Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
9,544 ratings

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

RH

Sep 16, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

ZP

Oct 6, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 2,818 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Deleted A

Jul 3, 2019

I loved the teacher and how the course is made.

By Suteewan S

Dec 17, 2020

This is so "basic" than what you expected "basic" means.

Some information is so silly that I was thinking, seriuosly, people do not know about it? and then they repeat the same things so many time.

Cooking demonstrations VDOs are kind of waste. Questions are useless....

All these information is not for parents or to-be parents. This information is only for the kid around primary school.

I wish I would read the review before I paid for the couse to get the certificate.

By Bhawna

Nov 24, 2020

Awesome experience of learning with Superb teacher.

By Edna M d S

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course, Congratulations!

By Elena L

May 3, 2019

Очень понравился данный курс.

By Gabi D

Nov 25, 2020

It was an interesting journey. I gained some more knowledge and also strengthened what I already knew!

By Ekaterina S

Mar 23, 2016

The course is very basic, videos contain a lot of repetitions and quiz questions are too easy (in addition, I believe that there are too much negative questions). I believe that this course should be called an Introduction to the basics of Nutrition and it's only for complete newbies. There are no insights in specifics of child nutrition besides general concepts of balanced diet and some tips how to make your kids be more enthusiastic in eating vegetables.

By juliana l

Jun 9, 2017

Info was very basic, and there seemed to be no academic sources to show how the ideas were formulated. The videos, and content was also not that engaging, so it became background noise.

By Ajay P S

May 4, 2020

It was mentioned that course is free and will get free certificate after completion but now asking for ₹3000. This is not a good practice.

By Darwin A B M

Apr 27, 2020

Nutrición Infantil y cocina; Es un curso genial en el que adquieres amplios conocimientos sobre la mejor manera de alimentar a los pequeños del hogar, como también alimentación sana y sostenible para nosotros mismos, siendo un curso online y didáctico.

Cuenta con las herramientas necesarias para adquirir todo este conocimiento variado, permitiendo el tiempo de resolución y aprobación apropiado.

Llenó mis expectativas.

By Isabel V

Jul 25, 2021

Amazing how much I learned watching videos with all the exact words. Not only about nutrition, but about our planet and how to take care of it. Also very inspiring for having ideas for foods for kids.

By Sujata

Jul 12, 2019

Enjoyed learning through the course. Very informative in our day today lifestyle.

By Ana P

Sep 8, 2016

Was expecting a deeper unsdersting and knowledge of child nutrition and its impact in the health of little ones... too general.

By Robert S

Sep 1, 2015

Worst course ever. I stopped partway through. Too many links to outside stuff. Tests/quizes were not based on what was presented in the lessons. Test design is horrible, too many negative questions. Glances over the good true information about nutrition to tell us about free range farms, farmers markets, etc., which most people do not have access to or can not afford.

Giving it 1 star is being nice

People who sponsored it should get their money back.

By Vita B

Jun 24, 2022

Very introductory information that doesn't give much insight into child nutrition

By caetana v

Oct 19, 2015

Not very good nor scientific

By Sara S

Sep 10, 2016

Not very useful.

By Miriam

Aug 28, 2015

Excellent course. The material presented was not difficult to comprehend. I highly recommend this to parents who are in a quandry every night when the question, "what's for dinner?" presents itself. More than the content, I was most impressed by the manner in which the course was taught. Instead of a "talking head" format, the instructor used a variety of techniques to present the material, including teaching the majority of the class from her kitchen, using an interactive "blackboard" to illustrate concepts while she spoke and lots of cooking demonstrations. Kudos to Stanford for producing such high quality content. I have started a lot of Coursera courses and this is the first one that I've been able to complete because the content kept me engaged.

