Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
8,011 ratings
2,465 reviews

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

IV
Jul 24, 2021

Amazing how much I learned watching videos with all the exact words. Not only about nutrition, but about our planet and how to take care of it. Also very inspiring for having ideas for foods for kids.

ZP
Oct 6, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 2,453 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Chanakan S

Mar 13, 2017

This course is wonderful! Each video is not too long but full with information. You encourage me to choose a healthier lifestyle. Thank you so much. I will use these knowledge to improve my family's health.

By Kevin B

Oct 21, 2015

Excellent course if you want to learn the building blocks of nutrition and gain awareness of what commercial products are made from, what your kids (and you!) are eating, and much more healthy alternatives.

By Graciela T

Sep 22, 2015

It`s a very informative course as well as providing students with practical cooking demostrations. It is mainly focused on children but all the family benefits from healthy meals and habits,Highly recommend

By Kinza H

Jun 6, 2021

The course was very comprehensive and easy to understand. The teacher was outstanding. Lectures are to the point without drag-on. Many thanks for the quality of your efforts! It helped me a lot. Thank you

By Carrol L

Jun 26, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this course ans participating in the assignments Dr. Maya is an awesome instructor and it was great for her to include her own children, the little one showed a love for new foods.

By Débora N

Dec 5, 2020

Excellent course. Maya explained in the simplest and wise way to easy understand the new knowledge. It really helped me with my current work as chef to male meals even healthier. Thanks Maya and Coursera.

By Olga V

Nov 26, 2018

I just loved it, I know much and I'm doing much for my family of what is told here, but it will be so good to explain to your clients in simple words, to teach them how to live and eat healthy. Thank you.

By Maggie B

Oct 7, 2015

I found this course to be very helpful. It was informative and I learned new techniques to make meals more interesting. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in eating a more healthy menu.

By Angie

Sep 2, 2015

I really enjoyed this class. The teacher is very upbeat and interesting as well. Lots of good recipe instructional videos. She also breaks nutritional information down until its easily understood. Thanks!

By Maria M G

Apr 17, 2021

This course is Very helpful for me who's a Mom that does not regularly cook. It's encouraging and inspiring to learn recipes that were suggested. I honestly would like to take this course over and over!

By Melissa L S C

Jun 13, 2020

Excelente informacion, muy util no solo para los niños sino tambien para los padres y cualquier persona que su objetivo sea llevar una vida sana y que tambien contribuya al bienestar de nuestro planeta.

By Isabel V

Jul 25, 2021

A​mazing how much I learned watching videos with all the exact words. Not only about nutrition, but about our planet and how to take care of it. Also very inspiring for having ideas for foods for kids.

By Zainab J D

Aug 9, 2019

Such a wonderful course, very informative. I love how friendly Maya is.

Don't bouillon cubes have a high salt content though? Could've pointed that out in the video so that viewer takes it into account

By Lizeth S

Feb 20, 2019

Me ha encantado este curso, he aprendido muchas cosas que no sabía y nunca tuve en cuenta a la hora de comprar alimentos y también me gustaron los tips para hacer que nuestros hijos coman vegetales.

By Ana S

Jan 17, 2021

I'm Portuguese but Maya Adams explains everything in a very simple way, so anyone can understand. I agree with her 100%.

I liked the recipies, but I do everything from scratch, even chicken stock.

By Sergiu F

Sep 11, 2015

I enjoyed taking this course. I have learned several *new* things about buying, preparing and cooking food. The videos are straight-forward and the content is presented in a clear and concise way.

By Moona B

Nov 28, 2019

Dear Maya, Thank you so much for being so humble and cooperative throughout the course. Your course was extra ordinary helpful in daily routine and belongs to every person belonging to any field.

By Bianca G

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed this course, I learned so much about food and nutrition to implement in my house. One of the most useful courses I have taken, the videos make it very entertaining and educative.

By Danielle

Apr 22, 2017

I really learned a lot by how to make good choices when shopping for food and how to add in healthy alternatives to food I already eat. I've already noticed a change in eating and spending habits

By Linjing C

Sep 13, 2015

Clearly state what we should do, why we should do that and provide simple solutions. No hard and confusing terminologies. Also, scenes like families eating at the dinner table is really touching.

By Josephine O

Jul 6, 2021

I​ HAVE LEARNT A LOT ABOUT FOOD IN GENERAL. I CAN UNDERSTAND KIDS FEEDING PROCESS AND IM READY TO MAKE SURE THEY EAT HEALTHY IN DIFFERENT WAYS. LEARNING HERE IS FLEXIBLE AND RELIABLE. THANK YOU.

By Chrislane A

May 18, 2021

Amei o curso! Muito obrigada a Universidade e a plataforma. Aprendi culinária e mais sobre nutrição. Minha gratidão ao curso de qualidade e gratuito, acessível a pessoas que buscam conhecimento.

By Kylie C

Feb 15, 2021

This class was wonderful for coming up with healthy ways to feed my picky children! The professor was also easy to listen to and provided a great lesson plan. I would highly recommend this class

By Sam M

Jun 2, 2020

Absolutely loved the course, its encouraged me to get out my comfort zone through experiment cooking, my family are loving the change and I love knowing the food going into their body is good 💕

By Chelsea S

Dec 13, 2016

Even though I do not currently have children, I felt this course gave a great overview of the basis of nutrition and how to incorporate fresh, whole foods into my own diet and my husband's diet.