Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
3,019 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 792 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Paulina M

Nov 11, 2020

A very good course, very informative and with a lot of helpful details. Nicely organized into thematical modules and properly tested afterwards.

By Aastha J

Jul 3, 2020

This course is really amazing. I’ve learned so many things which will be beneficial for me in future. You made E-learning easy and interesting.

By Angelika Z

Jun 17, 2020

This is great. I really enjoyed it and I feel I learned lots. One of the best courses I took. And definitely the best FREE one!

Mrs Kuznetsov .

By laurie b

Dec 29, 2022

Dr. Swigart is an excellent teacher and I now have valuable skills to move forward in the Coding and Billing profession.

Thank you

Laurie Bedard

By XIAOQIN Z

Aug 26, 2022

As an intruductionary course for clinical terminology, the list, the vedio and audio materails are very helpful and easy to follow. Thanks.

By Teslyn S J B

Jan 14, 2018

Incredibly useful for an international health care student who wants to learn how to successfully communicate in a clinical setting in the US

By Valentina N P

Sep 22, 2020

Es un curso muy bien diseñado, interactivo y útil para quienes requieran adquirir este tipo de lenguaje y practicar, lo recomiendo bastante.

By Javine A

Jul 18, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course! it has taught me a lot and I feel ready and prepared for my next journey! Thanks to everyone that was involved!

By KAREN S

Apr 8, 2020

While I had some knowledge of medical terminology, this course gave me more of a foundation and helped to put that knowledge in to context.

By dontmindme

Dec 27, 2022

Helped me broaden my perspective and my current pool of knowledge on the medical sciences. This will greatly aid me in my medical journey.

By Bruna B

Nov 7, 2021

Nice!! I loved knowing more how to interpret the clinical speeches and I also had a lot of deja vus from my prior studies in human health,

By Maryam H

Jun 26, 2020

Thank you so much for this course which helped me to broaden my clinical knowledge about the health care system here in the United States.

By Roberta S

Dec 19, 2020

The course was helpful, informative and well put together. I highly recommend it to anyone starting their journey in the medical field.

By Maria A L D R

Nov 8, 2020

Great course and excellent professor. Easy to navigate and very comprehensive modules. Thank you everyone who made this course possible.

By Bethany T W

Feb 10, 2020

Very basic course. I was able to do all the quizzes without doing any of the other work and the total course took me less than 2 hours.

By Lillian B

Apr 22, 2021

I loved it. Helped you learn everything you need to. I took notes and it was easy to look back at them. Made it easy to understand.

By Laura L G

Oct 19, 2020

Great class for someone just starting out. Thank you to all the professionals that played an intricate role in teaching this course.

By Paula A E L

Mar 30, 2021

Me gustó mucho el curso, me dio herramientas para mis materias clínicas, para describir escenarios y solicitar estudios y material

By Marja A K

Dec 10, 2017

My deepliest gratitude to professors: Valerie Swigart, Ph.D. R.N. and, Michael Gold, Ph.D.

Excellent course !!!!

Thanks Coursera !!

By Christina M

Aug 17, 2017

This is such a well laid out course! I love the interactive videos and case studies and have learned so much these past few weeks.

By Mita S

Oct 13, 2019

This course has help me in learning Clinical with English. Thanks alot for create a wonderful course for medical students like me

By Andrea U c

Aug 1, 2022

Un curso muy util, dinamico y asertivo. Me encantaria que existieran mas, con mas ejemplos y temas de medicina. Muy completo.

By Evelyn S

Aug 14, 2020

I enjoyed the teaching style of this course. Learning what would normally be difficult content was interesting and engaging.

By Jewell D J

Sep 12, 2022

I want to go into the medical field I enjoyed because I learned a lot. This was a good course and a good thing to get into.

By Maxiveli G L

Jan 28, 2022

Amazing course! Everything is explained the easiest way possible and the amount of information you get is definitely worthy.