Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
3,593 ratings
612 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

TS
Jul 3, 2018

High quality course ! covering important areas and detailed lectures, more and better than a mere introduction. Congrats ! My only regret : I'd have liked to hear more about NI and equivalence trials

CC
Jun 4, 2020

I would highly recommend this course as I found it well-structured and helpful. After studying all the materials, I gained a great amount of knowledge in designing and interpretating clinical trail.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 608 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Antonio G

Nov 14, 2016

Muy buen curso, utilizare todos los conocimeintos obtenidos para el bienestar de mis pacientes, muchas gracias por la ayuda economica.

By Jane C

Apr 13, 2020

Great - very interesting, would love to see something that addresses phase 1 (safety trials) and how they are designed and evaluated.

By Mohammad M M

Jan 27, 2021

I think this is a great course for the researchers\students\professionals involved in biomedical research field. Highly recommended.

By Uzoma O N

Nov 8, 2017

This course was exceptionally educative, short time but the information was packed full, thank you for putting together this course

By Shanen P

Nov 6, 2020

A brief and informative overview of clinical trials. I would highly recommend this course as an introduction to clinical research.

By Gulam M A K

Apr 12, 2017

Excellent course. I would recommend this course for everyone who are interested and don't have the opportunity at their institute.

By Werner S

Jun 21, 2020

Excellent and structured introduction with a lot of new information, even though I am working in the field since quite some time.

By Veronica A Y

May 24, 2020

The course offers a good introduction into clinical trials and is broken down into bite-size sections that made learning easier.

By ANDRES A C H

Apr 12, 2020

I learning tools for design clinical trial and congratulations to excellence professors University Johns Hopkins for this course

By Tani A

Apr 12, 2020

well crafted and easy to understand. The quizzes provide real time self assessment and are excellent for learning and motivation.

By Asmaa s

Aug 6, 2019

This course is amazing and interesting, I recommend it for every student, I learned a lot and earned skills of clinical research.

By ATHIRA N

Mar 18, 2019

Excellent course for understanding basics of clinical trial in detail. Very useful, informative, detailed sections with examples.

By Jennifer G

Dec 20, 2020

I found the picking-apart of actual clinical trials exceptionally useful. Thank you for this course, it was a great brush-up!

By shaurya b

Sep 10, 2018

An amazing course especially for professionals who work in clinical research operations. Very knowledgeable and interesting !

By beatriz w

May 1, 2020

Excellent professors! It was discussed the main topic to have a better overview to design ad understand the clinical trials.

By Drashtant P

Feb 22, 2020

Excellent & quick overview of clinical trials.

Fundamentals of clinical trials are thoroughly described in a stepwise manner.

By Sarah R

Jan 15, 2019

I learned so much from this course. I thought the lectures were very well designed and easy to follow. Thanks Janet and Lea!

By Diogenes S F

Feb 14, 2017

Great introductory course about Clinical Trials methodology. It helps if you have some background knowledge on Epidemiology.

By Lily K

Jan 7, 2017

Eventhough my English language is not strong, i just can complete this course as requirement! Excellent! Thank you very much

By Veronika V

Oct 23, 2016

Clear, concise, and well-presented, should be part of corporate educational programs for staff involved in clinical trials.

By Zac N

Aug 11, 2020

Excellent course. Highly recommend to all health professionals interested in understanding the basics in clinical trials.

By Cynthia F

Apr 3, 2018

Las expositoras son excelentes

La claridad de los contenidos y el abordaje hace que algo tan complejo sea facil de entender

By Adam M

Mar 30, 2017

It is pretty exciting course with rich knowledge in clinical trials' field which is well expressed with practical examples

By gloria s

Dec 31, 2020

Excellent. I was specifically interested in the regulatory aspect of Clinical trials and learned about it and much more!

By Dr. M H

May 4, 2021

The course was excellent. It was my priviledge to have completed this course. Thanking you, Regards, Dr. Moumita Hazra