By Maureen G

Apr 9, 2022

I am a kindergarten tutor. I was just having a conversation last week with regards to the breakfast the school serves. I deal with the children that have learning issues. I also am in the cafeteria for breakfast. They are serving sugary cereals , and doughnuts with chocolate icing. The one student, say Michael, eats the same cereal, Lucky Charms every morning. Actually, he only eats the marshmellows. After an hour, he is crying, cannot sit still, moody, just cannot learn. The cafeteria, normally serves a healthy breakfast along side of these choices. We cannot get him to eat healthy. His family does not support us in dealing with the issue. I want to hide this cereal. This course proves our point. Thank you so very much. I have learned so much

By Melissa S

Mar 31, 2016

A wonderful and life altering course, taught with families in mind! This course taught me so many wonderful concepts, opened up new ideas and helped me to understand that a rainbow of food without labels is what I should be feeding my family. I discovered a bit of the science behind food metabolism and how to make real, unprocessed food appeal to little taste buds!

Maya Adams takes you on spectacular food journey through insightful illustrations, informative lectures and cooking demonstrations. I have taken away a plethora of knowledge and the realization that if children help to prepare the foods they eat, they will be more accepting of those healthy and wholesome meals.

Thank you for this wonderfully designed course!

By Ana P L

Nov 20, 2020

Adorei o curso! Abrange a melhor forma de introduzir a alimentação de uma forma natural e fácil. Dá dicas de como trabalhar isso no dia a dia na família e com o público que você trabalha. Adorei os vídeos. Muito rico de informações! Gratidão à excelentíssima professora Maya que abordou o curso muito bem. Obrigada à Faculdade de Stanford pela oportunidade!

I loved the course! It covers the best way to introduce food in a natural and easy way. It gives you tips on how to work this on a daily basis in the family and with the public you work for. I loved the videos. Very rich of information! Gratitude to the excellent teacher Maya who approached the course very well. Thanks to Stanford College for the opportunity!

By Алексей Б

Aug 10, 2017

I wanted to know more about nutrition for help myself and people in my surroundings have a healthier diet, and I was very pleased with the information offered by the course and it's general presentation. I have gained better understanding of risks in consuming processed foods, role of fiber, safety scale of different fats, and effect of blood sugar spikes on the sensation of hunger. I was surprised that no GMO is part of the organic marketing package, since it seems that many kinds of GMO are proving to be more innocent than the media would like to portray it. Again -- really amazing course! Great thanks to Maya, course staff and Coursera guys for providing us with this great opportunity to get healthier.

By Karly R

Jun 27, 2016

I really loved this course! The instructor was very good, her lectures were informative and easy to follow with stellar graphics. Her videos were fun to watch, and her cooking lessons were very simple; she showed dishes that I would actually cook for my family! Best of all I believe she did a great job stating all the facts and encouraging people to make smart food choices without being judgmental about it, which is no easy task!

I am lucky that I am already doing a lot of the things the instructor suggests for my toddler but the best takeaway I got was to take my child to a farmers market. We went this weekend and it was so much fun! I plan to take her there as often as I can.

By Francis A

Jul 20, 2020

Ive been a chef for 7 years but never I've learned such basic knowledge that deeply impacted my approach to food and health as a whole( although I dont have job as of now because of this Pandemic) ,this opened up a lot of learning opportunities that i can Only get for free here in Corsera.org and Stanford University. I will forever be grateful for this well executed, super Informative and fun learning experience they provided that I will use for the rest of my life, I acknowledge the research and production behind this course and thank them for lending us their knowledge and expertise from all the lecturers and the staff and crew . DE COLORES from The Philippines

By Gabriela B O

Feb 2, 2016

Muy buena información, bastante claro y didactico. El material de apoyo y herramientas de apoyo como son los subtitulos en inglés y en español son bastante adecuados y estan sincronizados. El lenguaje empleado en este curso hace posible que toda la comunidad pueda tomarlo y realizar mejoras a nivel personal, familiar o apoyo para el aprendizaje, independientemente de si tienen conocimientos previos en nutricion o en alguna rama de las ciencias de la salud. Gracias por este curso y espero haya continuación del curso o cursos similares de esta universidad y seria fabuloso que siguieran siendo en colaboracion de la Dra Maya Adams