Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
stars
948 ratings
239 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT
Aug 21, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR
Jul 15, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 231 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Ruiwen W

Jul 30, 2020

should make the exam easier, and this course only teaches concepts and it asked you to do a C++ assignment

By Kartiki B

Jul 9, 2017

Please discuss in brief the steps for solving programming assignment. The rest of the course is fantastic.

By Matthew E

Jan 1, 2017

Very good intro to a number of distributed computing topics. Challenging assignment and engaging material.

By masaaki f

Feb 26, 2017

Great course! I learnt basics of current cloud computing technologies, even this is really tough course.

By Guangwei C

Jun 9, 2020

Programming assignment is the great experience and effective exercise for the course topic.

By Shengwu Y

Apr 28, 2018

Materials are long and the cause content is very rich. Chandy Lamport is nightmare...

By Thibaut C

May 28, 2017

Really good, however having to write the assignment in c++ is a downer.

By Derek Z

Apr 8, 2018

Very very tough class. The notes are very intensive for each lecture.

By Jerry Z

Jun 26, 2016

It's a great course, but the assignments are kind of annoying.

By Arseni L

Jan 1, 2020

Course is great, but some lectures feel slightly outdated

By shivam p

Sep 10, 2017

This is by far the best course i have seen in courseera

By Xiangzhen S

Oct 18, 2016

Very difficult programming assignment if not an expert.

By Xiuyu H

Dec 27, 2019

Nice quiz and assignment! Interesting teacher :)

By kim g

Feb 21, 2019

Covered the basics of cloud computing very well.

By Suresh V

Apr 23, 2019

To the point videos and very good assignments.

By Shyam S N

Dec 22, 2016

Good introduction to the concepts.

By nikhil n

Nov 9, 2016

Nice Course with Nice Tasks.

By Weidong X

Sep 8, 2019

Great course.

By Nguyen Q L

May 23, 2019

Good Course !

By THOMAS V

Jan 14, 2019

Comprehensive

By Nandhini

Jul 8, 2017

The course was very interesting and the assignment was good.

I had trouble submitting the assignment though I finished it a month back. The submission was tougher than the assignment and the course itself. I have only windows OS, and the assignment materials are for Linux and Mac users. I had to use Cygwin to compile and run grader script. Submission didn't work from cygwin. I would have rated this course 5 if not for the trouble that I encountered for submitting the assignment.

By Shane S

Oct 5, 2020

The video lecture content is pretty good and the homeworks seem decent. The programming assignment provides some code that is a travesty to work with. I spent a couple hours refactoring what I could before I realized I was stuck using some fundamentally poor datatypes for the problem at hand. No support in the forums for the many complaints about the assignment. I would rate 5 stars if only the experience with the programming assignment was something even approaching decent.

By Justin N

Sep 22, 2020

The content is pretty good. The content of the quizzes was good, but the last few quizzes are extremely and unnecessarily long. The programming assignment was just really unpleasant and enough for me to walk away from the entire certification. The starter template for that assignment is really poorly written and I found it difficult to get started. Good luck finding useful support in the discussion forums.

By Keerthana S K

Jun 22, 2020

This course content covers lot of diverse topics but I would prefer the explanation to be more comprehensive and in depth so that a beginner can understand the big picture as well as the details more vividly.The assignment was pretty good which creates a good learning curve in C++(especially pointers) and understanding of the one of the most important concepts in cloud computing.

By Rachana N A

Dec 3, 2016

The concepts are explained very well. The only issue was the Programming assignment, which could have been more descriptive. Also, they could've given us the option of choosing a programming language.