Chevron Left
Back to Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries by University of Cape Town

4.7
stars
424 ratings
141 reviews

About the Course

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

MG
Oct 3, 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO
Nov 9, 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 142 Reviews for Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

By Fatimah B

Jul 8, 2016

Excellent intro to Climate Change mitigation and what has already been done, and how to take forward from lessons learned.

By Mihir V

Apr 24, 2018

If a few concrete information (figures and fact) from developing countries were available, it would have been impressive.

By Birgilio R C

Apr 30, 2020

A great course! Very important knowledge and information about the needs of Climate Change Mitigation. Thanks coursera!

By Dr A A

Dec 6, 2016

It is very useful to develop knowledge on climate change. Climate change matters and that's how the course reflects.

By Miora R

Apr 19, 2017

Only 1 week of study and I already got so much that I am excited to talk about MAPS all day long with everybody.

By Cedric T F

Oct 11, 2020

A very insightful course that will benefit students and practitioners in the field of climate change mitigation

By Rodrigo E P M

Aug 31, 2020

An excellent course to introduce you to the topics of climate change and its effect on developing countries.

By Jasmin N P C

May 20, 2021

It is an excellent course, where you learn to analyze and have a broader perspective on climate change.

By Sebin A

Mar 24, 2016

The course is excellent one giving specific outlook towards the problems faced by developing countries.

By Natanael O F B

Sep 2, 2019

Hands-on course! The structure is based on a real case give a clear understanding of the topic.

By mohamed m M P

May 28, 2021

This course is a full package at it integrates all the aspects of climate change mitigation.

By Lauren H

Jan 3, 2017

Very interesting and unique approach to tackling these problems together! Great course

By Arielle W

Jun 19, 2020

A really wonderful experience. I am glad to have taken this course!

By Selene M G

Apr 2, 2017

Positive and rich learning for all lives on Earth, congratulations.

By Julie A

Jun 28, 2020

I learned a lot, and the tasks are helpful, yet achievable!

By Jesse M

Jan 7, 2018

Nice course, lots of great information and nicely laid out.

By Mohammed T ( M

May 16, 2017

Great course, most of the information in a project though.

By Noxolo K

Oct 16, 2016

learned so much and will recommend this course to others!!

By Obvious M

Sep 3, 2018

This is a game changer for those who believe in education

By Waqas K A

Nov 1, 2016

Interesting course especially in the context of Pakistan

By Fawad Z A K

Jan 4, 2016

A excellent course to understand the mitigation process.

By Nicole S A C

Jun 28, 2021

Buen curso, muy interesante y me ayudó a reflexionar.

By Sina A

Nov 27, 2018

Very informative while still being easy to understand

By Anuprasad s

Jun 12, 2017

great one , learning a lot about climate change .

By Christhian P S

Jul 3, 2021

This course was very helpful and interesting