Chevron Left
Back to Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management by Lund University

4.8
stars
977 ratings
335 reviews

About the Course

This course looks at where important materials in products we use every day come from and how these materials can be used more efficiently, longer, and in closed loops. This is the aim of the Circular Economy, but it doesn’t happen on its own. It is the result of choices and strategies by suppliers, designers, businesses, policymakers and all of us as consumers. In addition to providing many cases of managing materials for sustainability, the course also teaches skills and tools for analyzing circular business models and promotes development of your own ideas to become more involved in the transition to a Circular Economy. You will learn from expert researchers and practitioners from around Europe as they explain core elements and challenges in the transition to a circular economy over the course of 5 modules: Module 1: Materials. This module explores where materials come from, and builds a rationale for why society needs more circularity. Module 2: Circular Business Models. In this module circular business models are explored in-depth and a range of ways for business to create economic and social value are discussed. Module 3: Circular Design, Innovation and Assessment. This module presents topics like functional materials and eco-design as well as methods to assess environmental impacts. Module 4: Policies and Networks. This module explores the role of governments and networks and how policies and sharing best practices can enable the circular economy. Module 5: Circular Societies. This module examines new norms, forms of engagement, social systems, and institutions, needed by the circular economy and how we, as individuals, can help society become more circular. This course is brought to you by: LUND UNIVERSITY INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR INDUSTRIAL ENVIRONMENTAL ECONOMICS (IIIEE) EIT RAWMATERIALS VITO GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF DENMARK AND GREENLAND NATIONAL TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF ATHENS GHENT UNIVERSITY DELFT UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY...

Top reviews

MB
May 7, 2020

A great, detailed and informative course that I enjoyed learning about. Lund University you can do no wrong, from my semester spent on exchange in Lund to engaging with this fantastic MOOC! Thank you!

JE
Apr 19, 2020

Great course!\n\nSuper interesting and very accessible language. It's a good entrance door to keep learning about this really important topics.\n\nThanks for giving us the chance to have it for free.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 345 Reviews for Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management

By KHALID D A

Sep 13, 2021

na

By Abdulmajid M H

May 11, 2021

G

By Abdulkareem A

Dec 30, 2020

G

By Ян А

Sep 26, 2021

This course did a good job of laying out the most important ideologies in the field of Circular Economy, and provided plenty of examples, references, links, and potential ideas where these ideologies and practices are implemented. For this I am most grateful to the creators of the course. I do feel that the ordering is slightly off: some of the videos from Week 5 (the ones about social changes) should've been front and center in Week 1, in my opinion. Also, Week 1 was full of 1-2 minute videos, which were incredibly uninformative due to how a good 30-20% of the time was taken up by the outro sequence.

By Charlotte S

Feb 3, 2021

Great input! Extensive knowledge, from very technical to systemic and societal approaches in the context of circular economy. Really enjoyed learning with this course, yet I would wish to include more examples from other industries than almost only mobile phones, also in the first chapters of the course (e.g. textile production/resources).

By Julia H

Mar 26, 2021

The course was great in giving a framework with which to continue to learn, take in information from the news and other publications, and to envision the ways to contribute towards a circular economy. The presentation could have been a little better (higher resolution images, more accurate transcription of the videos).

By Fethi K

Jun 9, 2021

The course is really reach, entertaining and with a lot of valuable information and easy to grasp pedagogy. My only concern is about online learning in general, which deprive learners from the importance of direct eye to eye contact and also the importance of real-life practice learning.

By nanji h

Jul 6, 2021

Very informative course focusing on Europe's current policies on sustainable material management. Overall, I enjoyed the course. I got an idea of how material circularity works and what can be done to improve it. Thansk presenters for giving insight into material circularity.

By Alawi S A

Sep 6, 2020

the course is very beneficial and has a lot of mind opening ideas that would enhance the principle of materials usage and disposal. the course may better to include more examples and case studies from different countries like Asia or US or Middle east if possible

By RamKishan.B

May 8, 2020

LOVED THE WAY THE COURSE WAS DESIGNED, FROM THE BASIC LEVEL OF HOW THE MATERIALS ARE EXTRACTED AND TAKEN OUT TO THE BUSINESS MODELS, ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT TO POLICIES.

IT WAS A BRIEF TASTE OF EVERYTHING RELATED TO SUSTAINABILITY. MY FAV PART WAS THE MODULE 2 :)

By Akshata B

Jun 20, 2021

This course gives you an in depth understanding of circular economy and empowers you with tools to assess and implement circular economy in the work you are looking to do. Am grateful to all the universities involved for putting together a fantastic course.

By RAMESH P S

Sep 7, 2020

It is very informative and educating course with hand of practical and case study. This has a lot of fact, technical and research based information to provide better understanding on circular economy to support environment, business and social structure.

By Shashank N

May 25, 2020

The course touches various aspects of circular economy & most importantly shares a lot of resources to study that help during & even after the course. Clear, crisp & vivid presentation of the content kept me engaged. Definitely worth the time.

By Shelley L

Nov 26, 2020

A very broad-ranging course, covering topics from responsible mining to consumer use of electronics. I found all the lectures to be clear and well delivered, and the case studies (follow your phone) particularly useful.

By Rosario V C

Apr 30, 2020

As an introduction for the Circular Economy concept this course is very good, you can take a very comprenhensive approach to the topics.

I'm really intereseted in having a deeper knowledge now I finished it.

By Alison T

Feb 23, 2021

Really interesting course with great examples to learn from. My only criticism was that some of the presenters were difficult to understand but I was able to follow along with the written text.

By Haitham A

Mar 25, 2021

I found this course very useful and easy to understand. i do recommend to take this course to know better about circular economy principle, material sustainability and recourses management.

By Olivia L

Feb 9, 2020

Very well structured course to help us get an introduction into this topic, also a good balance between theoretical knowledge and realworld cases.

By Mansour A A H

Jun 6, 2021

Course is great however, it contains some details I believe we should not going into. For example, LCA assessment and other deep technical stuff

By Carla C

May 1, 2020

Very well structured, interesting case studies, well written compendium.

I missed the macroeconomic implications of circular economy.

By Albert K O

May 9, 2021

A well-structured and highly informative course. I couldn't have asked for more in my quest to be a sustainability change agent.

By Abdulmhsen W A

Sep 8, 2021

It is very informative subject. I would prefer to link it more to academic and industrial aspects which will add more value.

By Beatrice B

Jul 1, 2019

Well done. Only suggestion is to. improve the English level of some of the people talking in the videos of the lectures!

By katherin H C

Oct 7, 2019

Excellent course. Gave me the necessary tools to go further in my activities related to circular economy.

By Andreas B

Mar 27, 2021

very good presenations and videos with goor practical examples from industry and other companies