Chevron Left
Back to Classical Sociological Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Classical Sociological Theory by University of Amsterdam

4.8
stars
2,149 ratings
613 reviews

About the Course

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into the most important classical sociological readings between the 18th and 20th century. Highly influential social science scholars, such as Karl Marx, Max Weber and Emile Durkheim, will be discussed during 8 sessions. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive deeply into the complex texts and get familiar with classical sociological concepts that are still very relevant today....

Top reviews

SS
Jan 6, 2019

Simple,neat and interesting way of explaining the content. Didn't get bored. Good refreshment if you already know the stuff and good introduction if you are new to sociology. Professor is really nice.

DT
Oct 28, 2018

This is a course which helps you understand the origin of Sociology. The content of this course includes all the sociologists who played a great role, also the lectures are delivered in a superb way.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 603 Reviews for Classical Sociological Theory

By Rodrigo S S

Jun 5, 2018

The subject and the professor are excellent. He never hesitates, and his language skills are impressive. Congratulations.

By Sophia X Q

Apr 11, 2020

Really insightful and interesting course. The content is much more intriguing than what the title of the course implies.

By Steve G

Feb 11, 2016

Great course. Very eye-opening and an inspiring professor. I will continue to explore more in that area after finishing.

By samuel m

Feb 1, 2021

Very interesting course to learn the basics of Sociology! Very well detailed while easy accessible for the non-experts.

By Sofia K

Aug 23, 2020

Wonderful lecturer, great course structure and material.. Will be waiting for modern sociological theory in the future.

By Vinay K T

Oct 17, 2019

Great course, Prof. has explained in simplest possible way, a lot of concept got cleared up in my mind. Thank you Prof.

By Soosmita S

Apr 13, 2016

Love the teaching style and the clarity of concepts. A great professor. Wish he had more courses on sociological theory

By HASKAR B U

Jul 23, 2020

A good course helped to get some advanced concepts of great classical sociologists in authentic way. Thanks to all....

By Elisandra S

May 19, 2020

Professor Heerikhuizen has a special way to bring us into the theory of those sociologists with no bias. Great course!

By SNEHAL J W

Apr 29, 2020

The course provided a detailed insight of the great minds. It really helped me to improve my knowledge of sociology.

By Jean-Sebastien A

Feb 19, 2019

Top content from one of the world top deparments of Sociology. The instructor is clear and really interesting.

Thanks.

By Thomas K A W

Jul 3, 2016

Lectures are intuitive and easy to follow, while the quizzes complement them perfectly. I really enjoyed this course!

By moise z

May 6, 2021

Alors, je suis vraiment très heureux de finir ce programme en ayant une experience dans le domaine de travail social

By afshin n

Feb 13, 2020

Very interesting course about the classical sociological theories. The professor has been really great. Many thanks.

By WENRUI L

Aug 20, 2019

It's really useful for a fresher of sociology or anyone who wants to learn classical social theories systematically.

By Daniel H J

Jan 6, 2018

A good introduction, in my country the level of social sciences is very low, specially in the approach to classics.

By Rodrigo C

May 17, 2020

Great Course, It was really hard for an Engineer, but I hope to take the next one, I love Sociology. Great Teacher

By Brett G

Dec 16, 2016

I enjoyed this class a great deal. Hopefully there will be one on contemporary sociological theory in the future.

By David Y

Apr 15, 2020

Thank you to Bart van Heerikhuizen and the University of Amsterdam for this excellent MOOC. Highly recommended.

By Edgar M

Feb 11, 2019

excellent course and very insightful into modernity and how we got here.

great tools to analyse life and society

By Rutushree s

May 6, 2021

This course was great. It will help you to have a idea about classical sociological theories and sociologists.

By Mahendra G

Jan 25, 2021

THE PROFESSOR HAS CONCISELY AND CONSIPICUOUSLY COVERED ALL CLASSICAL SOCIOLOGICAL THEORIES AND SOCIOLOGISTS.

By Jennifer H

Dec 18, 2020

I found this course fascinating and the instructor extremely engaging. The quizzes and test were challenging.

By Test S

Aug 26, 2020

It provides a foundation for sociology, clearly illustrating the ideologies of the core classical sociologist

By Goran T

Feb 21, 2016

Great for anyone looking for an introduction to social theory. Accessible, interesting and not too demanding.