of this Pandemic) ,this opened up a lot of learning opportunities that i can Only get for free here in Corsera.org and Stanford University. I will forever be grateful for this well executed, super Informative and fun learning experience they provided that I will use for the rest of my life, I acknowledge the research and production behind this course and thank them for lending us their knowledge and expertise from all the lecturers and the staff and crew . DE COLORES from The Philippines

By Gabriela B O

Feb 03, 2016

Muy buena información, bastante claro y didactico. El material de apoyo y herramientas de apoyo como son los subtitulos en inglés y en español son bastante adecuados y estan sincronizados. El lenguaje empleado en este curso hace posible que toda la comunidad pueda tomarlo y realizar mejoras a nivel personal, familiar o apoyo para el aprendizaje, independientemente de si tienen conocimientos previos en nutricion o en alguna rama de las ciencias de la salud. Gracias por este curso y espero haya continuación del curso o cursos similares de esta universidad y seria fabuloso que siguieran siendo en colaboracion de la Dra Maya Adams

By Radu S

Sep 17, 2015

Very useful nutritional and food information structured with care, combined with common sense advice to apply in every household.

The whole package is served with delicate ambient music, practical recipes and kitchen advices, and last but not least, with love towards children and family.

One might find inside some controversial aspects as maybe too much frying, cooking in aluminium foil presumed to be bad, using sugar when cooking, but everyone is free to adapt the content to his own perceptions, fears and style. The main philosophy proposed, the moderation, is a keeper though.

I just loved taking this course

By Jessica J

Aug 12, 2016

This course was very educational. Maya was great at explaining healthy foods and ingredients that her own family uses at home. I was incorporating her suggestions while taking this course. I'm working to include less processed foods and more fresh fruits and veggies in my families diet. I even started to make fruit/veg smoothies for my 8 year old daughter instead of buying her the 100 % juice I bought in the store as a way to provide her with more vegetables in her diet as well as less processed food. Great course! I will be looking for more courses to take that include Maya and her wonderful children.

By Paulina P

Feb 11, 2020

Felicidades Maya, me encantó el curso. Muy claro, organizado, completo, práctico y con recetas sencillas.

Me gustó la forma simple de explicar los temas difíciles como química, biología.

No me pareció muy coherente que quitaran el almidón de la pasta y después la volvieran añadir en polvo en la receta de spaguetti.

Está focalizada para poblaciones de 1er mundo con acceso a servicios de calidad (luz, agua pura, colegios, hospitales de calidad) y productos órganicos (consomé) ... haría falta un curso climatizado para latinoamérica , de hecho es necesario, cuentan conmigo para ayudar.

By Lavanya R

Dec 29, 2015

This is the best course I've ever did on Coursera (and the only one that I've successfully completed so far!). The instructor is very practical and to the point in her explanations. Each session was very engaging and i appreciate the time taken for her to create the live/animated graphics. This never felt like a boring regular classroom session, most of them were shot in her kitchen, which kept the learner engaged. The tips and the cooking sessions are awesome. I don't have a kid yet, but will surely come back to this course when i have one. Kudos :-)

By Roberto C

Mar 09, 2018

It was a great course! Nice setup, very detailed ad Dr. Maya is a great communicator! However the reality is that we do not need to eat and animal product, that's what the research studies are showing especially this last decade the overwhelming evidence is that animal products, added oil, sugar and salt is bed for our health!... Dr. Maya did explain that especially processed junk food is not good for us... Animal products are just not good for humans as well! Also I'm not being able to get my Certificate, the internet app doesn't work!

Thank you!

By Pei C K

Apr 25, 2020

Everyone should learn about food and nutrition, not only for the kids, but yourself. This course is good for everyone, not only parents and kids.

I wish the course would touch on how to deal with kids who already developed a picky food habit for parents to change the kid's food habit.

However, I will still highly recommend this course to all of you. It is only 5 weeks, videos are short yet very informative and knowledgeable. The most important thing is, all the nutrition tips and recipes can be easily practice and cook at home.

Thank you.

