Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics by University of Cape Town

4.8
stars
2,425 ratings
737 reviews

About the Course

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Top reviews

AM
Dec 15, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK
Jul 28, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 731 Reviews for Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

By Tryambak P S

May 16, 2020

This is one of the best courses on the clinical statistics for biomedical researchers. After this, you will be way more confident in the statistics behind your research and in the material and methods section of a publication.

By Martin N A

Oct 29, 2020

This is a really good course in statistics used in clinical research. It gives a good foundation for understanding which statistics to use on a given clinical dataset. Furthermore, the teacher is good at explaning the tonic.

By Henoch C

May 26, 2020

C'était hyper intéressant le cours de recherche clinique avec le formidable Dr Klopper. Merci à l'équipe Coursera. Je sais actuellement quoi, comment et pourquoi faire n'importe quoi en recherche clinique. Go ahead the team!

By Ganapathy P

May 23, 2020

Excellent course and Excellent coaching by Dr. Juan H Klopper. I am a Chartered Accountant. I had put in additional efforts, by repeating some of the lessons and got certified today 23rd May 20. Thank you very much Doctor

By ezgi t

Mar 29, 2020

For people who cannot know where to start learning basic statistics, it is a great course! it definitely gave me a comprehensive overview and I think that I'm not going to skip the chapters on methods and statistics anymore.

By Jeffrey R

Aug 19, 2020

Very easy to follow and instructive teaching. I have a much better understanding of the statistical analyses being performed (as well as their underlying assumptions and limitations) in clinical research. Thank you so much!

By Agnieszka L

Feb 13, 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable course that explains fundamental statistical concepts in an accessible, common-sense way, illustrated by examples from medical research literature. If you're intimidated by statistics, Dr Juan can hel

By Andrés J C T

Aug 13, 2020

Excelente curso, estoy completamente agradecido, he aprendido bastante y ahora me siento capaz de analizar mas a fondo y con mas confianza los articulos cientificos necesarios para mi desarrollo personal como futuro medico

By Ashraf I E S A

Mar 15, 2019

It gives me a greater pleasure to attend this valuable ,concise and easy understanded course and I would like to thank everyone contribute to make this work came to the light special thanks to Dr.Juan Klopper

best regards

By Ian W

Jul 30, 2018

After this course, you'll understand the basic knowledge, common statistic methods and which one to use for different data types. Note that the detailed math calculations behind the methods are NOT the aim for this course.

By Dawn V

Jul 9, 2020

This was a a great course that started from basic Information to more In depth Information throughout the class. I learned quite a a bit and have already been using this knowledge to help me understand different studies.

By Penny H

May 26, 2020

An excellent course as a foundation to understand statistics and the data behind clinical research. Very clear and interesting lectures from Dr Klopper. The quizzes keep you on track and reinforce learning. A well struct

By Sudha A

Mar 7, 2021

It was an excellent course. The doctor explains the basics very well. The key notes and the tests help us to reinforce the information we learnt. I would certainly recommend for everyone keen in learning biostatistics.

By Julián P

Jun 19, 2020

Creo que es un excelente curso para poder empezar a ver las minuciosidades respecto a ciertas pruebas estadísticas, sus alcances y limitaciones. Además maneja ejemplos sencillos y concernientes los temas de la semana.

By Kirstin B

Mar 27, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course . The material is very informative, easy to understand and I really liked the analogies and the images along the way. Juan really makes the content exciting and I'm eager to learn more.

By Olabisi O

Jul 5, 2020

It was very well laid out and easy to follow. It helped me to understand medical journals tht I have read and reading. It also helps me to be more aware of the right analyses to perform and better way to present data

By Said P

Jun 6, 2017

This is an excellent course on the foundations of bio-statistics. Very intuitive understanding on statistical tests and their interpretation. Reading exercises and case studies are very good. I totally recommend it.

By Hailey M

Aug 8, 2020

An excellent course to understand the concepts behind the statistics! It is really well worth completing it if, like me, you just wrote learned stats in undergrad but now you need a more intuitive understanding :-)

By Estuardo P Q

Jul 25, 2017

This is a great course to understand the statistics behind all those trials that we read. I highly recommend it for everyone who wants to understand more about how to understand the "Results" section from journals.

By Ralph T

Jul 31, 2017

Great course for getting a rudimentary understanding of some of the more common bio-statistical methods. Even though lite on math, it does challenge to to have a comprehensive understanding of the concept covered.

By Raquel T

Nov 3, 2020

This course is highly recommended for beginners and as a refresher course. The videos are short, comprehensive & easily understood. Dr. Juan H. Klopper is an effective teacher and adept at conducting the lecture.

By Tai L

Sep 1, 2020

The most comprehensive course about Clinical research I've ever learnt. By going through many practical examples with limited mathematics involved, the course will help learners understand more. Highly recommend!

By SongLing T

May 14, 2021

Easily digestible with topics broken down into 5-10 minutes chunks. However the explanation on non-parametric tests could be more elaborated. Highly recommended for a firm understanding on basics of statistics.

By Jillian M

Dec 2, 2020

Easy to follow, well thought out and not overwhelming. Easy to manage with full time job. Good introduction into statistics and the value of understanding it as it applies to experiments and data interpretation

By Nimmy K

May 14, 2019

I absolutely loved the course and the way Dr. Klopper simplified the most complex statistical concepts. It's brilliant! I can read papers and analyze data with more clarity now. I highly recommend this course.