Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
2,867 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 760 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Lilian P A B

May 21, 2020

As a healthcare interpreter this course helped me to practice my listening skills and of course contributed tremendously to my medical terminology. Thank you

By Salvador D R

Sep 14, 2022

I truly enjoyed the simplified manner of teacher for the proffesor(s) that participated with this online course. It is not difficult if you apply yourself.

By Rose M R

Jul 23, 2020

Very thorough program where you can learn medical terminology. Also provides you the opportunity to learn the words and abbreviations and how they are used.

By Ana I G S

Jun 22, 2020

Es un curso bastante completo, que me ayudó bastante a comprender abreviaciones y encontrar también la mejor manera de comunicar algo en el ambiente médico.

By Ping L

Feb 27, 2023

Thanks for the opening information. It's very helpful for me. Looking forward to taking other online classes related to medical fields for free next time.

By Vijay U G

Aug 21, 2022

Vital Signs Medical Devic,eClinical,Signs, web-based clinical dictionary for beginners provides additional information about terms presented in the course

By matthew f

Dec 6, 2022

Great reviewer on certain medical terminology. Makes you think about how hospitals use various terms and vocabulary depending on where you learn medicine.

By Deidre W

Nov 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and look forward to expanding my knowledge and love for healthcare. This course was fun and challenging and very informative.

By Ely W

May 6, 2018

The content is presented in such a way that it's accommodating to English language learners, slow processors, and those of lower knowledge on the subject.

By Catherine G

May 23, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to medical terminology.

Thank you Valerie Swigart, PhD, RN, CRNP and your team.

Thanks to University of Pittsburg.

By Flavia R

Sep 25, 2021

That was a very interesting course, full of technical and practical terminology useful for me as a translator of medical documents.

Thank you.

Flavia

By Mirabel A

Sep 21, 2021

This course is a godsend to me as far as medical terminology is concerned. The videos and simple language make learning so effortless. Thanks Coursera.

By Do T K C

Feb 29, 2020

Thanks for the course to help beginner to learn medical terminology. This course allows me to read and understand medical conversation in the hospital.

By Marta F

Jun 14, 2021

This course gives you great information to become familiar with terms in the clinical setting. It was challenging yet not too difficult to go through.

By VALENTINA T L

Oct 31, 2020

This is a very useful course! I highly recommend to take this course if you are a international student and you like to improve your English skills.

By Theresa L

Jan 6, 2022

This course was a good learning experience that you can learn at your own pace. I would recommend for anyone needing to learn medical abreviations.

By Nahidul I

Jun 28, 2020

This course is very helpful for enhancing knowledge. I learnt a thousands of words I never even heard. Thanks for creating a very important course.

By Kimberly H

Mar 31, 2020

The content was interesting and the multiple methods (reading, videos, vocabulary assignments). All of which assisted with learning and retention.

By Lynn. Z

Aug 15, 2020

very useful, first-hand experience in using medical terms in a clinical setting. Appreciation to the teacher, teaching fellows and the university.

By Paulina M

Nov 11, 2020

A very good course, very informative and with a lot of helpful details. Nicely organized into thematical modules and properly tested afterwards.

By Aastha J

Jul 3, 2020

This course is really amazing. I’ve learned so many things which will be beneficial for me in future. You made E-learning easy and interesting.

By Angelika Z

Jun 17, 2020

This is great. I really enjoyed it and I feel I learned lots. One of the best courses I took. And definitely the best FREE one!

Mrs Kuznetsov .

By laurie b

Dec 29, 2022

Dr. Swigart is an excellent teacher and I now have valuable skills to move forward in the Coding and Billing profession.

Thank you

Laurie Bedard

By XIAOQIN Z

Aug 26, 2022

As an intruductionary course for clinical terminology, the list, the vedio and audio materails are very helpful and easy to follow. Thanks.

By Teslyn S J B

Jan 14, 2018

Incredibly useful for an international health care student who wants to learn how to successfully communicate in a clinical setting in the US