Chevron Left
Back to Data Management for Clinical Research

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Management for Clinical Research by Vanderbilt University

4.7
stars
1,074 ratings
343 reviews

About the Course

This course presents critical concepts and practical methods to support planning, collection, storage, and dissemination of data in clinical research. Understanding and implementing solid data management principles is critical for any scientific domain. Regardless of your current (or anticipated) role in the research enterprise, a strong working knowledge and skill set in data management principles and practice will increase your productivity and improve your science. Our goal is to use these modules to help you learn and practice this skill set. This course assumes very little current knowledge of technology other than how to operate a web browser. We will focus on practical lessons, short quizzes, and hands-on exercises as we explore together best practices for data management....

Top reviews

AK
Jun 22, 2020

This course is very carefully designed to give a moderate idea how the eCRFs are made in RedCap database system.It gives you a fair background of clinical research processes and database designing.

RD
Dec 6, 2020

Instructors were very good. I actually enjoyed my learning. I really appreciate the efforts in building this course. Looking forward for more such relevant courses from Vanderbilt University.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 345 Reviews for Data Management for Clinical Research

By Silvia P

Sep 27, 2020

Great!

By Madhav s s

Dec 27, 2019

goods

By mythilibaburaj

May 17, 2020

Good

By Igor R

May 2, 2018

good

By Li-Hsin C

May 21, 2018

Con

By Leonard D M

Sep 15, 2018

.

By Eva G N

Jun 26, 2018

V

By Rawabi A S

May 8, 2017

N

By Ng S P

Aug 21, 2021

I would like to thank Vanderbilt University for this wonderful course about managing research data and planning research studies! I enjoyed my learning experience here as I found it to be particularly helpful for me in my research postgraduate. Some good points were the lecture video length (not too long for study in my free time) and the activities conducted in RedCap. However I wish to point that the subtitles needs to be updated as it was occasionally misleading and out of sync. Additionally I hope that some course materials would be updated as new research conducts have been introduced in recent years. I hope these would be addressed soon! 7.5/10 of a course for me!

By Ambika P M

Jun 1, 2020

Coming from a background of basic science research, taking up this course as a foundation to understand how clinical research studies are conducted and the management of corresponding data was worth it. From designing a clinical study to using the REDCap software for creating case report forms and surveys, each and every module was developed systematically covering the required basic concepts that could be understood even by a person from non clinical background. Paul did a great job by taking us through the REDCap software both by theory and practice. Overall, this course has given me that foundational start in making a career switch to clinical research.

By Daniel C

Jul 31, 2020

The course was informative but a bit dry (think CITI training, if you’ve ever had to do that) – definitely worth knowing, though, if you work in clinical research. The instructors were pretty good, really, for a video lecture series. One guy from Vandy (Paul, I think) was especially good at explaining the concepts. The best part for me was the material on designing studies, e.g. using validated instruments, phrasing survey questions properly, etc. A lot of the pointers there were common sense but it would be easy to forget them in the moment. I was going to type up my notes at some point and maybe make them into a checklist for future use.

By Alton W P

Jul 30, 2020

Should be 4.5 Stars

Pros: The primary teachers are great. The material is very germane to the today's environment. If you are involved with data management at any level this course will help.

Cons: Wish there was a way to have a moderated discussion with professors. There were concepts in the class that occasionally were opaque and the forum of students was a bit of the blind leading the blind. I should mention this was rare occasion.

Overall, GREAT class

By Nivedita S D

Jul 28, 2019

I like the course very much. It was simple, easy and very well planed. Although most course was designed around REDCap which is a really smooth platform for learning the designing part, I would have loved to learn more about things like how to improve the quality of data, something about LOINC codes. Having said so I can understand that its for just an overview. Faculty is very good. Forums are active. So, in all a good experience.

By Engy B

Jul 30, 2019

The course is very beneficial as it gives an overview of the process of clinical data management. You will get an hands-on experience in using electronic data capture (EDC) software. You will get to do an actual survey using the program and provide a short description of it. The course is well organized and to the point. It opens your horizons to the field and its diversity and various branches.

By Stacy H

Jun 16, 2020

I found the lessons around REDCap to be the most beneficial for me. The rest of the content I am alredy familiar with. We use REDCap a lot at work and I want to be able to build any forms we will need in the future. I think this was a good introductory course for that. Though if the focus were entirely on that, it could have been shorter or more in-depth.

By Noura A A

Aug 29, 2020

thank you for your effort and all the hard work in this course, it is perfect the only issue here is that when peer evaluate you some of them will do no justice and it seems they did it just to finish the task without reading or assess your assignment

it happened with me in the last assignment but once I resubmit I got fair grades

thank you again

By Dhaval G

Jun 10, 2018

Excellent course for beginners. This course provides in depth education about the ABC of clinical research. It is ideal for the people beginning new role / new project in clinical research or a going to be a part of a team involved in project management. Highly recommended for those who want some ideas of Research in clinical areas.

By Yu-Chi B

Aug 26, 2019

Structure 5 stars

Contents 5 stars

For visiting Lecture module 2-3 stars

Video quality 4 stars

-----------------------------------

It's a good introduction course and lead you into the data management.

Looking forward to the course on database management and practice.

Thank you teachers for your effort and passion. I gain a lot!

By Sai R K

Sep 8, 2020

It was a very good course on Data Management in Clinical Research , it started off from basic introduction on Clinical Research and later on moved to the actual data management concepts . Redcap was easy to use and was very user oriented EDC. I thank all the instructors and Vanderbilt University for such a beautiful course .

By Katherine E

Dec 14, 2020

A really engaging course with very good speakers and plenty of hands-on assignments.

I found the last week was a little disjointed due to a number of additional speakers and lacked the flow of the first five weeks, but all the information was very relevant.

Many thanks for providing such a useful course.

Katie

By Beatriz

Apr 6, 2018

Good course to start to know how to develop a good survey with appropriate variables that allow you to gather pertinent information for your study. It also allows you to know and learn how to use Redcap, a tool to capture and manage data, that has been developed by the same University that imparts the course.

By Simisiolaoluwa O

Jun 5, 2020

The course was well organized and had interesting topics. My only comment is that the delivery of the materials (video/powerpoints) could be better. Please update videos or find more lively instructors who do not ramble in the recording of the powerpoints. It will make listening more engaging for students.

By Sarah B

Nov 24, 2020

This is a good course when it comes to a general overview of clinical research data management. I love the hands-on approach it takes when using REDCap. Some of the special topics videos seemed a bit irrelevant to data management though, in my opinion, though good information to know.

By Raisa P R M

Jun 21, 2017

It was a very interesting course, I recomend it. The only drawback that I can mention is that different investigations are regulated by different organizations depending on the country so there is additional information that you must look for in order to complete your knowledge.

By Kierstin L

Feb 28, 2017

Quite an informative course to take briefly. It was able to shed light on what the thought process for work a data manager must use. Would be great if more real world application on how inter-working the data manager is with the rest of the team conducting the research study.