By Camila C G

Jan 12, 2018

Como nutricionista, considero que es bastante completo, no se necesitan estudios universitarios previos y es una buena forma de entender la importancia de la nutrición en niños, teniendo en consideración los aspectos biosicosociales que rodean el proceso de alimentación.

As a nutritionist, considered to be quite complete, no previous university studies are needed and it is a good way to understand the importance of nutrition in children, taking into account the biopsychosocial aspects that surround the feeding process.

By Teresa M

Apr 18, 2017

Since I was a child I liked to help my mom and my grandmother to cook. They taught me to cook and I learned the traditions of the family. My two younger children were picky eaters, and at the beginning it was very tough to prepare food for them. Now we enjoy together to prepare and eat different types of food. We love our traditional food, but we are always looking for new recipes. This course teaches me how to combine different types of ingredients to bring to our table, every day, more balanced and healthy food.

By Md. T I

Dec 17, 2015

I have enrolled in many classes on coursera, but can not finished any of them. Because they all get boring at the end. Its my 1st course that I have finished. Because from first to last, this course remain interesting to me and got no chance to be bored. M. Adam is the best course instructor to me till now (I wish I could do her classes live) because she knows how to teach on MOOC. This course is no only interesting but also highy educative. This course should start give certificate of accomplishment. Thank You :)

By Daniela L

Oct 29, 2019

Excelente. La información es clara y se expresa en un lenguaje fácil de comprender.

Tiene recomendaciones maravillosas para empezar a tener mejores prácticas y hábitos alimenticios en casa con nuestros hijos y además, ofrece recetas prácticas, sencillas y atractivas para toda la familia.

Se enfoca mucho en el impacto ambiental que tiene la producción de los alimentos que consumimos y en ese sentido, nos invita a ser más conscientes y respetuosos con el ambiente y nuestro organismo desde la alimentación en casa.

By Thaulí A H

Nov 06, 2016

Excelente curso con una maravillosa y didáctica manera de enseñar la mejor forma de crear hábitos de alimentación positivos y sostenibles para los niños y la familia en su totalidad. Las advertencias y las recomendaciones para realizar compras en el supermercado son alarmantes y fundamentales para hacer compras conscientes y orientadas a consolidar una nutrición adecuada, estimular el consumo de productos naturales producidos en nuestras comunidades y de temporada fortalece la economía familiar y regional.

By Huiyan R

Aug 15, 2015

I enjoyed this course very much. This has helped me understanding many basic things about food and what is important for my kids. There are many little helpful tips. As a working mother with 2 little kids, it's so much better to have seen these videos of "simple cooking", than watching cook shows in TV that make cooking so complicated (by learning nothing) and tiring. Thanks for this great course and your effort in improving the health of kids of the world! Best regards, Huiyan Roy, a Chinese German mother

By Fanny

Aug 18, 2019

The material was easy to use, great download options specially for the recipes (So I can watch them again while cooking in the kitchen)

Questions were a little bit too easy sometimes but summed up the main subject of each week

It was really nice and soothing to see a doctor telling parents that we have to follow some common sense principles, not a bible of nutrition and cooking for children by the letter

And THANK YOU for the Nutella, I don't buy it anyway but it shows that it's not that bad...in moderation

By Melissa A

Jun 29, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to increase their knowledge about family nutrition and healthier eating habits. I was surprised to learn many new facts about areas that I hadn't previously considered that impact our families' health and well-being - e.g. The Community and State layers. I love the combination of cooking, nutrition knowledge, environmental expertise / insight and practical, easy to follow tips throughout the course. Thank you!

By Рожкова Е Е

Aug 11, 2016

Спасибо большое за возможность пройти курс "Питание детей и приготовление пищи". Было очень интересно и я взяла много полезного для себя. Замечательные лекции восхищают своей неординарностью: впервые попадаю во время занятий к преподавателю на кухню, знакомлюсь с её дружной и большой семьёй, вижу её во время приготовления различных блюд. Всё это сразу же располагает к доверию и вниманию, оставляет след в сердце! Отдельный восторг от графики и подачи опорного конспекта по отдельным темам!