Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
7,195 ratings
2,223 reviews

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

RH
Sep 16, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

ZP
Oct 6, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

Filter by:

1826 - 1850 of 2,211 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Mughilaasri P

Jul 31, 2020

Nice

By Miroslava A R M

Oct 25, 2017

bien

By Ахмедова Ж

May 3, 2017

cool

By Margaux K A

Jun 19, 2016

good

By Iva L

Jun 15, 2017

:)

By Christian A

Apr 14, 2017

:3

By Mario R C

Jan 30, 2017

pp

By Agustín G C

Jan 30, 2017

kk

By Kevin L

Aug 1, 2017

I

By Daniel

Oct 2, 2016

.

By Norma M

Jun 19, 2016

E

By monica

Nov 15, 2015

i

By Stephanie H

Oct 7, 2015

I

By Claudia C P M

Oct 5, 2015

M

By Oleksiy D

Sep 19, 2015

I

By Jennifer M

Sep 14, 2015

E

By Samantha K

Sep 10, 2015

A

By Cristina P N A

Sep 8, 2015

m

By Jack D

Sep 8, 2015

T

By J. A C

Sep 8, 2015

L

By Ching-Yin L

Aug 17, 2015

g

By Shoukat S A

Oct 12, 2015

I found this course very much valuable for kids as well as other elder people. The teaching method was highly impressive and Dr. Maya Adam really inspired me. I wanted to give 5 stars but I found few things missing, such as food recipes were without quantity of items (especially in written format), gardening was described in a very short format (I felt that it required little bit more detail), market visits could be a very healthy and informative section, some experts advice & suggestion (including famous chefs), some discussion over food available and prepared in hotels/restaurants & also visits over there. Over all it's really a good course and I would definitely recommend to others. My all the best wishes to Dr. Maya Adam such a great work and hope see more from her.

Thank you.

Regards,

Shoukat Shadat Ali

By jean m

Sep 24, 2020

I thought the course was comprehensive and appealing to a broad audience. The inserts about home cooking options, shopping choices and how to include children in meal preparation was genuinely warm. Just because of my personal curiosity it would have been interesting to hear more about the political debates concerning lobbyists that were a part of developing the food pyramid but this aspect was probably omitted due to the focus being on child involvement in learning about food choices and cooking. The course did mention how grocery store positioning and marketing affect food choices but there was no mention of the numerous fad diets that people are exposed to that influence their choices. The course was compelling and it would be nice to see more from this instructor.

By Simona I R H

Nov 22, 2019

The lecturer is very nice and her style of presenting is warm and clear. I loved the graphics drawn to accompany explanations! However, the information as such may be relevant if you are from the USA. In Europe, most of the sensible advice would actually be considered not-so-good practice (meaning things that you do only if you're pressed for time), plus obviously the regulations are different (market is more regulated towards healthier food here - things that are normal in US are forbidden here), plus the target group was quite puzzling (I mean I know all the practical things presented here since age 12 - I wonder who are the people who don't, but are still educated enough to use coursera).

By Karolina N

Sep 10, 2019

Great information if you're just starting out. I was hoping for a bit more of a quantitative approach (guidance on how many calories children need, how much protein per day, which vegetables contain which key micronutrients) and a bit more guidance for a vegetarian diet (how to ensure sufficient complete proteins, how to get enough iron, anything else to watch out for). I really liked the cooking demonstrations, though, and I will try some of them. We already cook at home but after the children arrived we found we need to streamline and simplify our cooking in order to get dinner done on time every day. The cooking demonstrations in this course show exactly the cooking stye I want to adopt.